Psalm 50:15 | Take it To The Lord in Prayer – Septaugesima Sunday

“Call upon me in the day of trouble, I will deliver thee and thou shalt glorify Me.” – Psalm 50:15 (KJV)

Yesterday, my family and I began rereading The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan for our family devotions and we also sang a few hymns. In the reading of the introduction and apology (explanation) of the author for writing his book, and in the singing of the hymns, the verse above was brought to mind.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had Psalm 50:15 memorized and in my memory bank and it’s one that I am glad to have with me at all times. While I cannot say that I am the most stellar example of following what this verse says, I will say that when I do remember to do as it directs me, my worry recedes almost immediately. You know that feeling of relief when you finally tell someone a secret that you’ve been wanting to get out for a long time? That’s what it feels like for me when I “take it to the Lord in prayer”.

One of my favorite hymns, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus” (The Lutheran Hymnal #457) does a wonderful job at illustrating how taking things to the Lord in the “time of trouble” can make the burden light (I had to throw that in in reference to Christian’s burden in The Pilgrim’s Progress):

1. What a Friend we have in Jesus,

All our sins and griefs to bear!

What a privilege to carry

Ev’rything to God in prayer!

Oh, what peace we often forfeit,

Oh, what needless pain we bear,

All because we do not carry

Ev’rything to God in prayer!


2. Have we trials and temptations?

Is there trouble anywhere?

We should never be discouraged,

Take it to the Lord in prayer.

Can we find a Friend so faithful

Who will all our sorrows share?

Jesus knows our ev’ry weakness–

Take it to the Lord in prayer. 



3. Are we weak and heavy laden,

Cumbered with a load of care?

Precious Savior, still our Refuge–

Take it to the Lord in prayer.

Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?

Take it to the Lord in prayer;

In His arms He’ll take and shield thee,

Thou wilt find a solace there.

Author: Joseph Scriven

###

This week, I want to try to remember to take things to God in prayer more than I usually do. I have a few big projects coming up this coming week and keeping this in mind will most certainly be helpful to me in easing my nerves!

Best wishes for the next week!

14 thoughts on “Psalm 50:15 | Take it To The Lord in Prayer – Septaugesima Sunday

    1. Thanks! I really got the inspiration for this blog post from my family devotion last night. Ps. 50:15 is one of those things that I was taught when I was really little but never loses its importance to me–I’d even say that it’s grown more important to me as I’ve grown up.

      Like

      1. I had to learn a lot of the verse references for the verses I learned for Catechism though I’ll admit that I don’t really remember a majority of those references. One of the things that I really enjoy about the technological Bibles is that I can search for the verse I want by a word search which is really nifty. I also really like Bible Promise Books because I can look for the verse that I want by category and that’s also pretty helpful

        Like

      2. My bible is sitting in Charlotte right now, which is about one hour away from Boiling Springs, which is where my college is. Some people think I am not exposed to scripture because I don’t regularly read the bible. I have been exposed by going to church back home and attending the Gathering every week at my school

        Like

      3. Reading the Bible regularly isn’t something that I do much of either because I’m not quite sure as to how to really go about it. I get my exposure to the Scriptures by singing hymns, singing with my church’s choir, and going to my Bible History class and church services on Sunday. For me, I find that reading the Bible through from Genesis to Revelation isn’t as helpful to me as going through the parts that I just really need at the moment

        Like

      4. I got my exposure to the bible through growing up as an Episcopalian. I don’t exactly know what to take literally or figuratively. Whenever I blog about a piece of scripture that is not from the Gathering, I always hope I am able to interpret the piece of scripture right instead of falsely interpreting it

        Like

      5. Yeah, that can be tough. Personally, I let the Scriptures interpret itself but if I just can’t wrap my head around something, I generally go to my pastor or find something in either the Kretzmann Commentaries or the Matthew Henry Commentaries

        Like

      6. I was told I can’t pick and choose what I believe from the bible. Being Episcopalian at a very conservative school is very hard for me. I was called a fake Christian because of some of my beliefs and was told that just because I was taught something related to Christianity, it doesn’t mean it is true. I don’t like many told how I should have a relationship with God

        Like

      7. As a Lutheran, I have a lot of customs that I keep throughout the church year and there are certain things that people have asked me to do that aren’t in accordance with what I believe and I’ve had to decline. Due to that, I have been called “an elitist Christian” or an “extremist” (among other things) and I just have to put up with it. I agree with you when you say that everyone has their own relationship with God and I believe that that is between the individual and God and not something than anyone else has a right to judge

        Like

      8. I already have a nice relationship with God. My relationship with him is strengthening. I live life according to love and that is the strongest commandment. Episcopalians accept all into the household of God.

        Like

      9. Yeah. I’ll admit that sometimes my faith isn’t always at its strongest. Personally, I think that observing the customs that I was brought up with as a Lutheran help to strengthen my faith when I take the time to really ponder them

        Like

      10. Yeah. There have been times when I’ve just felt so confused and almost lost in a sense and I’d call up my pastor and he’d tell me “Sometime it’s hard to understand, but you’ve just got to believe.” I’m always so grateful for how my pastor always encourages us to ask him questions and talk to him when things are wrong because he’s always so willing to help out

        Like

Leave a Reply

