My Favorite Musical Theatre Songs of All Time!

Guten morgen, alles! So, I’ve got a lot of homework to do + preparing for a state competition that I’ve got in April! So I’m doing what I hope will be a pretty simple, fun post for me to make! I’m talking about my all-time, all-around favorite songs from musicals! These are, for the most part, in no particular order and are mostly just written down in the order they come to mind! Los geht’s!
· “Ich Gehör Nur Mir” [I Belong (Only) to Me] from ELISABETH – This was the first song from ELISABETH that I ever listened to and I fell in love with it immediately. After listening to the German version, I immediately went to see if there was an English version, and sure enough, there was! While I still like the German version better, there are definitely beautiful lyrics that come along with the English version! My favorite lyric from the English version is “I’m here when you need me, I’ll live and I’ll die with you. I’ll share all your troubles, I’ll laugh and I’ll cry with you. You can blame me and bless me but you cannot possess me because I belong to me.” I feel like that pretty much sums Sisi up perfectly!

· “Memory” from CATS – I think that “Memory” is commonly regarded as one of the greatest musical songs of all time and with good cause. It’s a beautiful song that tugs at the heartstrings. It’s a song that one just can’t get out of their mind. And it’s a song that is just so stunningly beautiful and haunting in a way. I’m just utterly in love with this song [and this musical].

· “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” from LES MISÉRABLES – While I’m always grappling to come to decision on what my favorite LES MIZ song is, I think that I have come to a pretty solid consensus with myself that “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” is my favorite LES MIZ song. The emotion in this song is just phenomenal and seeing this scene on Broadway was one of the best theatre experiences that I’d ever had.

· “Die Schatten Werden Länger” + reprise [The Shadows Grow Longer] from ELISABETH – So, here, I’m talking about both the original version of the song and the reprise that comes in during Act II. This song is so hauntingly beautiful. Man… I love it. It’s a song that I never, ever get tired of listening to and it’s one that gets stuck in my head all the time. It was also this song that got me through the regional competition I suffered through yesterday for hours! It’s a song that’s so beautiful and sad but also so… honest.

· “With One Look” from SUNSET BOULEVARD – If you’re looking for a classic musical theatre, beautiful, beautiful song, then “With One Look” is probably the perfect song for you. Because it fits the criteria well… perfectly. SUNSET BOULEVARD is a ridiculously beautifully scored musical and this song is just the crown jewel. Man… I love this song to pieces. The emotion in it is heartbreaking yet elegant and dignified at the same time. It’s everything that one could possibly want from a song.

· “A Little Fall of Rain” from LES MISÉRABLES – There are many, many death scenes in LES MIZ but because of this song, I think that Éponine’s is one of the ones that sticks out the most to me. This song makes her death sweeter and easier to cope with than the book does while keeping the same sort of feel and I think that that’s awesome. It’s a very, very fitting song for the musical version of Éponine… but maybe not so much for the book version.

· “Grizabella, the Glamour Cat” from CATS – I get chills every time I listen to this song. And well… I feel like this was the first song from CATS that I just fell head-over-heels in love with. There are so many things about this song that I just adore. For one thing, I love the eerie, haunting tone and lyrics. And the symbolism of all of the cats turning away from her and shunning her is so strong. There are also just so many great lines and lyrics that I’ve just fallen utterly in love with this song.

· “On My Own” from LES MISÉRABLES – “On My Own” is one of those songs that really made it easy for Éponine to become one of my favorite LES MIZ characters. The emotions are so strong in it and it’s just utterly phenomenal. I’m also super in love with the German version, “Nur Für Mich” [Only For Myself] because it’s got some super amazing lines that just sum Éponine’s unrequited love for Marius perfectly. Take, for example, “Ja, ich weiß er hat mich übersehen. Ganz egal, ich muss zu ihm stehen.” (“Yeah, I know he overlooked me. I don’t care, I must stand beside him.”) Doesn’t that just explain the whole situation perfectly? I think it does.

