Musical Songs on My Writing Playlist for STOLEN SCORE

Writing playlists can be a pretty big deal when it comes to writers. Some of us like non-lyrical, just pure instrumental music for writing. Some of us like lyrics. But in general, we try to pick songs that fit the themes of our writing and the characteristics of our characters. I did a writing playlist post for my novel Clemency: This is no Nation of Gods (a French Revolution novel) and I thought that I’d do it for Stolen Score.
Stolen Score is the story of a playwright and a set / costume designer who’ve been brought up out of their world of street performing to the glorious world of theatres. Actual theatres. But Mindy Roth (the playwright), can’t seem to find anything to write. She struggles through her writer’s block even as her friend, Allen (the set/costume designer) thrives. For the first time in his life, Allen really has the chance to thrive off of his talents. And Mindy can’t help but feel that she’s holding him back. But when she’s looking through Allen’s stuff one day, trying to find something of his, she finds a book full of music. And as she starts to uncover the story behind the notes on those pages, she begins to write again. Her masterpiece is in the works. But she quickly discovers that perhaps, she’s gotten into more than she asked for.

So, that’s the synopsis! I’m still only on chapter six—only just over 16,000 words in. But I’m starting to get to where the story really begins and I couldn’t be more excited. But writing playlists are a key piece in my writing journey. I need a playlist in order for my writing to really, really get going. It’s rare that I write without music going. So… here we go. This is my writing playlist!

MUSICAL SONGS

· ICH GEHÖR NUR MIR (REPRISE) [“I Belong to Me (Reprise)”] from ELISABETH

· REFLECTION from A TALE OF TWO CITIES

· TOTALE FINSTERNIS [“Total Darkness”] from TANZ DER VAMPIRE

· ALLE TANZTEN MIT DEM TOD [“Everyone Has Danced with Death”] from ELISABETH

· TOTENKLAGE / RUDOLF, WO BIST DU [“Death Sentence / Rudolf, Where are You”] from ELISABETH

· NEVER SAY GOODBYE from A TALE OF TWO CITIES

· ELISABETH, MACH AUF [“Elisabeth, Open Up”] from ELISABETH

· MOVING TOO FAST from THE LAST FIVE YEARS

· IF I DIDN’T BELIEVE IN YOU from THE LAST FIVE YEARS

· HEROES from WONDERLAND

· HOME from WONDERLAND

· WISHING YOU WERE SOMEHOW HERE AGAIN from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

· TOO MUCH IN LOVE TO CARE from SUNSET BOULEVARD

· WITH ONE LOOK from SUNSET BOULEVARD

· MEMORY from CATS

· TWISTED EVERY WAY from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

· CORNER OF THE SKY from PIPPIN

· MUSIC OF THE NIGHT from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

· DAS PHANTOM DER OPER from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

· LEARN TO BE LONELY from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

· I CAN DO BETTER THAN THAT from THE LAST FIVE YEARS

· I CAN GO THE DISTANCE from HERCULES

· PROUD OF YOUR BOY from ALADDIN

· A CHANGE IN ME from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

· HOME from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

· NO MATTER WHAT from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

· I DREAMED A DREAM from LES MISÉRABLES

· EMPTY CHAIRS AT EMPTY TABLES from LES MISÉRABLES

· BRING HIM HOME from LES MISÉRABLES

· JAVER’S SOLILOQUY / SUICIDE from LES MISÉRABLES

NON-MUSICAL SONGS

· PAN IST MEISTER, LASST IHN GEH’N [“Pan is Master, Let Him Be”] from Bach’s GERSCHWINDE, IHR WIRBELNDEN WINDE (BWV 201)  

· Mozart’s REQUIEM MASS 

###

So, that’s it for me! Do you prefer instrumental music while working (just in general; not necessarily just for writing!)?

40 thoughts on “Musical Songs on My Writing Playlist for STOLEN SCORE

    1. Yeah, sometimes I have problems with that! Another thing that happens is that sometimes I realize I’m not even writing anymore, I’m just listening. But I generally consider it time well-spent because when it comes to writing, I sometimes can pick up on character traits of the characters I like and hastily add those traits to certain characters who need more development. I really like using songs from musicals because they’re filled with story and emotion!

      Like

      1. When I am out of my dorm room, sometimes I do burst out into song. I do listen to music while writing my blog posts, but don’t when writing a college paper.

        When it comes to a college paper and I find myself listening to music, I tend to be more drawn to the Christian songs

        Like

      2. That makes sense. I usually just plug in my earbuds and whatever is playing is playing when it comes to papers for school and such. Sometimes, though, I’ll opt for some J.S. Bach or I’ll find a version of a musical song in a language I don’t understand so that I’m less tempted to burst out into song. In general, the only time I have set songs that I listen to is when I’m writing because all of those songs are handpicked to fit plot and characters in some way.
        There’s something about music that makes it easier for me to work. In general, I think I just like sounds in the background while I’m working. They say that classical music with no lyrics is best for study-time but… in general, I rarely follow along with that. Not that I dislike classical music–I do. It’s just that to me, classical, non-lyrical music is the most distracting when it comes to shool work and such

        Like

      3. I don’t even like classical music because those songs don’t seem to be about anything. I had to learn classical songs when I took piano lessons and started learning to playing them about in high school

        Like

      4. I think that my love of classical music comes from its constant presence in my childhood. I listened to Bethoven’s symphonies for hours on end, Mozart became a fascination of mine, Haydn was always a guy I saw as cast aside and disregarded unfairly by most people, Bach’s mini-operas always made me smile, and Handel became my favorite of the bunch. I think I just fell in love with the soul of the Baroque era of Germany in a lot of ways!
        I wish I could play the piano but I never had the dedication to continue on when my dad would start to teach me! I always just preferred ballet dancing (badly) around to whatever my dad was playing on the piano!

