My Top Ten Favorite ______ | MUSICAL EDITION

I’ve made myself ten different categories to which I have to list my ten favorites of said categories. The categories are going to be: Favorite Musicals, Favorite Characters, Favorite Songs, Favorite Costumes, Favorite Actors and Actresses, Favorite Composer / Lyricist Teams, Favorite Dance Numbers, Favorite Dream Roles, Favorite Musical Themes, Favorite Musical Movies. This is going to be a really long blog post and it might be the only blog post from me for a few days because I’m going to be busy doing a project for school (I procrastinated way too much but I’ll find a way to finish by the deadline). So hopefully this mega post will make up for that.

Favorite Musicals

  1. ELISABETH: DAS MUSICAL is probably my favorite muscial of all time. It’s hard to really explain why but I just have this love for it. It’s got everything that I feel is important in a musical. It’s got love, sadness, anger, jokes, and adorable moments. The music is wonderfully well… everywhere. There’s all sorts of styles in this musical. If you like rock, there’s that. If you like classical, there’s that too. It’s got a little bit of everything for someone, I think.
  2. LES MISÉRABLES is a super close second. Goodness, it could even technically be tied for first. Point is that it’s up there. It’s really high up there. LES MIZ is emotionally moving like nothing I have ever seen before. I can’t count the number of times I have watched and listened to the musical because that number would be too high. Full of amazing characters, LES MISÉRABLES is a musical that will stand the test of time and will continue to affect people the way it affected me and so many others. There is yet to be a time in which I have watched LES MIZ and have not cried and I don’t think that there ever will.
  3. WICKED is unique in my list of favorites in that it is a musical which is just drop dead fun. Personally, I’m usually one for musicals that are more… serious. And that’s not tos ay that WICKED doesn’t have its serious parts. Believe me, it does. But it is definitely lighthearted (and I mean that as a compliment). The characters are memorable, the dances are spectacular, the score is wonderful, and there are definitely emotional moments sprinkled throughout. The costumes are absolutely wonderful as well and the show as a whole gives this feeling that one is being taken to Oz while still in the bounds of the theater.
  4. ROGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN’S CINDERELLA is a musical that I have loved since I was young. It’s a musical that my grandfather loved and it’s a musical that my dad loves as well. This musical makes me smile. It makes me smile, it makes me laugh, and it makes me cry. It makes me think of all of the possibilities there are in the world and, as a writer, it makes me think. The soundtrack for this musical is one of my go-to’s while I’m writing and I love it for that.
  5. STARLIGHT EXPRESS could very well be one of the reasons why I am alive. If it weren’t for STARLIGHT EXPRESS, my mom would have not taken up the foreign exchange opportunity and come to America from Japan. If it weren’t for that, she would have never met my dad, they would have never gotten married, and I would never have been born. But besides that, STARLIGHT EXPRESS is the musical that, as a child, inspired me to really work on my German so that I might get the opportunity to see it one day. German is the language that my grandfather was brought up speaking so I knew that I wanted to learn the language but STARLIGHT was really the thing that gave me the extra push.
  6. OLIVER! is the reason why I fell in love with musical theatre. After seeing “Consider Yourself” performed I was hooked on the idea of huge dance numbers and musicals in general. This one is still one of my absolute favorites and will be for a very, very long time. Its story is heartbreaking but it’s also one of hope. I love all of the characters and I love the plot.
  7. SOMETHING ROTTEN! is one of the musicals of more recent years that I absolutely love. It’s got a fun score and an even more fun storyline. Most musicals are based off of already existing source-material, whether that be a play, book, or movie. SOMETHING ROTTEN! is 1o0% original. And it’s funny. Oh, it’s funny. The musical has beautiful, colorful costumes that just bring the characters to life and the dance numbers are phenomenal. It’s coming on national tour and I hope that it stops in Seattle so that I will be able to see it.
  8. THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is a musical that has brought many friends into my life and even reintroduced me to former friends. While it is a musical that I tend to rant about (usually not positively) it still has a special place in my heart. The costumes for this musical are absolutely beautiful as is the set design. And the score? Phenomenal.
  9. THE MUSIC MAN is a fairly recent favorite of mine seeing that I only discovered it a year ago through my dad. He had told me that it is his favorite musical and so I bought him the movie for his birthday. After watching it with him it has become a favorite of mine as well. The plot is wonderful and I love the songs. The characters put a smile on my face and I definitely have to watch it again. Maybe that’s what I’ll do this weekend.
  10. TANZ DER VAMPIRE is a musical that I want to reaquaint myself with. I know that I love it but it’s been so long since I’ve really given myself the time to take a break and listen to it so I’ve kind of forgotten well… why. I remember that the set is amazing and that the costumes are beautifully elegant (redundant, I know, but it’s true) and I just love it. It will definitely be playing as I put together my final research paper this weekend.

