My Favorite Christmas Carols | Christmas Eve 2016

It’s Christmas Eve already? It’s hard to believe that 2016 is coming to a close! Because it is the day before Christmas, I thought that I would make a list of some of my favorite Christmas Carols.

CHRISTMAS FUN FACT: A lot of countries in the world actually celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve. 

  • “Psallite” (Poetical translation: “Now We Sing”)
    • This one is always a delight to sing with the choir. We always sing the Latin words first and then the English poetical translation immediately afterwards. It is one of the more complicated songs that we sing but I love it all the same.
  • “For Unto Us A Child is Born”
    • This is another favorite of mine to sing with the choir. I love singing all of Handel’s “Messiah”, but this one is my favorite to sing around Christmas. I think that it’s one of the most beautiful pieces that we ever sing at any time of the year. It never seems like Christmas to me without “For Unto Us A Child is Born”.
  • “God’s Love Eternal”
    • This was a childhood favorite of mine because I sang it with the children’s choir year after year. I look forward to hearing the children sing this one in the children’s service today. They always sing it so very nicely and it’s one of my favorite songs that they sing.
  • “Away in a Manger”
    • This one also holds strong sentimental value. The children sing this every year acapella and it’s one of the highlights of my Christmas yearly. I have great memories of singing this one as well and to this day, it’s one of my favorites.
  • “Silent Night, Holy Night”
    • The children are singing this one this year and I’m so excited for the children’s service later tonight. They’re singing all of the mos beautiful songs and it’s going to get me ready for Handel’s “Messiah” afterwards. I love listening to them sing this one. On Christmas Day, the whole congregation will be singing it as well and I’m excited for that as well.
  • “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
    • We are singing this one tonight as a congregation. The plainsong chant is so beautiful and it always makes my Christmas. I remember when my uncle used to play this song on the organ and it was one of the most magnificent things I’d ever heard in my entire life.
  • “Où s’en vont ces gais bergers” (Translation: “Where Go These Happy Shepherds?”)
    • I haven’t heard anyone sing this French carol in years now. It’s always the first song I look for in the Children’s Christmas Eve service program. Having got the program at choir practice last week, I was saddened not to find it in there. Hopefully next year, I suppose!
  • “O Come All Ye Faithful” (Sometimes also referred to as “O Come Let Us Adore Him”)
    • This one is the song that we (the choir) sing for the processional for the children each year. The sopranos sing the first verse, the tenors join in on the second and then bass and alto on the third. Then, we have the whole congregation (and the children) sing the last verse with us and it’s one of the songs that really gets me into the Christmas spirit. In my opinion, it’s one of the most beautiful moments of the service.
  • “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
    • We are also going to be singing this one tonight as a congregation for the children’s service. It’s always been one of my favorite carols and I can’t wait to sing it.
  • “Joy to the World”
    • Tomorrow morning, this will be the one that we will be singing in our family circle and later at the church service. “Joy to the World” really gives me the sense that it’s Christmas when we sing it yearly.
  • “Gloria in Excelsis Deo”
    • We haven’t sung this song in years, but I do hear it on the radio from time to time unlike “Où s’en vont ces gais bergers”. It was the last song that my uncle played on the organ for Christmas day before his death and to this day, it remains one of my favorites. It always warms my heart to sing it.

***

I hope that everyone has a wonderful Christmas! What are some of your favorite carols?

149_preview_lg

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Christmas Carols | Christmas Eve 2016

  1. Silent Night and Away in a Manger are two of my favorite Christmas Carols. I love many Christmas songs and the church ones are the most beautiful of them all. As a matter of fact, all Christmas songs are quite festive

    Like

    1. I definitely have to agree with that. One of my favorite parts of the Christmas season is going to church each week and to choir practice and singing all of these carols and listening to the children sing some of them on Christmas eve is also a highlight.

      Like

      1. Tonight at our 10:45 midnight service, one of the children from our children’s choir is singing the first verse of our precessional. We celebrate Christmas to remember the miracle birth of Jesus

        Like

      2. That’s really nice! Tonight we have two services. One that the children do almost entirely by themselves excepting the processional and “Psallite” and then one later when the choir does the entirety of Handel’s Messiah. I think that it’s wonderful to be able to celebrate the birth of Jesus with everyone in a gathered place.

        Like

      3. My church has four to accommodate everybody. The first is at 2:00, the second is the children’s service (6:00), because we have a hispanic ministry we have a La Misa service about 7 and last but not least is the 10:45 midnight service

        Like

      4. Oh, wow! That’s a really big church! Our church is a pretty small one and only has about 100 people so we only need to have one for each type of service. Our children’s service starts at 7:30 and then, afterwards, at about 9:00 we move the choir down from the choir loft and set things up in the assembly hall so that everyone can see what’s going on. The service finishes at about 12:00.

        Like

      5. That’s nice! My church is pretty small because years ago we broke off from the Missouri Synod to form the Concordia Lutheran Conference. Our church is one of the bigger ones in the conference but then again there are some churches that only have eight members at the moment. We also have a visitors welcome policy but it’s pretty rare that we get anyone new.

        Like

Leave a Reply