· “As Long as He Needs Me” from OLIVER! – “As Long as He Needs Me” is a song that’s pretty similar to “On My Own” in a lot of ways. And, in a lot of ways, I think that Nancy is very much like Éponine as well. “As Long as He Needs Me” is one that I didn’t quite understand as a young’un but now just love to death. It’s a song that I just never can quite get out of my mind and it’s just utterly phenomenal. I love, love, love it.

· “Reviewing the Situation” from OLIVER! – I remember being stunned by Ron Moody’s performance as Fagin from the first time I watched OLIVER! when I was five years old. Fagin was a character that left a lasting impact on me from that first time even up ‘til now and I think that a lot of that is due to “Reviewing the Situation”. It was a song unlike any I’d ever heard before, being full of comical acting and lyrics. And man… I’ve been in love with it ever since.

· “Happiness” from SCROOGE – Want to know what’s ironic? That this song is called “Happiness” but it’s one of the saddest moments of the musical. Yeah. That’s right. I’m not even kidding. But… it’s still a great song. And it’s a scene that gets the tears flowing almost instantaneously. But man… it’s a beautiful song.

· “Thank You Very Much Reprise” from SCROOGE – There are some songs that are just always stuck in my head. All the time. And this is one of those songs. Seriously. Every time I say the words “Thank you very much” I’m seriously worried that I’ll break into song at any moment. And those words alone are enough to get my friends to stare at me wide-eyed as if to say “Don’t you dare…”

· “I’m Not That Girl” from WICKED – I think that this was the song that really helped me connect to Elphaba for the first time. Up until this point, I feel like Elphaba seemed kinda distant to me. But due to this song, she’s become one of my all-time favorite characters.

· “Wenn Ich Tanzen Will” [If I Want to Dance] from ELISABETH – I’m literally giggling right now and I’m actually not sure why. This song just makes me really giddy and happy. I love, love, love it. It’s just so much fun. And oh, the puppet imagery. Yes, I’m still obsessed with it.

· “G.E.K.U.P.P.E.LT” [C.O.U.P.L.E.D / U.N.C.O.U.P.L.E.D] from STARLIGHT EXPRESS – While I do love the English version of the song, “U.N.C.O.U.P.L.E.D”, there’s something about “G.E.K.U.P.P.E.L.T.” that I love even more. Maybe it’s the way its sung, or maybe it’s the way in which the German version seems to really show the stronger side of Dinah. But it’s a really, really great song that I just absolutely adore. It’s this song that has really made me want to play Dinah one day (even though it’ll never happen and it’s just a dream)!

· “Tell Me On a Sunday” from SONG AND DANCE – This song always pulls the tears out of me. It’s that kind of song. And I just absolutely love it. It’s one of the best things in the world, I think. “Tell Me On a Sunday” is one of those songs that I think is just s inspiring and never fails to amaze me. I just love, love, love it. And that crescendo at the end is my literal favorite.

· “Unexpected Song” from SONG AND DANCE – Did I mention that I love SONG AND DANCE yet? Well… I love, love, love it. And “Unexpected Song” was one of the first songs from the musical that I just fell head-over-heels in love with. It’s one of those songs that just makes one want to smile at the sweetness of it. It’s one of those songs that you can’t ever quite get out of your mind and it’s definitely on my playlist that I listen to every day!

· “Palace Walls” from ALADDIN – I feel like ALADDIN is one of Disney’s Broadway musicals that doesn’t get nearly enough credit. I absolutely love finding those songs that Disney adds to their musicals when they make the Broadway transition and “Palace Walls” is one of my favorite songs of that genre. The hope and dreaming that Jasmine expresses here is one of those things that makes this song great.

· “On the Steps of the Palace” from INTO THE WOODS – One of the things that I love about this song is how much thought and emotion Cinderella really displays here and her uncertainty and overanalyzing of the situation is actually pretty relatable. “On the Steps of the Palace” probably can hold the title of my favorite INTO THE WOODS song pretty easily and I just really, really love it!