Favorite Characters

  1. SISI (EMPRESS ELISABETH) (from ELISABETH) is a character that I love despite the fact that she is immensely flawed. She’s sweet and wants to be free. She’s so unhappy and it’s easy to understand why. To me, she’s one of the most relatable characters in musical theatre and I can’t help but love her.
  2. RAOUL DE CHAGNY (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) is one of the more controversial characters on this list. People like to hate on him but personally? I love him. I love him, love him, love him. I wrote an entire analysis on him that you can read here if you’re interested in that. I don’t think that Raoul deserves any of the hate that he receives and I love how sweet and caring he is.
  3. DER TOD (from ELISABETH) is well… an interesting character. He is well… Death (der Tod means “the death” in German). And while he is a troublemaker he is easy to like. In fact, I don’t think that there are many fans of ELISABETH that dislike him. It’s really kind of hard to explain the love that I have for der Tod.
  4. ÉPONINE THENARDIER (from LES MISÉRABLES) is one of my favorite characters of all time. She’s a very complex character and I honestly wish that I, as an author, can one day write a character as complex as her. Her story is one of pain and of unrequited love and I think that she is very understandably one of the most beloved characters from LES MIZ.
  5. ELPHABA (from WICKED) is a character that I think a lot of people can relate to and it’s easy to see why. A lot of people feel like they don’t fit in–that they stick out like a sore thumb–and that’s how it is with Elphaba. But she has a few close friends and really, that’s all that she needs. And she fights hard for what she believes in. In my opinion, she is one of the most inspiring characters… well… ever.
  6. RUSTY (from STARLIGHT EXPRESS) is yet another one of those inspirational ones. And I personally relate to him on a level that I don’t relate to most characters. Rusty is again, an oddball. He’s a beat-up steam train that people just frown upon and see as a little brother who’s good for well… nothing. But Rusty rises above that and shows them that he can do stuff. And that he can be amazing. That he can be the starlight express.
  7. NIGEL BOTTOM (from SOMETHING ROTTEN!) has greatly inspired me ever since I discovered SOMETHING ROTTEN! about a year ago. His character is absolutely adorable but above all, he’s a dreamer and a writer. And I know how hard it is to be a writer and feel pressured to write one thing while knowing that you want to write something else. I love Nigel’s relationships with his brother and Bea as well as Portia. I hope that I will be able to be as ready to write what I want to write as Nigel was if it ever comes down to it.
  8. NANCY (from OLIVER!) may not be the ideal role model for young girls (or anyone else). She stays in an abusive relationship and generally, that’s not a message that we want to set forward for well… anyone really. But Nancy is strong. Nancy knows that Bill is abusive. She knows that he can and will kill her if he finds out that she tries to save Oliver but she does it anyways because she knows that it’s the right thing to do. And Nancy loves Bill even though she shouldn’t. Nancy feels that Bill needs her and that she can fix him. And while it’s untrue it’s impossible not to feel horrible for her and her situation while she sings about it in “As Long as He Needs Me”. And in the end, while she may not be the ideal role model, she is still a character that I see as a role model. Because I hope that if it ever comes down to it in my own personal life where I might have to sacrifice my life to do what’s right I will be able to do it.
  9. THE WITCH (from INTO THE WOODS) is a kind of well… different sort than the rest that we’ve seen on this list so far. The witch is one of those characters that is not necessarily a villain but is definitely a sort of antagonist (kind of like Javert in LES MISÉRABLES). The Witch is a character that I kind of can’t help but feel bad for. I know that she trapped Rapunzel in a tour. I know that she cursed the Baker’s family. But I feel bad for her because she was well… justified in her anger in so many ways. And in some twisted way she really did love Rapunzel. It’s confusing, I know. But I always wind up feeling bad for her in the end.
  10. FAGIN (from OLIVER!) is yet again a sort of odd character. I wouldn’t say that Fagin is a main villain or antagonist but he definitely does fit under that category. He’s not a good guy is, I guess, what I’m trying to say. But when it comes down to it, Fagin is a funny character that I can’t help but adore (especially when played by Ron Moody) and I also think that he isn’t without his more… admirable qualities either. Fagin does, in fact, interfere while Bill is beating Nancy. He tries to stop Bill from murdering Nancy. And in some weird way he does care about all of those kids that he’s taken in. He really, really does.

