Favorite “__(Fill in the Blank)__” Songs

Favorite Ensemble Songs

  • “No One Mourns” the Wicked from Wicked
  • “Masquerade” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Do You Hear the People Sing?” from Les Misérables
  • “Am Deck der sinkenden Welt” (“On the Deck of the Sinking World”) from Elisabeth
  • “Until Tomorrow” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “The Way it Ought to Be” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “One Day More” from Les Misérables
  • “Light at the End of the Tunnel” from Starlight Express
  • “Façade” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Muder” from Jekyll & Hyde

Favorite “I Want” / “I Wish” / “I Won’t” / Regretful Songs

  • “Ich Gehör Nur Mir” (“I Belong to Me”) from Elisabeth
  • “Reflection” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “Wedding / If Dreams Came True” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “As Good as You” from Jane Eyre
  • “I Can’t Recall” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “A New Life” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Home” from Beauty and the Beast
  • “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” from Les Misérables
  • “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “I Can do Better Than That” from The Last Five Years
  • “Summer in Ohio” from The Last Five Years
  • “Starlight Express” from Starlight Express
  • “Call me Rusty if you Dare” from Starlight Express
  • “Moving too Fast” from The Last Five Years
  • “Wenn Ich Tanzen Will” (“When I Want to Dance”) from Elisabeth
  • “In My Own Little Corner” from Cinderella
  • “Wie Du” (“Like You”) from Elisabeth
  • “Impossible” from Cinderella
  • “Defying Gravity” from Wicked
  • “Totale Finsternis” (“Total Darkness”) from Tanz der Vampire
  • “I’ll Never Have that Chance” from Lestat
  • “Crimson Kiss” from Lestat
  • “Corner of the Sky” from Pippin

Favorite Unrequited Love Songs

  • “Someone Like You” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “On My Own” from Les Misérables
  • “I’m Not that Girl” & “I’m Not that Girl (Reprise)” from Wicked
  • “All I Ask of You (Reprise)” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Tell Me On a Sunday” from Song and Dance
  • “Der Letzte Tanz” (“The Last Dance”) from Elisabeth
  • “U.N.C.O.U.P.L.E.D.” from Starlight Express
  • “Wedding / If Dreams Came True” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “Reflection” from A Tale of Two Cities

Favorite Friendship Songs

  • “For Good” from Wicked
  • “Anything You Can Do” from Annie Get Your Gun
  • “I’d do Anything” from Oliver!
  • “Angel of Music” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Popular” from Wicked
  • “A Lotta Locomotion” from Starlight Express

Favorite Love Songs

  • “I Love the Way” from Something Rotten!
  • “All I Ask of You” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “The Next Ten Minutes” from The Last Five Years
  • “Too Much In Love to Care” from Sunset Boulevard
  • “Unexpected Song” from Song and Dance
  • “Draußen ist Freiheit” (“Out There is Freedom”) from Tanz der Vampire
  • “A Heart Full of Love” from Les Misérables
  • “As Long as You’re Mine” from Wicked
  • “Take Me As I Am” from Jekyll & Hyde

Favorite Sad Songs

  • “I’m Still Hurting” from The Last Five Years
  • “A Little Fall of Rain” from Les Misérables
  • “Reflection” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “Memory” from CATS
  • “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Misérables
  • “Finale / I Can’t Recall” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “Rudolf, Wo Bist Du?” from Elisabeth
  • “She Used to Be Mine” from Waitress
  • “Wie Du” (“Like You”) from Elisabeth
  • “If I Can’t Love Her” from Beauty and the Beast
  • “Fantine’s Death / Come To Me” from Les Misérables
  • “As Long As He Needs Me” from Oliver!
  • “Where is Love?” from Oliver!
  • “Drink With Me” from Les Misérables
  • “I’ll Never Have that Chance” from Lestat

Favorite Happy Songs

  • “The Schmuel Song” from The Last Five Years
  • “Träum Groß” (“Dream Big”) from Schikaneder
  • “Dancing Through Life” from Wicked
  • “The Prince is Giving a Ball” from Cinderella
  • “Next Time You Fall in Love” from Starlight Express
  • “A Lotta Locomotion” from Starlight Express

Favorite Wishful / Hopeful Songs

  • “Never Say Goodbye” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “No One is Alone” from Into the Woods
  • “One Day More” from Les Misérables
  • “ABC Café / Red & Black” from Les Misérables
  • “A New Life” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “No One Knows Who I Am” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Fine Life” from Oliver!

Favorite Finale Songs

  • “Der Schleier Fällt” (“The Veil Descends”) from Elisabeth
  • “Final Lair” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Finale / Do You Hear the People Sing? (Reprise)” from Les Misérables
  • “Finale / I Can’t Recall (Reprise)” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “End Duet / Transformation” from Beauty and the Beast
  • “Freiheit” (“Freedom”) from Marie Antoinette: Das Musical
  • “No One Mourns the Wicked (Reprise)”from Wicked

Favorite Parting / “Goodbye” Songs

  • “So Long, Farewell” from The Sound of Music
  • “For Good” from Wicked
  • “Boote in der Nacht” (“Ships in the Night”) from Elisabeth
  • “Wie Du” from Elisabeth
8 thoughts on “Favorite “__(Fill in the Blank)__” Songs

    1. I have the same dilemma! While I was making this list, I was constantly going back and adding more to the sections I had already finished! Whenever people ask what my favorite song is, I always have such a hard time answering because there are just so many!

      Like

Leave a Reply

