“Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” /  “Könntest du doch wieder bei mir sein” Analysis | THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA 

Guten Morgen, alles!

So, today, I’m bringing you my analysis of “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” / “Könntest du doch wieder bei mir sein” [Could You be With Me Again] from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA! I think it’s a beautiful song in general, but the two translations each have some stunning lyrics that I just adore!

###

“You were once my one companion You were all that mattered You were once a friend and father Then my world was shattered.”

So, here we get a little bit of insight as to what Christine’s life must’ve been like pre-opera house. And well… it sounds like her world was relatively small and that would most certainly explain her naïve nature that she displays throughout the musical. However, we see that her close bubble was shattered when her father died.

“Du allein warst mein Beschützer, Inhalt meines Lebens. Du warst mir ein Freund und Vater, Jetzt ruf ich vergebens.” [You alone were my protector, [the] content of my life. You were a friend and father to me, Now I call [for you] in vain.]

Here, I think that it’s interesting that in the German version, we’ve already got Christine pleading with her father for help. We see this same sort of thing going on in the English version as well, just later on.

“Wishing you were somehow here again Wishing you were somehow near Sometimes it seemed if I just dreamed Somehow you would be here.”
And here, we get to see Christine wishing that she could go back to that world of hers in which nothing could possibly go wrong. In which everything was alright. And then, we see that Christine wishes that her father was back with her. And well… that’s understandable. But if we’re meshing the two versions together, we already know that that’s likely because she seeks his guidance (as well as also his friendship).

“Könntest du doch wieder bei mir sein Seit du fort bist leb’ ich kaum. Oft schien es mir, ich wär bei dir doch es war nur ein Traum.” [Could you be with me again? Since you are gone, I hardly live. Often it seemed to me I was with you But it was just a dream.]

What I really like here is the phrase “Seit du fort bist leb’ ich kaum” [Since you are gone, I hardly live]. This leads me to believe that Christine’s life at the opera house has been pretty miserable. However, maybe she’s just realizing this with all of the Phantom stuff going on as of late and her being at the center of it? I don’t know if it’s just me but one of the biggest arguments against the Phantom x Christine relationship is presented in that line alone. With the Phantom, she feels restrained. She can’t live. Not in the way she wants to because he’ll dictate her every move. And in so many ways, he wants to make her nothing but one of his possessions. He doesn’t want her to have freedom. But anyways…

“Wishing I could hear your voice again Knowing that I never would Dreaming of you won’t help me to do All that you dreamed I could.”

So here, we get the impression that Christine’s father had pretty high expectations of her while he was still alive. And even if that were not true, Christine feels that way. She feels as if she’s doing him some sort of an injustice. She feels like she’s not doing enough. And seeing as this comes right after the “Twisted Every Way” scene, one might think that she’s speaking of the moral dilemma she’s facing in regards to Don Juan Triumphant and Raoul’s plan to catch the Phantom.

“Deiner Stimme Klang fehlt mir so sehr, Früher warst du doch so nah. Träumen allein hilft mir nicht zu sein, Wie mich dein Ehrgeiz sah.” [I miss your voice so much, You used to be so close. Dreaming alone does not help me To see how your ambition saw me.]
Now, here, we get to see the word “ambition” thrown in there. In a way, the tone of the German version here seems almost… accusatory in a way? As if she somewhat resents the ambition that her father had for her and then him “leaving her” to figure out how to fulfill everything he dreamed of for her on her own. But maybe I’m reading into it too much?

“Passing bells and sculpted angels Cold and monumental Seem for you the wrong companions You were warm and gentle.”

There’s not really too much to talk about here. We just get a characterization of her father as being a kind, warm person. And it’s put in contrast with the cold, dark graveyard. Christine seems to find his death as being unfair and not right in this stanza.

“Kreuze, Moos und Friedhofsengel, Steinern, stumm und schmerzlich. Wie bist du hierher geraten? Du warst weich und herzlich.” [Crosses, moss, and cemetery- Stealing, silent and painful. How did you get here? You were soft and dear.]

Just some more of the same. However, I do like the question: “How did you get here?” expressed in the words “Wie bist du hierher greaten?” One thing that I really enjoy about the German translation is that it very much feels like she’s having a conversation with her father. You get the same sort of feel from the English version as well, but something about that aspect just doesn’t seem as strong to me.

“Too many years fighting back tears Why can’t the past just die? Wishing you were somehow here again Knowing we must say goodbye.”

Christine here, wishes that she could just let go of the past [maybe due to those expectations her father held over her still hanging over her head?]. And yet, she wishes that her father were with her again “knowing that they must say goodbye”. To me, it sounds like she wants closure.

“Wie lang muss ich weinen um dich? Kann ich mich nie befreien? Könntest du doch wieder bei mir sein, Mich verstehn und mich befreien.” [How long do I have to cry for you? Can I never free myself? Could you be with me again? Understand me and free me.]

