Wicked | Musical Talk

Wicked has become one of my favorite musicals over the past year. I’ll admit that prior to giving it a real chance, I had my doubts about whether or not I’d like it. But goodness’s sakes… now Wicked has become a part of my life that will not ever leave me (but I don’t mind).

Honestly, I absolutely love the human, realistic feel to the musical. There is just something so real about all of the emotions portrayed there and I think that it’s absolutely splendid. The relationship between Elphie and G(a)linda is one of the most entertaining and yet heartbreaking parts of the musical. I must say that the more I listen to Wicked and “No One Mourns the Wicked”, I discover something new. And that is something wonderful and utterly amazing.

Also, Elphie is just one of the most wonderful characters in musical theatre, in my opinion. She’s so sweet and relatable. I just love her. She has some really beautiful songs too.

Because this has basically turned into just a gush about how much I love Wicked, I thought that I’d talk about how I came to listen to it for the first time. One of my favorite musical actors is Mark Seibert, a German theatre actor and he actually played Fiyero in the original German production of Wicked. So I decided to listen to his version of “Dancing Through Life” (“Tanz durch die Welt” [Which literally translates to “Dancing through the World”]) and from there I listened to the other songs in German. From there, I just really fell in love with Wicked.

But I also owe some of my love for the German language to Wicked. If it were not for stumbling upon the fact that Mark Seibert had played Fiyero, I may never have listened to Wicked and I might never have reinitiated my German learning. So there’s that too.

All-in-all, I just really love Wicked. It’s a beautiful musical and I’m so glad that it’s a part of my life.

What are your thoughts on Wicked?

10 thoughts on “Wicked | Musical Talk

  1. Wicked to me is so personal and special. Elphaba is my all-time favorite musical character ever. It has everything I want from a musical: dance, spectacle, comedy, positive and negative emotions, strong emotional connection. It is truly meaningful and has changed me for the better.

    Like

    1. Same. I love how catchy the songs are and how fun the musical is. But I think that the great thing is that the fun is also balanced out, like you said, with negative, sad parts. Before really giving Wicked a chance, I think that I thought that Wicked was just a happy musical that was full of jokes. But really, it’s a lot more than that. Sure, it’s funny and it’s an overall happy musical, but it’s also a musical that’s relatable and speaks true to real life.

      Like

      1. Looks like you had your doubts about both Les Mis and Wicked, but they both mean something to you. Both impact me differently, but so important. Both picked the right timing to enter my life

        Like

      2. One picked middle school to entire my life (Wicked) and another picked my first year of college (Les Mis). I think starting with happy musicals was an important factor growing up. Through them, I did know about the emotional nature of musicals and that excitement, love, joy and sad were the main ones. I think I truly began to understand the emotional nature of musicals of Wicked.

        I think in fact knowing about the emotional nature of musicals and being aware of sad in the first place was important when Les Mis first entered my life

        Like

      3. Yeah. I don’t think that I would have appreciated Les Miz so much if it came to me at some other time in my life. I think that it definitely would have left some lasting impact on me, but I don’t think that I would love it as much as I do today.

        Like

      4. Someones one song helps you understand another song better. This is a Les Mis/Wicked reference. The song, I’m Not That Girl” was a sad song growing up, but now it is a heartbreaker thanks to the help of “On My Own” from Les Mis as the two are about the same thing. I have a post comparing and contrasting the two

        Like

      5. I just read that post and I think that your analysis was on point. I 100% agree. I feel like the “I Want”/”I Can’t”/”The I Won’t” song in musicals are so very important and I think that both of those songs are wonderful parts of the musical that deserve more attention.

        Like

Leave a Reply