Favorite Songs

  1. DER SCHLEIER FÄLLT [THE VEIL DESCENDS] (from ELISABETH) is quite possibly one of the most beautiful scenes in musical theatre that I have ever seen. It makes me cry every time and the words are so beautiful and inspirational.
  2. IF I DIDN’T BELIEVE IN YOU (from THE LAST FIVE YEARS) is a song that yet again evokes those tears. It’s a song that really symbolizes the breaking point in Cathy and Jamie’s relationship. And here is kind of the first time that we see Jamie leaving something behind so that he can fight for their relationship. It’s a beautiful song and it constantly giving me inspiration.
  3. EMPTY CHAIRS AT EMPTY TABLES (from LES MISÉRABLES) just tears at the heartstrings. I can’t help but feel bad for Marius when I hear this song. I will never forget seeing this performed on Broadway earlier this year. I don’t know how it is in the original production as I’ve never seen it but I know that the revival production does this scene so indescribably beautifully. I literally have no words.
  4. ALL I ASK OF YOU (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) is one of the most adorable songs that I have ever heard.  It’s the sort of song that just makes me want to smile while listening to. It’s happy, it’s sweet, and it’s cute. What more could I ask for?
  5. TRÄUM GROß (from SCHIKANEDER) is a song that is full of emotions that are kind of well… hard to read. But what I love most about this song is its heavy classical style. As a person who was brought up living and breathing Johann Sebastian Bach music, I’ve developed quite the love for classical music and this definitely has a lot of that. In fact, SCHIKANEDER in and of itself has a lot of that because the musical’s music has been based heavily off of the work of Mozart.
  6. WENN ICH TANZEN WILL [IF I WANT TO DANCE] (from ELISABETH) is an upbeat song that will stay in your head for days. At least, that’s how it is and was for me. It’s a song that really is kind of… creepy at times but nonetheless it’s a very fun song. Sisi is so strong here but at the same time you really get to see a demonstration of the immense power that der Tod holds over her even if she doesn’t want to admit to it.
  7. REFLECTION (from A TALE OF TWO CITIES) is the hint that we’re delving into some sadder songs again. This song is heartbreaking. But it portrays Sydney’s emotions so well that I simply couldn’t not include it on the list. It’s a song that I can just be listening to and I’ll start crying. That’s how great it is.
  8. FAÇADE (from JEKYLL & HYDE) is a song that, to me, sums up life in this world pretty perfectly. I can’t really say much more than that because the song does so much of a better job than I possibly could.
  9. FOR GOOD (from WICKED) is one of the most heartfelt songs in WICKED. It’s one of those songs that really shows you what the musical is about. Friendship. And Elphie and Galinda’s friendship is one that is not without flaws but this song is so sweet and it breaks my heart every time.
  10. TOO MUCH IN LOVE TO CARE (from SUNSET BOULEVARD) is going to bring me back to the happy songs again. My favorite love song of all time, I’m tellign you guys. This song is cute. If you want a cute love song to go with, go with this one. You won’t be disappointed.

