Favorite Love Songs from Musicals

I love the love songs from musicals. I love listening to them, I love watching them play out on stage. I just love them so much. And so, I thought that I’d make a post dedicated solely to these songs from musicals.

QUICK NOTE: There aren’t really any rules for this post. Love song is generally going to be taken to be one of reciprocated love but if I love an unrequited love song enough there’s a good chance that it will show up on here. Pretty much, any song in which great emotions of love are expressed may show up on here.

  • “Too Much in Love” from Sunset Boulevard
    • Guys, you need to listen to this song. It’s adorable. That’s really all that I can say. If I had to pick one favorite love song, I would probably go with this one because it’s one of the most adorable songs ever. It could very well be my favorite ALW song as well.
  • “If Dreams Came True / The Wedding” from A Tale of Two Cities
    • This song is both heartbreaking and immensely heartfelt. I love this song so much. Sydney’s emotions are so very well expressed and I love it.
  • “Finale / I Can’t Recall” from A Tale of Two Cities
    • This isn’t a love song in the purest sense of the term but it definitely is a song in which great emotion of love and carrying for one’s fellow man is expressed and I think that that’s wonderful. It’s heartwarming and immensely heartbreaking.
  • “Reflection” from A Tale of Two Cities
    • Yet another heartbreaker. This is a song of unrequited love but it is absolutely beautiful and I love it. It’s one of the most heartwrenching songs that I’ve ever heard in my entire life.
  • “On My Own” from Les Misérables
    • Since I’m on track with the unrequited love songs, I’m going to go with “On My Own”. Éponine loves Marius so much and that’s so clear. It wouldn’t be right for me to not put it on this list.
  • “Fantine’s Death / Come to Me” from Les Misérables
    • It’s a song which really hurts. Yep, another one of those. For love songs, there are a lot of songs that make the heart ache like crazy. Fantine loves her daughter so much that yet again, it would be a pity if I left it off of this list.
  • “A Heart Full of Love” from Les Misérables
    • This one is absolutely adorable from one perspective and then totally heartrending from another. But it’s definitely a love song and it definitely has a place on this list without regret.
  • “All I Ask of You” from The Phantom of the Opera
    • As a Raoulstine shipper (at least over Eristine), “All I Ask of You” is one of my favorite songs in The Phantom of the Opera and I think that it’s just an absolutely adorable moment. ALW definitely knows how to write love songs for his musicals.
  • “Unexpected Song” from Song and Dance
    • There are a lot of songs from Song and Dance that can go on this list but I decided that I would limit myself to two and this one made it into the final list.
  • “Tell Me on a Sunday” from Song and Dance
    • Where there is a relationship there is a start. And unfortunately there is also an end for many relationships. “Tell Me on a Sunday” definitely illustrates that sort of rocky relationship and I definitely had to include it on this list.
  • “Anything but Lonely” from Aspects of Love
    • “Anything but Lonely” is a song that depicts a person who just doesn’t want to be lonely. And maybe it isn’t the sweetest love song in the world. But it’s definitely a good one nonetheless.
  • “Next Time You Fall in Love” from Starlight Express
    • This ones is just really sweet. Especially when you’ve been rooting for Rusty the whole time. It’s one of the best moments of the musical in my opinion. Just seeing them skate around the stage… awww….
  • “Der Schleier Fällt” (“The Veil Descends”) aus Elisabeth
    • This song is one of the most beautiful songs that I’ve ever heard. It’s not only the song but also the staging of it. I can’t really describe it but it’s absolutely beautiful and I love it so much.
  • “Nichts ist Schwer” (“Nothing is Difficult”) aus Elisabeth
    • This song is sung by Franz Joseph and Sisi before their wedding and while I do not ship them together (not really), I can’t help but think that this song is absolutely adorable. I love it so much.
  • “Elisabeth, Mach Auf” (“Elisabeth, Open Up”) aus Elisabeth
    • This song is pretty turbulent. Because Franz Joseph is begging for Sisi’s forgiveness. And then der Tod swoops in and for the first time we really get confirmation that der Tod loves Sisi. But she turns Franz Joseph away telling him to first fulfill her request if she wants her forgiveness. And then der Tod kind of goes ignored though it can be infered that the “Leave me alone” at the end is directed at both of them.
  • “Schwarzer Prinz” (“Dark Prince”) aus Elisabeth