In the German translation, we definitely do get a sort of frustration with the fact that she cannot let go of the memory of her father and she still holds him so close. She feels that she cannot ever be free whilst she is still crying for him. She wants her father to understand her and to let her go. She feels as if his spirit is holding onto her in some way and she wants to be free of it. Now, I think that in a way, she’s speaking to the Phantom here. For so many years, she believed that the Phantom was the spirit of her father in the form of the Angel of Music. Perhaps she’s begging for the Phantom to understand her plight and to just let her go.

“Try to forgive, teach me to live Give me the strength to try. No more memories, no more silent tears No more gazing across the wasted years.”

Here, Christine just wants, more than anything, to be able to be strong. She wants to be able to break free of the chains that are binding her to the past. She wants to be able to forgive the past and move on with her life.

“Nimm was zerann und gib mir dann Kraft um allein zu sein. Keine Tränen mehr, keine Bitterkeit, Keine Trauer um längst verlor’ne Zeit,” [Take what’s been spoiled and give me then Power to be alone. No more tears, no bitterness, No grief for long lost time,]
And here, we see some more of that. She wants to be able to just let go of the past and to be able to stop grieving over it as we see in the words “No grief for long lost time” expressed in the words “Keine Trauer um längst verlor’ne Zeit.”
“Help me say goodbye Help me say goodbye.”

Christine wants to be able to say a definitive goodbye. And here, I suppose that the supposition could be made that she’s speaking both to the Phantom and to her father here. She wants to be able to leave them both in the past and say “goodbye” but this proves to be immensely difficult for her.

“Hilf mir stark zu sein, Hilf mir stark zu sein!” [Help me to be strong, Help me to be strong!]

In the German translation, we get a little bit of a different feel. In the German translation, it’s clear that she’s addressing her father here and not the Phantom. But she is asking for his help to make her strong so that she can stand up to the Phantom and say goodbye to him.
###

Whew! And that’s done! Hope this was interesting! What do you think of the two translations? Vielen dank und tschüss!

30 thoughts on ““Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” /  “Könntest du doch wieder bei mir sein” Analysis | THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA 

  1. This is a beautiful song. I never viewed the song in this way. I still am kind of struggling with understanding the characters in this musical. I love Christine as a character and honestly have no idea why

    Like

      1. I first listened to Phantom’s songs on Pandora after I requested the songs after my mom recommended it in 2013. I automatically wanted to see the stage and first saw the plot come alive through the 25th anniversary special film and still wanted to see it live.

        Christmas 2013: Santa gave me and my mom ticket to see Phantom. We were in orchestra about 17-19 rows back. Mom said I was spellbound the moment the show began. Favorite moment: falling of chandelier. This production left me choked up

        Like

      2. That’s super awesome! I’ve seen Phantom twice live and it’s definitely one of my favorite shows to see live. The experience is absolutely one of a kind! And I totally agree. The chandelier falling is just one of the most amazing parts of the show and in my opinion, such a perfect Act I finale!

        Like

      3. Perfect opening: referring to the chandelier revealing itself. Perfect act 1 ending. I did not even move until the chandelier fell. I was caught under the Phantom’s spell

        Like

      4. Still have a hard time understanding Phantom’s plot. Crazy how Wicked, Les Mis, and Wicked used to be tied with one another because the best love triangles come from the three

        Like

      5. That’s true! I think that Phantom’s plot definitely is highly complex and I uncovered some more of the complexity that before, I hadn’t noticed while writing this post. I think that the plot of Phantom has many layers and sides to it that can be found in the lyrics of the songs if one digs deep enough!

        Like

      6. Yeah, that’s true! It can be hard because so much of the Phantom’s end of things is founded and based on lies and deceit. And Christine, while knowing that all of the “Angel of Music” stuff is nothing but lies, she’s still struggling through it and struggling to find what is the right thing to do

        Like

      7. That’s true! I think that the tough thing about the Phantom love triangle is that one of the characters in the triangle is an antagonist–something that one does not often see with other love triangles

        Like

      8. Exactly. You believe it will always be Glinda and Fiyero, but it actually became Elphaba and Fiyero. That is why Elphaba and Fiyero are my favorite musical couple. Also of all three, love all the characters who are involved

        Like

      9. Yep, that pretty much sums it up! I’ve always found it especially hard to like the Phantom. I mean, I feel bad for him. What he suffered through shouldn’t happen to anyone but at the same time, it just doesn’t excuse all of the bad things he does. And personally, I will never be on board with all the manipulating he does with Christine. But he definitely is a character to be pitied.

        Like

      1. Yeah, I’d probably put them in the same order. However, Phantom’s love triangle is the one I get the most exposure to as my friend and I often talk about the dynamics of that love triangle and analyze it

        Like

Leave a Reply