Favorite Costumes

  1. ROOFTROP / IL MUTO DRESS (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) – I mostly love the Moscow and Oberhausen versions of this dress because of the great detail put into it. All of the PHANTOM costumes are beautiful but this is probably my favorite. All of the Il Muto costumes are so vibrant and so pretty that I just had to find them a place on this list.
  2. ENJOLRAS’S VEST (from LES MISÉRABLES) – Ah, the famous red vest. The red vest that I have a cosplay of. Yeah, I know that it’s not the most historically accurate thing in the world but it’s a really nice costume. I love the colors and how they pop. They really effectively make it easy to find Enjolras in the midst of all of the action at the barricades.
  3. SISI’S CORONATION DRESS (from ELISABETH) – This is the dress that she’s wearing while she is signing “Wenn Ich Tanzen Will” with der Tod. It’s a beautiful dress and I love how when she moves, the dress swishes so elegantly. There’s something about the deep blue that, when contrasted with the yellow skirt just looks so beautiful.
  4. ELPHABA’S ACT II DRESS (from WICKED) – This dress has a lot of beautiful details when you really get a good look at it. I love the texture of the dress and I think that it’s one of the prettiest costumes ever.
  5. COUNT KROLOCK’S BALL COSTUME (from TANZ DER VAMPIRE) – Again with the details! Details, details, details! When it comes to costumes, I love details and Krolock’s costumes are a perfect example of beautiful details on costumes.
  6. RUSTY’S COSTUME (from STARLIGHT EXPRESS) – There are so many ways in which the costumes for STARLIGHT EXPRESS could have gone wrong. But I think that Rusty’s costume is evidence enough that even the most absurd costume ideas can be well… beautiful.
  7. NANCY’S DRESS (from OLIVER!) – This dress is simple. But its simplicity and its crispness is enough for me to absolutely love it.
  8. LUCIE’S BLUE DRESS (from A TALE OF TWO CITIES) – While I haven’t seen nearly as many pictures of this dress as I would like, I know that from what I have seen of it, it is a beautiful, classic looking dress.
  9. DON JUAN REHEARSAL / WISHING DRESS (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) – The dress that Christine wears in the graveyard is absolutely gorgeous. I love it so much. The details are phenomenal. I don’t even know what more I can say about how much I love this costume.
  10. THE BEAST’S BLUE SUIT (from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST) – The details in this costume are amazing. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen so much detail put into a Disney stage musical’s costumes.

