Why I Love German Musical Theatre

German musical theatre is a relatively new thing to my life, but that doesn’t mean that I love it any less. No, not at all. In fact, German musical theatre is one of my favorite things in the world. At this point, I want nothing more than to go to Germany and watch all of the shows that I’ve been yearning to watch for a while now.

But why do I love German musical theatre? Well, I think that it’s a hard thing to really pin-point, but I think that it definitely might have something to do with the fact that I just love the German language.

In my opinion, the German language is one of the most beautiful languages out there. I’ve been learning it for about two years now and German musical theatre has just amplified my love for the language.

German musical culture might also play a part in why I was intrigued by German musical theatre in the first place. For as long as I can remember, German composers have been a very present part of my life. My dad, as Johann Sebastian Bach’s biggest fan has all of his works on over one hundred C.D.’s. Among J.S. Bach, many other German composers have been a common theme in my life and I think that it was that that actually got me into the German language. I remember just sitting back and listening to J.S. Bach cantatas, just listening to the songs. One of my favorites is BWV 201, Gerschwinde, ihr wirbelnden Winde. It portrays the musical contest between Pan and Phoebus (Apollo). The song “Pan ist Meister, lasst ihn gehen”, sung by a tenor voice has always been one of my favorite songs. So, when I first discovered the world of German musicals, I was enthralled by the thought of just listening to the songs and watching them.

Musical theatre is something that is a prevalent part of my life. And so is German music. Mixed together, you have almost a perfect summary of my life.  Musical theatre of all types are wonderful. But I just have a certain feeling of connection to German musical theatre that I don’t really find anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

