Ephesians 4:31-32 | Forgiveness – 5th Sunday After Epiphany 2017

I believe that we all have God-given talents and gifts. For me personally, I think that my greatest God-given gift is my forgiving spirit. I don’t know. I’ve always been forgiving. And today, in church, my pastor gave a really good sermon on forgiveness entitled “Forgive and Forget!”. I thought that it was great to listen to it and really contemplate it. So today, for my first weekly “Passage of the Week”, I thought that I would use:

“Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” – Ephesians 4:31-32

It’s easy to hold a grudge. Even I, as a person who is generally really forgiving, have had times in which I found it really hard to forgive. But really, forgiveness is one of the greatest things in the world. Forgiveness isn’t earned. It’s given. So this week, I am going to especially focus on being forgiving.

Besides, forgiveness can be really hard to give to a person especially when it seems that they keep making the same mistakes over and over again. And that’s where the forgetting comes into play. Did you know that the Inuit / Eskimo (I’m not sure which one is correct) word for forgiveness literally means “not being able to think about it anymore”. My pastor also made a really good comment in his sermon today:

“When you forgive, each offense is the first offense, since all previous ones are already forgiven!… To forgive is to forget. When God forgives us He gives us a promise that He will remember our sins against us no more. Even so when we forgive, absolving one another, we promise to forget. That mean we won’t bring up the matter with the person forgiven, we won’t tell others about it, and we won’t dwell upon it in our own mind. Forgiveness without forgetfulness is a complete sham. To say ‘I’ll forgive, but I won’t forget’ is a contradiction in terms.” – EJW, Sermon on February 5, 2017

So this week, I’m going to really work on forgiveness. I think that I’m pretty good at it, but I really, really want to focus on it because it’s ever so important.

If you’re interested in reading the sermon that my pastor wrote up, just let me know and I will see what I can do!

Sermon text for 5th Sunday after Epiphany 2017:

“He that covereth a transgression seeketh love; but he that repeateth a matter separateth very friends.” – Proverbs 17:9

8 thoughts on “Ephesians 4:31-32 | Forgiveness – 5th Sunday After Epiphany 2017

  1. I agree that we have God-given gifts. I feel like my best God-given gift is my strong spirit. I trust God throughout my time at college. Every week, I go to the Gathering and being able to sing contemporary Christian songs makes me filled up with the Holy Spirit and I am able to feel my strong spirit as well

    Like

      1. I find sermons boring to listen to at my hometown’s church. But at the Gathering, I don’t find them boring. I take notes at the Gathering sermons and that sometimes becomes inspiration for my blog post the next day

        Like

      2. That makes sense. My pastor is really good at writing sermons that are easy to listen to. I always find something to take away from it. But I do take more notes in Bible Study. I think that I learn a lot from Bible Study weekly

        Like

      3. I just cannot actually connect to my hometown church’s sermons. At Gardner Webb, the sermons feel like they are drawn to college students. We usually sing about four to five songs a night and singing them reminds me of just how important God is in my life

        Like

      4. I’ve never really heard much contemporary Christian music as my father is a J.S. Bach / Handel enthusiast and that’s really rubbed off on me. I’ve heard some Contemporary Christian songs and have liked them but I mostly have the hymns that I was brought up singing. Like you talked about in your post about Prayer, I think that there are different ways for people to connect with the preaching of God’s Word

        Like

      5. I would have to agree. I do love singing hymns, but don’t sing much as our organist does so many traditional hymns that I don’t know. I was exposed to contemporary Christian at a Episcopalian Conference Center called Kanuga and that is where that love began

        Like

      6. My uncle was my church’s organist before he died so I got a lot of exposure to traditional hymns and stuff like that. A lot of the hymns in our hymnal are German hymns so I also took up reading them in German on my spare time when I was younger so that it’d give me some more practice with the language. I think that I first discovered Contemporary Christian music through a radio station that only plays Christian music. I like those songs that are based off of a certain verse because they’re almost like mini sermons

        Like

Leave a Reply