Favorite Actors and Actresses

  1. MARK SEIBERT has played roles like der Tod in ELISABETH, Count Krolock in TANZ DER VAMPIRE, and is currently starring as Emanuel Schikaneder in SCHIKANEDER. I think that he would make a really good Enjolras or Phantom.
  2. ANNEMIEKE VAN DAM played Sisi in ELISABETH alongside Mark Seibert for a few years. More recently she has played Mary Poppins in MARY POPPINS. I’d love to see her play Christine one day!
  3. PIA DOUWES was the original Sisi in ELISABETH and she has done countless other musicals in the Geman-speaking world.
  4. JEREMY HAYS played Raoul de Chagny in THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA until mid-2016. I hope that he returns to PHANTOM one day to play the title role. I think that he would be perfect for it and I am so glad that I got to see him live.
  5. JULIA UDINE played Christine Daaé opposite Jeremy Hays in PHANTOM for a few years until more recently when she left the show. I just really can’t wait to see what she does next!
  6. AUDRA MCDONALD has one of the most powerful voices that I have ever heard in my entire life. I just wish that I could have seen her in SHUFFLE ALONG!
  7. CARMEN CUSAK finally made her Broadway debut just last year in BRIGHT STAR. I hope that she comes back to Broadway soon as I would love to see her perform live. She played Elphaba in WICKED on tour and has played Christine Daaé in THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA and Fantine in LES MISÉRABLES on London’s West End.
  8. JANA WERNER is a German voice actress who has played Fantine in LES MISÉRABLES in Berlin. She also was the German voice for Belle in BEAUTY AND THE BEAST as well as the German voice for Christine Daaé in the 2004 movie adaptation of PHANTOM.
  9. KEVIN KÖHLER has played Rusty in STARLIGHT EXPRESS countless times and I think that he may still be playing the role right now. I really hope to see him perform STARLIGHT live one day. He was also Alfred in TANZ DER VAMPIRE formerly.
  10. SUSAN EGAN was the voice for Megara in HERCULES but she also played Belle in BEAUTY AND THE BEAST on Broadway.

Favorite Composer / Lyricist Teams

  1. SLYVESTER LEVAY / MICHAEL KUNZE is a relatively new composer / lyricist team to me but I’ve never heard something from them that I didn’t like. They wrote musicals like ELISABETH and MARIE ANTOINETTE both of which I have absolutely loved. I hope to look into some of their other work sometime soon!
  2. CLAUDE-MICHEL SCHÖNBERG / ALAIN BOUBIL is the team that gave the world the musical phenomenon that is LES MISÉRABLES and they have also created other musical successes such as MISS SAIGON which is returning to Broadway very soon.
  3. RICHARD ROGERS / OSCAR HAMMERSTEIN II is probably the most well known, successful composer / lyricist teams in musical theatre history and it’s pretty easy to see why. To this day, there hasn’t been a musical of theirs that has been an outright flop and that is pretty amazing.
  4. STEPHEN SONDHEIM / JAMES LAPINE was the team that brought the world INTO THE WOODS. And if that’s not wonderful then I don’t know what is.
  5. ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER / CHARLES HART is responsible for the Broadway smash hit THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA. With PHANTOM being one of the longest running musicals in musical theatre history I couldn’t leave them off of this list. I am very fond of their work and I really don’t know where musical theatre would be without them.
  6. FRANK WILDHORN / LESLIE BRICUSSE produced JEKYLL & HYDE a considerably successful Broadway hit. For producing one of my favorite musicals I am grateful to them.
  7. ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER / RICHARD STILGOE brought SUNSET BOULEVARD to life. If this team is the team that wrote “Too Much in Love to Care” then they defintely make it into my top 10.
  8. ALAN MENKEN / TIM RICE have done many Disney musicals together including two of my favorites, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST and ALADDIN.
  9. JIM STEINMAN / MICHAEL KUNZE wrote TANZ DER VAMPIRE and seriously, those guys must be geniuses.
  10. STEPHEN SCHWARTZ / STEPHEN SCHWARTZ has written some of my favorite musicals of all time. I’m unsure as to whether or not Schwartz penned the lyrics for SCHIKANEDER but if he did, props to him!