· “Proud of Your Boy” from ALADDIN – Aladdin is probably one of my favorite Disney characters of all time. “Proud of Your Boy” is a song that I’m pretty upset didn’t make it into the movie. The emotions displayed here is one of the best things I’ve seen from Disney… ever. And I’m still absolutely in love with it. Just the way the song is delivered too—in having Aladdin be talking to his mother and father—is one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen.

· “Elisabeth, Mach Auf [Mein Engel]” [Elisabeth, My Angel, Open Up] from ELISABETH – As of late, I’ve been super duper obsessed with this song—especially the der Tod parts. There’s just something about the way in which he sings his part that just gives me chills. But also, there’s the fact that I think that this song is one of the moments in which Sisi shows her strength the most and I really, really love that. Not to mention that the lyrics are absolutely beautiful!

· “Der Schleier Fällt” [The Veil Descends] from ELISABETH – “Der Schleier Fällt” is actually probably my all-time favorite song… ever. It’s a song that I absolutely adore. The lyrics are absolutely beautiful and I just love this scene. This scene is one of the most beautiful scenes that I’ve ever seen. And the lyrics “Die Welt sucht verbegens, den sinn meines lebens. Denn ich gehör nur mir.” (“The world is searching in vain for the meaning of my life. Because I belong only to me.”) just really speak to me as a person who really loves history.

· “Rudolf, Wo Bist Du? / Totenklage” [Rudolf, Where Are You? / Death Sentence] from ELISABETH – Well, for one thing, I love the title. “Totenklage” is very fitting here and well… “Rudolf, Wo Bist Du?” as a title is absolutely heartrending. But the song is also absolutely beautiful. I absolutely love all of the ways in which this song displays emotion and overall hurt. It’s absolutely phenomenal in way that I just really can’t fully describe.

· “Einladung Zum Ball” [Invitation to the Ball] from TANZ DER VAMPIRE – This was the first song from TANZ DER VAMPIRE that really got me on board with the musical! I just absolutely loved Krolock’s character from the moment he appeared onstage and I thought that he was absolutely hilarious (whether or not he was supposed to be or not I’m uncertain) but I think that his sarcasm is absolutely amazing. I mean… how can one not laugh when a vampire appears in front of a person and just casually says “Guten Abend, hab’ vor mir keine angst.” (“Good evening, don’t be afraid of me.”)?

· “Totale Finsternis” [Total Darkness] from TANZ DER VAMPIRE – If one listens to “Totale Finsternis”, they might think “Wait, I’ve heard this song before… and in English!” Well… that’s highly plausible as the song “Total Eclipse of the Heart” has become pretty famous. It’s essentially the same song but with different lyrics. The composer of TANZ DER VAMPIRE wrote the music for “Total Eclipse of the Heart” and used the music for “Totale Finsternis”. The lyrics are quite a bit different though!

· “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA – PHANTOM is full of absolutely beautiful, stunning songs but “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” is the song that I generally deem the one that is full of the most emotion and feeling. And man, I love it. This song makes me cry all of the time and I just absolutely love it!

· “Think of Me” from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA – The first song from PHANTOM that I fell in love with was “Think of Me”. It’s just got this beautiful, operatic sound and I just fell in love with it instantly. It’s a song that really just tells a story—a story that is parallel to the story of PHANTOM in many ways—and I think it’s absolutely beautiful!

· “All I Ask of You” from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA – One of my favorite love songs of all time (and there are a lot of them) is “All I Ask of You”. As a person who really, really loves Raoul as a character, I think that this song just really displays his feelings for Christine really well and I just really, really love this song. All of the elements of this scene together just really forms a masterpiece, I think.

· “Too Much in Love to Care” from SUNSET BOULEVARD – “Too Much in Love to Care” is a love song that I just absolutely adore. It’s so sweet and it’s so perfect! I think it’s one of the cutest, most beautiful love songs that I’ve ever heard in my life! It really well-demonstrates and displays young love, I think and it’s one of the best things in the world, I think! I just really love this song—I don’t know what more I can say about it.

