Favorite “I Want / I Won’t” Songs In Musicals

To me, the “I Want / I Won’t” songs are some of the most important songs in musicals and are a sort of “staple” of musical theatre. So today I thought that I would make yet another list of some of my favorites from this genre.

  • “Ich Gehör Nur Mir” aus Elisabeth
  • “Wenn Ich Tanzen Will” aus Elisabeth
  • “Wie Du” aus Elisabeth
  • “Die Schatten Werden Länger” aus Elisabeth
  • “Träum Groß” aus Schikaneder
  • “Valjean’s Soliloquy” from Les Misérables
  • “Javert’s Suicide” from Les Misérables
  • “Stars” from Les Misérables
  • “Do You Hear the People Sing” from Les Misérables
  • “One Day More” from Les Misérables
  • “ABC Café / Red & Black” from Les Misérables
  • “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Misérables
  • “The Wizard and I” from Wicked
  • “Defying Gravity” from Wicked
  • “As Long as He Needs Me” from Oliver!
  • “Reviewing the Situation” from Oliver!
  • “Someone Like You” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “A New Life” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Girls of the Night” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “I Need to Know” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “This is the Moment” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “No One Must Ever Know” from Jekyll & Hyde
  • “Draußen ist Freiheit” aus Tanz der Vampire
  • “Starlight Express” from Starlight Express
  • “Call Me Rusty” from Starlight Express
  • “Crazy” from Starlight Express
  • “I’ll Never Have That Chance” from Lestat
  • “Crimson Kiss” from Lestat
  • “Little Lotte / The Mirror” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Title Song” from The Phantom of the Opera
  • “Sound of Music” from The Sound of Music
  • “Memory” from Cats
  • “With One Look” from Sunset Boulevard
  • “I Can Go the Distance” from Hercules
  • “Belle (reprise)” from Beauty and the Beast
  • “Out There” from The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • “I Wish” from Into the Woods

***

What are some of your favorite “I Want / I Won’t” Songs from musicals?

2 thoughts on “Favorite “I Want / I Won’t” Songs In Musicals

  1. I love some of the songs from this. “The Wizard and I”, “Defying Gravity”, “Stars”, “I Dreamed a Dream”. “What Have I Done”, “One Day More”, “Do You Hear the People Sing”, “Red and Black” “Memory”, “Sound of Music”, “Phantom of the Opera” are all incredible songs

    Like

Leave a Reply