Favorite Dance Numbers

  1. NO TIME AT ALL (from PIPPIN) is one of my favorite parts of the musical and I think that a lot of that is attributed to well… the circus elements incorporated into it. But the circus elements are so very… dance like that I had to include it on here.
  2. MASQUERADE (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) would be a pity to leave off of this list. Seeing this live was absolutely phenomenal especially because I was able to see it pretty close up. It’s a beautiful scene and I wish that I could just rewatch it over and over and over again.
  3. ALLE TANZEN MIT DEM TOD (from ELISABETH) is kind of complicated. Most people wouldn’t think of it as a big dance number but it is in such an interesting way. I think that the dance just really shows Luchini and well… the winners of history as puppet masters, choosing which version of history to tell.
  4. WENN ICH TANZEN WILL (from ELISABETH) is really fun to watch play out. It’s a really active song and the choreography, while simple is really pretty. The costumes really compliment each other and the scenery is absolutely beautiful. I also really like the way that the lyrics just go perfectly with the dance.
  5. CONSIDER YOURSELF (from OLIVER!) was the first big dance number that I ever saw and it was considerably what made me fall in love with musical theatre. I still am enthralled by this scene and think that it is one of the most marvelous things in the world. I love it so much.
  6. BE BACK SOON (from OLIVER!) is yet again another overall fun scene to watch. It’s so fun to watch Fagin jumping about the stage with all of the children and it’s a pretty cute song as well. It really makes me like Fagin despite the fact that he’s not the most moral character in the world (in any way).
  7. DANCING THROUGH LIFE (from WICKED) is another fun scene. I think that the moment “Dancing Through Life” started to play I realized what a fun musical WICKED would be and that it would be a generally lighthearted musical. The dances are so whimsical and funny and I just love watching this scene.
  8. A LOTTA LOCOMOTION (from STARLIGHT EXPRESS) is especially cool because guys, it’s done on roller skates. Yeah. Roller skates. And if that’s not cool, then I don’t know what is. Also, this is one of my favorite songs from STARLIGHT. It’s so upbeat and fun that I couldn’t not include it.
  9. TEN MINUTES AGO (from ROGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN’S CINDERELLA) was another scene that just blew me away when I first saw it (and it still does today). I think that it is such a beautifully choreographed scene. The costumes are beautiful and the whole thing is so elegant that it really feels like you’ve stumbled into a fairytale when you watch it.
  10. A MUSICAL! (from SOMETHING ROTTEN!) is just one of those absolutely jaw-dropping moments in theatre. No matter how many times I watch it, I am always amazed and awestruck by how complicated the whole thing is. Not to mention that it’s super funny and just fun to weed out all of the musical references sprinkled throughout it.

Favorite Dream Roles

*Quick Note* These are mostly just things that I like to think about. I don’t plan on being a musical theatre actress because I really like writing and that’s what I want to do for a living. These are just roles that I would like to play supposing that I did want to be / could be a musical theatre actress.

  1. ELISABETH (from ELISABETH) is one of my biggest dream roles. I think that it would be so awesome to be able to sing all of the songs on a stage in Austria or in Germany. It’ll never happen–I’m not nearly good enough–but it’s a thought that I like to run through my mind a lot.
  2. FANTINE (from LES MISÉRABLES) is the character that I would like to play the most in LES MIZ. And believe me, I’d like to play a lot of characters in LES MIZ. But playing Fantine would be so amazing that she is definitely my biggest dream role from LES MIZ.
  3. MEG GIRY (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) is one of those dream roles that people are always shocked about when I tell people. I guess that people tend to think of the leading roles being the ones that get the dream role treatment but I would absolutely love to play Meg one day. Maybe it’s because this one is probably the most plausible one of my dream roles but it’s one that’s dear and close to my heart.
  4. BELLE (from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST) is a dream role that I’ve had since I was oh… about three? I remember when I was younger, I would be watching the movie and I’d have my mom change my hair every time Belle did. And of course, I’d sing all of the songs and dance around my living room. Maybe this is more of a sentimental one. But given the chance, I would 100% love to play Belle.
  5. ELEANORE SCHIKANEDER (from SCHIKANEDER) is definitely the most recent of all of my dream roles. She gets to sing such beautiful songs and her costumes are absolutely beautiful. And, because I love singing classical, this one is one that I would really, really enjoy. Also, how, if given the chance, could I pass up a chance to be in a Stephen Schwartz musical?
  6. CINDERELLA (from ROGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN’S CINDERELLA) is yet another pretty sentimental one of mine. Cinderella gets to sing such beautiful, fun songs like “In My Own Little Corner” and “Impossible” and I would absolutely love to play this role.
  7. MARIA (from THE SOUND OF MUSIC) is one of those dream roles that I have mostly because I would love to sing all of her songs and be on the stage of this musical. It’s not so much Maria that I would like to play than the fact that I think that it would be really fun to be in THE SOUND OF MUSIC, wearing those iconic costumes, singing those iconic songs.
  8. PORTIA (from SOMETHING ROTTEN!) is a character that I think would be so much fun to play. Portia and I are very alike but very different at the same time and I think that it would be a lot of fun to play her given the chance. She also gets to wears some absolutely beautiful costumes and gets to crack some great jokes. She has to be one of the most fun dream roles on this list.
  9. NANCY (from OLIVER!) is a dream role that I’ve had ever since I was little. I’d love to sing “Fine Life”, “As Long as He Needs Me”, “I’d Do Anything”, and “Oom-Pah-Pah”. Playing Nancy would just be a dream come true for me. She has, in my opinion, some of the best songs ever written for musical theatre and it would be so cool to get to sing those songs on stage. She is also a beloved character to me and it would be surreal to get to bring her to life.
  10. PEARL (from STARLIGHT EXPRESS) would be a lot of fun to play. It would take months of training on roller skates but I think that it would be worth it. I’d love to wear her costume and skate around that stage in Bochum. It’ll probably never happen but I’d love it if it could.

