“I Know That My Redeemer Lives!” | Easter 2017

Frohe Ostern, alles! Happy Easter!

Easter, while being one of my favorite holidays, is also one of the most hectic ones that I celebrate. In my dad’s family, it’s a tradition to wake up really, really early and go to one of the extended family member’s houses and eat breakfast all together (and believe me, that’s a lot of people!). After eating our breakfast (usually strawberry shortcake, cinnamon rolls, shoofly pie, and egg casserole), we head out to church. It was great, being able to sing the Hallelujah chorus from G.F. Händel’s “Messiah” with the choir today! After church, we all go home for a little and then, we run off to my uncle’s house for some more festivities! At the moment, I’m in the phase before we go to my uncle’s house so I decided to take this bit of time to write this post!

“For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: And though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God: Whom I shall see for myself, and mine eyes shall behold, and not another; though my reins be consumed within me” (Job 19:25-27).

Every year, on Easter, my family sings a hymn called “I Know That My Redeemer Lives” by Samuel Medley, which is based off of the verse written above. The hymn is the following:

1. I know that my Redeemer lives;

What comfort this sweet sentence gives!

He lives, He lives, who once was dead;

He lives, my ever-living Head.
2. He lives triumphant from the grave,

He lives eternally to save,

He lives all-glorious in the sky,

He lives exalted there on high.
3. He lives to bless me with His love,

He lives to plead for me above.

He lives my hungry soul to feed,

He lives to help in time of need.
4. He lives to grant me rich supply,

He lives to guide me with His eye,

He lives to comfort me when faint,

He lives to hear my soul’s complaint.
5. He lives to silence all my fears,

He lives to wipe away my tears

He lives to calm my troubled heart,

He lives all blessings to impart.
6. He lives, my kind, wise, heavenly Friend,

He lives and loves me to the end;

He lives, and while He lives, I’ll sing;

He lives, my Prophet, Priest, and King.
7. He lives and grants me daily breath;

He lives, and I shall conquer death:

He lives my mansion to prepare;

He lives to bring me safely there.


8. He lives, all glory to His name!

He lives, my Jesus, still the same.

Oh, the sweet joy this sentence gives,

“I know that my Redeemer lives!”

###

This hymn is one of my all-time favorites as we sing it every year and it’s one that never ceases to get me crying. The lyrics are so touching and reminds me of Christ’s work of redemption and how so much comfort should be found in the message of Easter and the resurrection of Christ. Every stanza has some sort of appliance to my life and it will forever be a favorite of mine.

###

What are your favorite Easter hymns/Bible verses?

I wish you all a very happy Easter! Tschüss!

4 thoughts on ““I Know That My Redeemer Lives!” | Easter 2017

Leave a Reply