        Like

      5. I played piano since 4th grade and I did stop at the end of high school.

        Back in 2014, my piano teacher taught me how to play Les Mis on the piano. What was cool about playing those songs is I know them so well that I could easily put emotion into the songs. I could learn each of them in like a period of two weeks. I never had more fun playing piano than playing those Les Mis songs

        Like

      6. That’s awesome! To this day, I (embarrassingly) can only play “Ode to Joy” and “Mary Had a Little Lamb”…. I always hated playing “Ode to Joy” on the piano because I never could get it out of my head how much better it was with a whole symphony playing it. Circa 2010, I really wanted to start working on piano again because my uncle had just passed away and he was my church’s organist. Unfortunately, I never had the aptitude for it, I guess. The only instrument I can play is the recorder (yeah…) and well, if you count it, my voice. I always preferred singing to playing.

        Like

      7. I found a way to be able to sing some of the Les Mis songs while playing them on the piano. I have been able to do that for On My Own and I Dreamed a Dream for sure. Each time I go back to Charlotte when on break, I tend to practice the songs in order to not forget how to play them

        Like

      8. That’s super cool! Man, I wish I could do that! Usually I’m just stuck singing along to whatever my dad is playing on the piano. (Shockingly, I think that learning to sing all of these Baroque era music has helped with my German learning.) But man… I wish I could actually play the music too! Especially Les Miz songs! Man, that’d be awesome!

        Like

      9. In a lot of songs growing up in order to learn, I had to play a lot of songs I didn’t know so it was harder to know how they were supposed to sound.

        So with Les Mis, there was the advantage of knowing the songs so well. That was why I knew how to put emotion into the songs and my love for the musical

        Like

      10. That 100% makes sense to me. Sometimes I have similar problems during choir practice when we’re singing new things. Knowing the material definitely makes it easier! I suppose that the same would have to go with the actual playing of the music! Les Miz would definitely be a fun one to play on the piano. Have you heard Lindsey Stirling’s Les Miz medley?

        Like

      11. My sister doesn’t like when I play Les Mis on the piano. She has called me a terrible piano player and a terrible singer when I play it. Its just she just isn’t that into musicals. She thinks I play it way too much

        Like

      12. My brother is kind of the same way! My mom doesn’t like it when I use my earbuds at home because she thinks it’ll cause eqr damage so she tells me just to put in one of my CDs into the CD player. My brother hates it though and always tells me that I play the same CDs over and over again way too much

        Like

      13. It drives me nuts and sure distracts me. But I don’t care because she is not going to stop me from loving Les Mis. If I see Les Mis in December, at most it will only be 3/4 or us and if I see King and I in my summer, it will be at most 3/4 of us and it is only 3/4 of us when the time comes in September for my first experience of seeing Rent live

        Like

      14. Yesterday, my dad and I were watching the movie version of Oliver! while my mom and my sister were out at my sister’s school and my brother was less than enthusiastic. But about 3/4 of the way through, he started watching and I’m 98% sure he was enjoying it. But… all the same, my brother claims to dislike musicals. When I go to see musicals live, I usually go with either my dad or my mom and sometimes my sister.

        Like

      15. I think my sister loves musicals more than she is really to admit. I think part of that comes from me being a musical fanatic. Last year, she actually wanted to see Newsies after hearing it was a Disney musical and mom took my sister and me to see Sound of Music two years ago.

        When I see musicals live, I sometimes have dates with mom and that dynamic has happened four times. I also went on a date with dad to see Wicked because I wanted him to see it. It also has been the entire family. My sister does not me to love everything that she likes

        Like

      16. I agree. My brother, I think, is a tad embarrassed to admit he does like musicals. The other day, I took him to the park and it started raining (typical Seattle weather) so I went to tell him it was time to go home and he said, “Hey, look, I’m Javert!” as he was walking across these cement blocks that had been lsin down. He was also singing Javert’s Soliloquy. I definitely, definitely think that my brother actually likes musicals but that he just doesn’t want to admit it

        Like

      17. My sister doesn’t even like that I love playing piano as well. She always believes that she is better at playing than me. She is better at reading music, but I am better at adding emotion and I do struggle to read music

        Like

      18. My sister is more-or-less okay with my constant playing of musicals on the CD player. In fact, since we share a room, she likes to pick out the CDs we listen to. My brother says that he hates it but I don’t really believe him. One time, I was watching Les Miz with my parents after my siblings had gone to sleep and during “A Heart Full of Love” I caught my brother lurking in the hallway, just watching the movie. That kinda made me smile

        Like

      19. Because we have to memorize lyrics for choir, learning lyrics has always been relatively easy for me. One time, I couldn’t sleep so I sang all of the songs in Phantom really quietly to myself. I was pretty shocked that I had memorized all of the lyrics, forgetting only some of the words

        Like

      20. I recognize several lyrics from Les Mis, but cannot sing along to all of the songs. Some songs I try to sing along to, but find myself not able to even if I know all the lyrics to those songs.

        Like

      21. It is crazy that I am singing to heartbreaking songs when I am happy. I just so caught up in the character’s emotions that I end up feeling heartbroken too, but I am so aware that I am feeling that way due to the character’s emotions

        Like

      22. The funny thing is sometimes I can almost feel a weight on my heart just listening to certain songs. And certain lyrics just get me to collapse (usually more figuratively than literally). It’s amazing how musicals can effect me like that

        Like

Leave a Reply