Favorite Musical Themes

*Quick Note* Here, I’m talking about themes that come from the music not topical themes. So it’d be like well… the overture for THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, for example.

  1. THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA OVERTURE (from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) has to be one of the most iconic overtures of all time and it is definitely one that I get excited upon hearing. It’s one that pumps me up and makes me all happy that THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is starting. It has such a distinct tune that, upon hearing it, my mind immediately goes into PHANTOM mode.
  2. TRÄUM GROß (from SCHIKANEDER) is such a fun, upbeat song that really carries the classical theme very well. It’s one that makes me smile and one that also, as the musical goes on, kind of pulls at the heartstrings.
  3. TOTALE FINSTERNIS (from TANZ DER VAMPIRE) is such an amazing scene and also has the sort of tune that stays with you forever. I hear it or anything remotely like it and my mind snaps to TANZ DER VAMPIRE. I love this scene in general but the music only makes it better.
  4. EINLADUNG ZUM BALL (from TANZ DER VAMPIRE) is probably the more distinct theme from TANZ DER VAMPIRE. It’s a song that is definitely gets me thinking of TANZ DER VAMPIRE as well and it’s also got a pretty amazing scene to go with it.
  5. LOOK DOWN / PARIS (from LES MISÉRABLES) is yet another instantly recognizable themes. I love when I pop in my LES MIZ C.D. and “Look Down” starts playing. It makes me smile and I love it so much.
  6. DO YOU HEAR THE PEOPLE SING (from LES MISÉRABLES) has become a sort of world wide anthem for not just LES MIZ itself but also for peace and freedom. I think that that’s amazing. It was definitely a song on my writing playlist for Clemency. 
  7. IF I CAN’T LOVE HER (from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST) is a theme that just makes my heart drop because it’s sad but also it gives me chills. Because it’s so drop dead good. I love the song and even just instrumentally, it’s a beautiful song to listen to.
  8. ICH GEHÖR NUR MIR (from ELISABETH) is definitely the biggest theme in ELISABETH and it’s not very hard to see why. It’s a powerful song that really defines Sisi and a lot of the other characters as well. When it plays during “Der Schleier Fällt” it always brings the tears to my eyes.
  9. IMPOSSIBLE (from ROGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN’S CINDERELLA) is, what I’d definitely have to say is the theme of the musical. It’s super upbeat and fun and it also carries the message of the musical really well. Not to mention the fact that it has that ability to get stuck in one’s head for days.
  10. THANK YOU VERY MUCH / I LIKE LIFE (from SCROOGE) is one of those musical themes that is really happy but still makes me cry. SCROOGE makes me cry happy tears every time this plays at the end of the musical and that’s something that not many things can do.

