My Favorite Tear-Jerker Songs from Musicals

Musicals are full of diverse emotion. And one of the emotions that I feel just gets across really well through music and song is sadness. So I’m going to make a quick list of songs that have made me cry while listening to them.

Quick note: I’m the type of person who cries during movies that most people don’t consider to be very sad so some of these may not really seem like tear-jerkers to some. But they definitely got the tears out of me.

  • “Der Schleier Fällt” from Elisabeth
  • “Totenklage / Rudolf, Wo Bist Du?” from Elisabeth
  • “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Misérables
  • “On My Own” from Les Misérables
  • “A Little Fall of Rain” from Les Misérables
  • “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” from Les Misérables
  • “Bring Him Home” from Les Misérables
  • “Finale / Do You Hear the People Sing (Reprise)” from Les Misérables
  • “For Good” from Wicked
  • “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Down Once More / Track Down This Murderer” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Why Does She Love Me?” from Love Never Dies
  • “I’ll Never Have That Chance” from Lestat
  • “Finale / I Can’t Recall (Reprise)” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “Reflection” from A Tale of Two Cities
  • “With One Look” from Sunset Boulevard
  • “Still Hurting” from The Last Five Years
  • “If I Can’t Love Her” from Beauty and the Beast
  • “Out There” from The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • “God Help the Outcasts” from The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • “If I Never Knew You” from Pocahontas 
  • “There’s a World” from Next to Normal
  • “Worse Things I Could Do” from Grease
  • “Once Upon a Dream (Jekyll)” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “A New Life” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Girls of the Night” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “In His Eyes” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “No One Knows Who I Am” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “I Am the One (Reprise)” from Next to Normal
  • “As Good as You” from Jane Eyre
  • “Right Hand Man (Reprise)” from Something Rotten!
  • “As Long As He Needs Me” from Oliver!
  • “Where Is Love?” from Oliver!
  • “Fine Life” from Oliver!
  • “Happiness” from Scrooge
  • “I’m All Alone In the World” from Mr. Magoo’s A Christmas Carol
  • “No One Is Alone” from Into the Woods
  • “Tell Me On A Sunday” from Song and Dance
  • “She Used to Be Mine” from Waitress

***

What are some of your favorite tear-jerkers?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Tear-Jerker Songs from Musicals

  1. Of course, Les Mis songs would be on this list: A Little Fall of Rain, Bring Him Home, Drink With Me, Come to Me-Fantine’s Death, On My Own, etc are all tearjerkers. For Good so belongs on this list as well. Edelweiss from Sound of Music is also a tearjerker. There are songs from the musical, Rent, that every once in a while make me cry specially “Will I?” and “Your Eyes”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

