Musicals Pulled Me Through NaNoWriMo 2016

As writers, we all have our preferences when it comes to writing music. For me, it’s showtunes all day long. And for NaNo, my playlist was completely made up of songs from Elisabeth: Das Musical and Tanz der Vampire.

The unique thing about showtunes compared to ich-gehor-nur-mirmost other music out there, you get a story, you get a feeling of real character and that really helps me while I’m writing. Especially Sisi’s song from Elisabeth, “Ich Gehör Nur Mir” (“I Belong to Me”) in the case of my playlist for this year. It portrays such character, such emotion that I could channel that into my main character who shares many character traits with Sisi.

By no means am I saying that other types of music don’t do this. One of my writing buddies listens to violin music and he feels that it does the same for him. Any type of music can do this. It all depends on personal preference. For me, that’s showtunes. It all just depends on what clicks with you.

Leave a Reply