    • This song is sung immediately after Sisi falls and hurts herself. Here we really get the impression that der Tod (Death) really saved Sisi from well… death and that maybe he loves her. In fact, this song almost solidifies the fact that he does love her. And it’s a cute song. It’s even cuter to watch as Sisi reaches out for der Tod and they sing back and forth.
  • “Totenklage / Rudolf, Wo Bist Du?” (“Death Sentence / Rudolf, Where are You?” aus Elisabeth
    • This song is a love song in the same sense as “Fantine’s Death / Come to Me” is. Because it’s so clear that Sisi loved her son. And it’s also clear that she loves der Tod as well. Or at least begs him to forgive her for turning him away.
  • “As Long as You’re Mine” from Wicked
    • This song is a… fulfilling one. Uniquely for a situation of unrequited love, the tables turn and Elphaba and Galinda kind of switch places in the story. And, while I always have this feeling of sadness for Galinda, I can’t help but feel happy for Elphie and Fiyero.
  • “Take Me as I Am” from Jekyll & Hyde
    • Another song that just makes me all bubbly and happy inside. I can’t really do it justice by trying to explain it. I would 100% fail.
  • “A Whole New World” from Aladdin
    • This was always one of my favorite Disney love songs and I think that it’s so sweet. I’d love to see this played on stage someday.
  • “Transformation / Final Duet” from Beauty and the Beast
    • This song is just perfect in so many ways. I can’t really say more than that. If you’ve never listened to this song, definitely go give it a listen. If you like Beauty and the Beast or just Disney in general, you’ll probably thoroughly enjoy this song.
  • “If I Never Knew You” from Pocahontas
    • It’s no secret that I’m not a big fan of the John Smith / Pocahontas pairing. But this song is absolutely beautiful. It was cut from the movie but you can find it all over YouTube if you’re interested in listening to it!
  • “I See the Light” from Tangled
    • For some reason, this one always gets me teary-eyed. Actually, this movie in general gets me teary-eyed. As someone who’s not been too impressed by the Disney movies of more recent years, a lot of people are surprised when I tell them that I love Tangled.
  • “Agony” from Into the Woods
    • I think that this is a comical love song at best. But I love it so I put it in here. I especially love watching this scene in the movie. I think that it was really well done and it was actually the song that originally made me fall in love with “Into the Woods”.
  • “I Love the Way” from Something Rotten!
    • I think that this song is just so sweet. Portia and Nigel are some of the sweetest people in musical theatre and I absolutely love this song.
  • “Right Hand Man” from Something Rotten!
    • In this song Bea just really proves that she loves Nick and their small family and I think that that’s wonderful.
  • “As Long as He Needs Me” from Oliver!
    • This song just really proves how much Nancy loves Bill Sykes even though we, as the audience know that she shouldn’t because it’s dangerous. But she loves him and this song counts. It 100% counts. Seriously. If this song doesn’t count then I don’t know what does.
  • “Draußen ist Freiheit” (“Out There is Freedom”) aus Tanz der Vampire
    • Alfred and Sarah are absolutely adorable and this song is super cute. In fact, this song has provided inspiration for a future blog post of mine so keep your eyes peeled for that!
  • “Nie Geshen” (“Never Seen”) aus Tanz der Vampire
    • This song is sung immediately after Alfred and Sarah first meet. And while there are little interjections from other characters that significantly diminish the “aww” factor, it’s still a cute love song.
  • “Träum Groß” (“Dream Big”) aus Schikaneder
    • To people who don’t know the story of Schikaneder, they may hear the lyrics and say “This is not a love song!” but it is. It actually really is. And maybe that’s what I like about it so much. Gold star for you, Stephen Schwartz.

***

And I think that’s all that I can think of at the moment! What are some of your favorite love songs?

6 thoughts on “Favorite Love Songs from Musicals

  1. Good question: I love “As Long as Your’e Mine”, “On My Own”, “I’m Not That Girl”, “All I Ask of You”, “Something to Believe In”, “A Whole New World”, “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”, “Something Good”, “A Heart Full of Love”, “Till There Was You”-just some wonderful love songs. This are stage musicals.

    Like

      1. Some people think there is way too much romance in the world of musicals and think is only added to lengthen a musical and that is pointless.

        I love romance in musical and believe it is used to strengthen plot and character. It is an important part of life and that is part of why it is essential to a musical

        Like

Leave a Reply

