Musical Theatre Favorites| TAG

Guten Morgen, leute!

Can’t believe that it’s Maundy Thursday already! Lent’s flown by!Anyways, I was watching some BookTube videos last night and came across Little Book Owl’s “Fictional Favorites” video and I thought that it would be fun to do except, instead of it being about books, it’d be about musicals! I’m also doing the book version over on my reading blog which you can find over at: https://pleadingforwords.wordpress.com/2017/04/13/fictional-favorites-tag/! Anyways, los geht’s!

FAVOURITE MUSIC STYLE

Personally, I like really classical stuff. However, my favorite musical style is probably metal meets classical. Really, I’m willing to give most every style a try!

FAVOURITE COMPOSER

Okay, so, I think that my favorite composer is probably either Andrew Lloyd Webber or Stephen Schwartz. Those two always consistently compose great songs that I love and adore! Oh, and how could I forget Frank Wildhorn? Frank Wildhorn, I think is so underrated but his music is always amazing. Love his music (actually listening to one of his songs right now)!

Stephen Schwartz with the cast of SCHIKANEDER (Photo Cred: aus Mark Seibert’s Facebook)

FAVOURITE STORYLINE

When it comes to storyline, I must say that LES MISÉRABLES and ELISABETH take the helm. Those two have utterly beautiful storylines. Though I will say that THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA’s storyline has quite captured my heart. It’s something that I’ve analyzed many times and it definitely does have a stunning story.

Annemieke van Dam and Mark Seibert in ELISABETH

FAVOURITE LAND OR ENVIRONMENT

So, is there any other answer but Oz from WICKED that I can put down for this? I don’t think so! Oz in WICKED is so wonderfully developed and I absolutely love it! Though I must say that I also quite like the junkyard in CATS as well!

FAVOURITE LINE

So, this is really tough for me to answer because there are so many good lines. And, besides, words are my passion! I love words! But I think that, at the moment, the lines at the top of the leaderboard are probably: “Die Welt sucht vergebens denn sinn meines lebens. Den ich gehör nur mir!” [The world is searching in vain for the meaning of my life because I belong to me!] and “And remember the truth that once was spoken: to love another person is to see the face of God…”

Annemieke van Dam and Mark Seibert in ELISABETH (Der Schleier Fällt)

FAVOURITE BEAST OR CREATURE

Hmm… this is kind of tough because I’m struggling to think of a beast or a creature from musical theatre… And I can’t really say the Beast from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST because he’s actually a human. Hmm. Well, I guess that I’ll go with Krolock’s henchman from TANZ DER VAMPIRE. Does he count as a creature? I’m not sure…

FAVOURITE LOCATION (SPECIFIC SET PIECE)

So, for this, I have to go ahead and say the Barricade from LES MIZ, the Phantom’s lair from PHANTOM, or Krolock’s castle (specifically the ballroom) from TANZ DER VAMPIRE.

Barricade from LES MIZ
Phantom Oberhausen, Germany Production

FAVOURITE COSTUME

I absolutely love costumes and there are so many that I could put down for this one but I’ll just list a few. Christine’s “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” dress from PHANTOM, Sisi’s “Wenn ich tanzen will” dress from ELISABETH, Enjolras’ vest from LES MIZ, and Sarah’s “Totale Finstenis” dress from TANZ DER VAMPIRE.

Anna O’Byrne as Christine
Wenn ich tanzen will aus ELISABETH
Chris Durling as Enjolras
Mercedesz Csampai as Sarah

FAVOURITE GOOD CHARACTER

So, I’m taking this one to mean just a character that I like who is good. Doesn’t necessarily need to be a main character.

For this one, I’m going to go ahead and say Raoul de Chagny from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA. Seriously. Raoul is a really, really good guy. It’s such a pity that so many people overlook that.

Toby Joch as Raoul (Phantom, Oberhausen, Germany)

FAVOURITE BAD/EVIL CHARACTER

This is kinda tough because I don’t generally like bad characters but I’m going to go ahead and say Hyde from JEKYLL & HYDE. Hyde is well… the embodiment of evil. And well, he’s got some of the best villain songs that I have ever, ever heard in my entire life. Seriously.

FAVOURITE MALE PROTAGANIST

Jean Valjean, who else? Jean Valjean, I think, is highly underrated. A lot of people overlook him, I think, and that’s totally unfair! Valjean is quite possibly one of the best male protagonists of all time!

Ramin Karimloo as Jean Valjean

Oh, but you know, I think that I might throw Sydney Carton onto this list. Because Sydney deserves a lot more credit than he gets, I think!

James Barbour as Sydney Carton

FAVOURITE FEMALE PROTAGANIST

Well, Sisi from ELISABETH, of course! Sisi was one of those characters that I fell in love with immediately. She’s easy for me to relate to and I love her so much!

Annemieke van Dam as Sisi in ELISABETH

But I think that Nancy from OLIVER! definitely deserves a shoutout here! After all, she was probably my first ever favorite fictional character!

Ruthie Henshall as Nancy

###

This was a lot of fun! What are your musical theatre favorites? If you’re interested in seeing my book edition of this tag, you can check out my reading / writing blog (link above in the intro)! Vielen dank und tschüss!

4 thoughts on “Musical Theatre Favorites| TAG

  1. I do agree OZ is the best place a musical has taken place. OZ is a big reason why Wicked is still spectacular and Elphaba is my favorite female character and protagonist because she is my favorite musical character. Boy, my favorite composer might have be maybe Stephen Swartz or whoever is the composer in Rodgers and Hammerstein or maybe Alan Menken, well honestly hard decision. Favorite storyline: definitely either Wicked or Les Mis due to both being tied

    Like

    1. Yep! Oz is absolutely spectacular and one of the reasons I fell in love with Wicked in the first place! I think Rodgers is the composer but I could be wrong! I can’t believe I forgot to put him down on my list! Alan Menken is also definitely amazing!

      Like

      1. There are multiple reasons why I fell in love with Wicked in the first and why it has had so much impact on my life. Elphaba and OZ and the story of friendship between Elphaba and Glinda and the love triangle are all reasons why I fell in love with musicals in the first place. It is a very hard one to live up to. It has everything a musical could be existent of: spectacle, dance, comic moments, serious moments, positive and negative emotions in the score, and strong emotional connection. I want all of that in a musical as a matter. It just keeps on getting better and better

        Like

Leave a Reply