· “Gott Deine Kinder” [God, Your Children / God Help the Outcasts] from THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME – While I do really love the English version, “God Help the Outcasts” (I think it’s one of the most beautiful songs of all time), I think that there’s something about the translation of the German version that is just more full of feeling (if you can believe it) and seems almost more heartfelt (again, if you can believe it). I highly recommend giving it a listen! I think that you’ll really love it.

· “Ich Bin Ganz Nah Dran” [I’m So Close / I’m Almost There] from THE PRINCESS AND THE FROG – Cassandra Steen is literally one of the best German dub actresses I have ever come across! She sings this song so perfectly and I’m literally just in love with the way in which she sings it. To me, she’s the perfect casting for Tiana and I just never get sick of listening to this version. You can practically hear her smiling and it’s so infectious!

· “Geschichten” [Stories] from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST: THE ENCHANTED CHRISTMAS – Along the same line of favorite German dub actresses, I just absolutely adore Jana Werner’s voice! She’s literally the perfect casting for Belle, I think and this song is the perfect example of that, I think. I absolutely love it. As much as I love the original, English version, I think that there’s something about this version that just holds something deeper about it in a way and yet… not. It’s kinda tough to explain. But mostly, I just like the singing in the German version better.

· “If I Can’t Love Her” from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST – I’m still highly disappointed by the fact that the new movie does not have “If I Can’t Love Her”. It’s one of my favorite songs and it was one of the things that I was most looking forward to when I heard that the new movie was coming out. But, no matter! It’s still one of my favorite songs of all time and what I believe is one of the most beautiful Disney songs.

· “A Change in Me” from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST – “A Change in Me” is a song that shows great character growth on the part of Belle and it’s growth that we don’t really get to see happen in the movie version. Which is a pity because it’s a beautiful song and demonstrates great and powerful growth.

· “Alle Tanzten Mit Dem Tod” [Everyone Has Danced With Death] from ELISABETH – This song can practically sum up the whole idea of ELISABETH. The line “Alle tanzten mit dem Tod doch niemand wie Elisabeth” (“Everyone has danced with Death but no one like Elisabeth”) practically the whole story. Well… minus all of the other things. But it’s just a really good, phenomenal opener.

· “Confrontation” from JEKYLL & HYDE – There are few scenes in musical theatre that I think can compete with JEKYLL & HYDE’S “Confrontation”. It’s an absolutely amazing, thrilling scene and the music is hauntingly epic as well. It’s a scene that you can never quite forget because it’s that amazing. This song is why I think that the words “musical thriller” describe JEKYLL & HYDE more-or-less perfectly.

· “Take Me as I Am” from JEKYLL & HYDE – More love songs? Yes, please! “Take Me as I Am” is a song that I could listen to on repeat for hours and hours on end and never quite get tired of. I love songs like this where the emotions of the characters just really seep through the melody and the lyrics as well!

· “Träum Groß” [Dream Big] from SCHIKANEDER – I’m just really in love with SCHIKANEDER (if you couldn’t tell) and its classical style is one of those things that I just really, really love about it. But it’s not just the classical style that I love, though. It’s the feeling and the lyrics that I love too. The words “träum groß” practically describes Emanuel Schikaneder perfectly, I think. But his ambition and love of life just really, really shows through in this song.

· “No One Knows Who I Am” from JEKYLL & HYDE – Lucy Harris is one of those characters that I just love to death. She’s one of those characters that I always feel bad for and this song pretty much shows all of that. No one really knows who Lucy is and that just breaks my heart.

· “Lass Mich Nicht Dich Lieben” [Don’t Let Me Love You / Please Don’t Make Me Love You] from DRACULA – The emotional struggle here that Mina is suffering through is really interesting and I think it’s one of the stronger parts of the musical. It’s one of those songs that is just really, really addicting and beautiful. The lyrics are pretty strong—maybe a little overly dramatic at times—and are really beautiful, I think.

