Unpopular Opinions | Musicals

So, there’s the “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag” but I thought that I’d do the same thing with well… Broadway. The “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag” was created by TheBookArcher. The questions are basically the same but adjusted for Broadway / Musicals. The usual disclaimers for this sort of thing. These are my opinions. That’s it. I’m not seeking to offend anyone or their likes/dislikes.

1. A popular show or shows that you didn’t like.

Well… a lot of my answers for this are going to be shows that I don’t like as much as other people seem to.

I don’t really see what everyone likes about Newsies. Maybe I should watch it again? I don’t know. If we’re talking shows that I didn’t like as much as other people, then Hamilton probably fits that bill. I like Hamilton, but I don’t love it as much as other people… if you know what I mean.

Oh, and can we talk about Love Never Dies? I know that a lot of people dislike this, but at the same time, there are people who love it. I like the music. The plot, not so much.

And CATS. Guys, I love it. I don’t care what other people say about it.

2. A show or shows that every one else seems to hate but you love.

There area  lot of shows that people are unfamiliar with that I like but that doesn’t mean that people hate them. I guess that Jekyll & Hyde might kind of fit this question. I know that there are a lot of people who are pretty critical of it, but as far as I know, it has pretty good reception. Erm… I guess Starlight Express? I know that most people are unfamiliar with the show, but even people who know it don’t seem as into it as I am.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

Alright. Spoilers if you haven’t watched Love Never Dies.

So, I don’t like Love Never Dies for one main reason: the characters are nothing like how they were in The Phantom of the Opera. A lot of the changes don’t even make sense and really, it feels like fanfiction. But what Raoul got dished to him in LND was so not cool.

As a Raoulstine shipper (and in general Raoul fan), I just wasn’t happy in general with the whole plot of LND, especially not what Raoul got from it.

4. A genre of musicals that you usually don’t go for.

Probably Jukebox musicals. I don’t know. There are some good ones, but really the only one that I like is Jersey Boys.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Whew, I could rattle off a list. Melchior from Spring Awakening, Jean Valjean from Les Misérables (it’s not that I dislike him, it’s just that I don’t like him as much as other people do), Grantaire from Les Misérables.

So, I feel like the two Les Miz ones might warrant a little explanation. Melchior, I think that some people get. But at any rate, Les Miz. Personally, I’m not that big into Jean Valjean. I don’t find him to be the most interesting character in the musical. That’s literally all there is to that one. As for Grantaire, I just never really saw his appeal to people. Grantaire in the book is much more likeable (in my opinion) than musical Grantaire. In fact, in the musical, he’s kind of… just there (like the rest of the Barricade Boys).

6. A popular musical writer / composer that you can’t seem to get into.

I’m not too big into Lin Manuel-Miranda’s music. I think that he’s a great person, but I don’t know… I just don’t like his music as much as other people do. Yeah, I know. Crazy. I just can’t get into it. I like Hamilton a decent amount, but I don’t love it as much as other people, and I just never could really get into the music for In the Heights. Unpopular opinion, I know. But that’s what this tag is all about.

7. A popular trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Tropes… I don’t know… I don’t really have an answer for this one, I guess. I feel like there are a lot of musical theatre tropes, but none of them are ones that really get on my nerves.

8. A popular show that you have no interest in watching.

I try not to rule out any shows before I give them a listen at the very least. If I listen to the cast recording and I just can’t get into it, then there’s a high chance that I won’t actually watch it. I’m not too interested in seeing Spongebob: The Musical, I guess.

9. The saying goes “The stage version is always better than the movie”, but what movie adaptation or live television special do you have a high regard for?

I thought that Grease: Live was really good! There were flaws, sure, but I think that I liked it better than the original movie. I posted about my favorite musical movies yesterday which I will link here if you’re interested in that.

 

What are some of your unpopular musical opinions?

One thought on “Unpopular Opinions | Musicals

Leave a Reply