Favorite Musical Movies

  1. OLIVER! is a musical movie that was ridiculously well done. All of the singers are great, the choreography is amazing, and I love it. Each of the actors is amazing and it’s a nice musical to just sit back and watch. Man, I really want to watch this movie again. In fact, it was this musical movie that really got me interested in musicals first.
  2. SCROOGE is a musical movie that I absolutely love and adore. And honestly, I wish that it wasn’t considered a “Christmas movie” because it’s the sort of movie that I want to watch all year long. I cry watching a lot of movies. But, in all honesty, most of the time, I’m crying because something is sad. Not so with this musical. I cry because it’s so beautiful. I cry because it makes me so happy that I just can’t hold back the tears. I laugh while watching this movie. I cry watching this movie. It’s amazing.
  3. THE MUSIC MAN is a relatively new obsession of mine. I watched this movie approximately a year ago now when I bought the movie for my dad’s birthday/Christmas present because I knew that it was his favorite musical. And boy, am I glad that I watched it. Because it’s amazing. The story is great and all of the actors are wonderful.
  4. INTO THE WOODS is a musical movie that missing a lot of things that the stage musical has but for the most part I think that it’s okay and I understand why some of those things were ultimately cut. While I do largely prefer the stage version of this musical, I do think that the movie was pretty well done. The cinematography was beautiful and I think that the fact that Disney did the movie just adds a lot of charm to it.
  5. ROGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN’S CINDERELLA is a favorite of mine. I’m talking about the Disney adaption with Brandy and Whitney Houston. And goodness gracious, I love this movie so much. I need to watch it again. CINDERELLA is my favorite Roger and Hammerstein musical and this movie is a lot of the reason why.
  6. LES MISÉRABLES‘s musical movie is, in my opinion, very flawed. But I still love it. For example, the acting and the singing isn’t the best. In general, I’m not a big fan of this cast. And I’m not really that big into how much they changed some things like the Loud Hailer parts for example. Those parts in particular were no where near as epic as it is on stage. But I will say that I am immensely grateful for this movie. Because, without it, I would not love LES MIZ as much as I do today. As far as musical movies go, I will say that this is pretty good. And while the cast isn’t spectacular, the cast isn’t necessarily bad either. And I do like the cinematography.
  7. SWEENEY TODD is just one of those musical movies that I never get enough of. There’s something so perfect about Tim Burton’s style that makes this movie so perfect. I can’t think of someone better to direct this movie. The aesthetic of the movie is stellar. I don’t even know what more I can say. While the singing isn’t necessarily the best, I would say that it’s fitting for the musical and I wouldn’t have changed any of the actors used.
  8. MARY POPPINS is a musical movie that I have come to adore for its absolutely wonderful songs and its lighthearted nature. It’s one of those musicals that I can watch with my brother and sister without them complaining and I think that that’s a lot of the reason why it’s so near and dear to my heart.
  9. WICKED hasn’t come out yet but I do have high hopes for it. Let’s hope for the best!
  10. BEAUTY AND THE BEAST hasn’t come out yet either but it’s coming soon and I have high hopes for it. But admittedly, my hopes have kind of… fallen? I don’t know. Maybe watching the movie will remedy that. I sure hope so!

***

So this might be my last blog post for a little while while I finish up my massive paper on Camille Desmoulins. This post turned out way longer than I originally intended (it’s longer than some chapters of my novel). Anyways, I hope that I will still post daily but if not, hopefully the length of this one will make up for any absences.

2 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favorite ______ | MUSICAL EDITION

  1. This must have been a hard list for you to you write. Wicked and Les Mis are still competing for best musical and some people say that you know what your favorite is, but you are not just willing to admit it. Les Mis and Wicked will always be tied.

    Like

Leave a Reply