· “Finale / I Can’t Recall Reprise” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – There are few songs that an make me cry like this one. The way in which Sydney Carton processes everything and his calmness even at the foot of the guillotine is absolutely amazing. Not to mention the absolutely chilling feeling that I get every time “I Can’t Recall” begins to play again.

· “Reflection” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – Sydney Carton’s expressions of how he’s feeling in this song is the perfect example of how amazing songs can be from musicals. He lays all of his emotions and feelings out there for the audience to see and hear for themselves and I think that that’s just amazing. Not to mention that this song gets Sydney’s character down pact.

· “In His Eyes” from JEKYLL & HYDE “Love is worth forgiving for” has become one of my favorite lines of all time due to this song. I don’t really know what more to say… but I just love, love it. Both Lucy and Emma / Lisa’s feelings are laid out there and I think that it’s absolutely amazing.

· “Never Say Goodbye” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – I love this song. It’s full of so much feeling and lament but also so much strength and I think that that’s one of the greatest things in the world. Lucie here is the Lucie Manette that I’ve always thought was sweet but also strong in her own right.

· “As Good as You” from JANE EYRE – Mr. Rochester’s feelings are kind of well… confusing. To say the least. But this song actually sums it up pretty nicely! But some of the lines are so heartbreaking… but they’re beautiful. I highly recommend listening to this song. It’s highly addicting though, so beware!

· “Do You Hear the People Sing” from LES MISÉRABLES – And finally, we’ve landed at one of the first songs that I was ever obsessed with. “Do You Hear the People Sing” was the first song from LES MIZ that I really was able to appreciate I think and I still love it to this day!

###

Whew! That turned out to be a longer post than I was expecting but it was still a lot of fun! What are some of your favorite musical songs of all time? Tschüss!

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Musical Theatre Songs of All Time!

  1. It is quite difficult to figure out what some of the best musical songs of all time is because there are just so wonderful songs dealing with this massive range of emotions. I will just include my favorite song from certain musicals, but for some might include more than one.

    Cats: Memory
    Phantom of the Opera: Music of the Night, All I Ask of You
    Sound of Music: Edelweiss, My Favorite Things, Do Re Mi, Something Good
    Rent: Seasons of Love
    Pippin: Corner of the Sky, Magic to Do
    South Pacific: Some Enchanted Evening, There is Nothing Like a Dame
    Les Mis (too hard to pick): On my Own, A Little Fall of Rain, Do You Hear the People Sing, Stars, Bring Him Home, Drink With Me, I Dreamed a Dream
    Wicked: Popular, For Good, As Long as Your’e Mine, Wizard and I, What is This Feeling, I’m Not That Girl
    Annie: Tomorrow
    Newsies: Seize the Day, The World Will Know, Carrying the Banner, Something to Believe In
    Man of La Mancha: The Impossible Dream
    Music Man: Seventy Six Trombones
    Singing in the Rain: Singing in the Rain

    Still there are just so many wonderful musical songs

    Like

      1. I feel like the type of song I loved the most from elementary school to high school were those songs which started out slow and then eventually sped up. Excitement was the emotion I remembered the most at that time in my life and that emotion and is the only emotion that is still felt exactly the same way

        Like

      2. I remember associating musicals with the exciting numbers and those songs are what I referred to as full of life. Now full of life refers to entire show.

        The other three main emotions of those days: joy, love, sad have changed a lot.

        Like

      3. Joy, love, and sad all connect to heartbreak, the newest main emotion. Think of it, some of the heartbreaking songs have joy in it, there are heartbreaking love songs, and sad can be in the form of heartbreak

        Like

      4. Les Mis by far is the most meaningful musical of the most recent years. Discovering heartbreak through Les Mis is one of the best things ever. Heartbreak is a tough emotion to deal with in a musical, but is quit beautiful, fragile and vulnerable and so glad that the emotion decided to become known in a musical

        Like

Leave a Reply

