My Favorite Musical Movies

Let’s face it: musical movies are the source of a lot of controversy. And for the most part, I will say that I agree that musical movies are bad rather than good. But I thought that I’d go over some of my favorite musical movies.

  • Oliver!
    • This musical movie is ridiculously well done. All of the singers are great, the choreography is amazing, and I love it. Each of the actors is amazing and it’s a nice musical to just sit back and watch. Man, I really want to watch this movie again. In fact, it was this musical movie that really got me interested in musicals first.
  • Scrooge
    • I love this musical movie. And honestly, I wish that it wasn’t considered a “Christmas movie” because it’s the sort of movie that I want to watch all year long. I cry watching a lot of movies. But, in all honesty, most of the time, I’m crying because something is sad. Not so with this musical. I cry because it’s so beautiful. I cry because it makes me so happy that I just can’t hold back the tears. I laugh while watching this movie. I cry watching this movie. It’s amazing.
  • The Music Man
    • This is a relatively new obsession of mine. I watched this movie approximately a year ago now when I bought the movie for my dad’s birthday/Christmas present because I knew that it was his favorite musical. And boy, am I glad that I watched it. Because it’s amazing. The story is great and all of the actors are wonderful.
  • Into the Woods
    • This movie is missing a lot of things but I think that that’s okay. While I do largely prefer the stage version of this musical, I do think that the movie was pretty well done. The cinematography was beautiful and I think that the fact that Disney did the movie just adds a lot of charm to it.
  • Roger and Hammerstein’s Cinderella
    • I’m talking about the Disney adaption with Brandy and Whitney Houston. And goodness gracious, I love this movie so much. I need to watch it again. Cinderella is my favorite Roger and Hammerstein musical and this movie is a lot of the reason why.
  • Les Misérables
    • I have to say that this movie is, in my opinion, very flawed. But I still love it. For example, the acting and the singing isn’t the best. In general, I’m not a big fan of this cast. And I’m not really that big into how much they changed some things like the Loud Hailer parts for example. Those parts in particular were no where near as epic as it is on stage. But I will say that I am immensely grateful for this movie. Because, without it, I would not love Les Miz as much as I do today. As far as musical movies go, I will say that this is pretty good. And while the cast isn’t spectacular, the cast isn’t necessarily bad either. And I do like the cinematography.
  • Sweeney Todd
    • There’s something so perfect about Tim Burton’s style that makes this movie so perfect. I can’t think of someone better to direct this movie. The aesthetic of the movie is stellar. I don’t even know what more I can say.
  • Wicked
    • Yeah, it hasn’t come out yet. But I have really high hopes that it will be amazing. So I’m putting it on this list as a sort of wish, I guess.
32 thoughts on “My Favorite Musical Movies

    1. Yeah, that’s definitely true. I think that the movie for Les Miz was done pretty remarkably. While the movie cast isn’t my favorite cast I still love it for a lot of reasons as well. The movie was what introduced me to Les Miz so I also love it for that reason!

      Like

      1. Same as me, thats why I love the movie of Les Mis. Without it, I never would have fallen in love with the musical in the first place. It led me to seeing the show three times at my community college. I was able to watch the filmed 25th anniversary concert as well. I have nothing wrong with the shortened songs in the movie and the additional song as it was my first exposure to the musical in the first place

        Eventually I dreamed of seeing Les Mis in the West End and that came true last year.

        Like

      2. Yeah, I don’t mind so much some songs be shortened as other people but I kind of do miss them sometimes. I think that Les Miz is one of those musicals that I will never get enough of seeing and listening. I really hope that I get to see the original production in London one day!

        Like

      3. I agree, you just can’t get tired of Les Mis. I have listened to these songs hundreds of times and still not tired of them. If you count the number of times I saw the movie plus the number of times I watched the 25th anniversary concert plus pandora plus my music plus youtube, I have listened to those songs way over eight hundred times.

        I am constantly asked how come I am not tired of Les MIs yet if each time I watch it, I will feel hurt and heartbroken a lot. I know why I am still not tired of Les Mis, but even I can’t explain

        Like

      4. I definitely understand that feeling. Some of the people in my classes are always like: “You’re listening to Les Miz again? How are you not sick of it?” I’m never really quite sure how to respond, but I feel like something about Les Miz feels fresh and new every time I listen to it or watch it.

        Like

      5. I agree. I think that that is one of the beautiful things about Les Miz. Its meaning never changes but I feel like what you take away from it can vary depending on what you’re going through in your life or how the way you see things changes as you go on through life. I think that’s how Les Miz manages to stay meaningful, fresh, and new to me all of the time.

        Like

      6. I definitely agree. I don’t think that there’s any musical that will ever emotionally touch me like Les Miz did and still does today. One of my favorite Les Miz things is the video of the Jean Valjeans from all around the world singing “Do You Hear the People Sing”. I really enjoy languages for one thing, and I think that it really speaks to the universal nature of Les Misérables.

        Like

      7. Yeah. Javert is a character that I find interesting. I wish that we knew a little more about him. The Thenardiers are interesting characters because they really show human weakness, I think. I think that personally, they are much more likeable in the musical than in the book.

        Like

      8. Even though I dislike Javert, he is still a fascinating and well-crafted character, but it always hard to love the antagonist.

        The Thenardiers’ are definitely more likable in the musical because they became the much-needed comic relief. They are so unloving, cruel, abusive, and greedy

        Like

      9. Very true. I think that the Thenardiers have great stage presence. I had this long conversation with my uncle one time where we kind of just analyzed Javert to the very last detail and we concluded that there is so much about him that makes him more three-dimensional than most antagonistic characters in literature and other forms of art and I thought that it was interesting just seeing all of the different views people can have on Javert.

        Like

      10. I feel like I still have not really gotten to know Javert. I understand he is quite complex and is that really a villain like a lot of people picture him as. He really believes he is doing the right thing even though it may not always be right. He sees the world in black and white and really is not able to really show compassion, forgiveness, or really love. All he loves is the law and it is like his religion in a way if you actually think about it

        Like

      11. One of the things that my uncle and I really discussed was tht Javert is pretty self-righteous and that’s where he falters as a character and why he eventually commits suicide. Because he can’t believe that a man who has done bad things saved his life.

        Like

      12. I feel like I still have not really gotten to know Javert. I understand he is quite complex and is that really a villain like a lot of people picture him as. He really believes he is doing the right thing even though it may not always be right. He sees the world in black and white and really is not able to really show compassion, forgiveness, or really love. All he loves is the law and it is like his religion in a way if you actually think about it.

        In the book, it is nice to learn that Gavroche is the Thenardiers’ son and that in all they had five kids not just the two in the stage show.

        Like

      13. Oh, yeah, definitely! Apparently the fact that Éponine is the Thenardiers daughter is kind of vague to a lot of people. I never really understood why but a few people I was sitting next to when I saw Les Miz on Broadway said that they had no idea that Éponine was the Thenardier’s daughter.

        Like

      14. Yeah, I was really surprised. I guess that it kind of just goes over some people’s heads. I always thought that if not during the scenes at the Inn at the beginning of Act 1, it was abundantly clear that Éponine was a Thenardier during the attack on Rue Plumet.

        Like

      15. That’s definitely true! There are so many moments in which they say Éponine is the Thenardier’s daughter. But I guess that a lot of people might not get it if they’ve only watched Les Miz once. It’s just such a big plot point though, so I was shocked how someone might miss it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

