My Favorite Books??

Guten Morgen, leute! Ich hoffe das alles es gut! Hey, everyone! So, yesterday I did a “If You Liked This Musical, You Might Like This Book” post and I thought that I’d just do a post dedicated to some of my all-time favorite books on this list! I will warn y’all that there’s quite a mixed bunch here; there’s some classics, some YA fantasy, contemporary, historical fiction, etc.! Los geht’s!

1. THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GRAY by Oscar Wilde – This one’s a classic novel and it’s very likely my favorite book of all-time. Since seventh grade, I always have a copy of this book with me and it’s a book that I know I can always turn to for a great story. It’s the story of a man who, in his vanity, wished that his portrait would age instead of him. And he gets his wish. His portrait becomes more and more ugly, more and more old, and monstrous with every evil action he makes, reflecting his soul. Oscar Wilde’s writing is phenomenal in so many ways and I cannot recommend this book enough. Oh, and for all of my musical fans out there who’ve read this book, don’t you just think that it’d make a splendid musical?

2. FRIDAY’S CHILD by Georgette Heyer – If you like historical fiction, then I highly recommend this book to you! Friday’s Child got me hooked immediately and I cannot get this book out of my head! The characters are phenomenal and it’s just an overall fun read. Most of the books on my list today follow more serious subject matter but this one is very comical and lighthearted and fun!

3. LES MISÉRABLES by Victor Hugo – So, of course, I was going to mention this one. I will not say that this is, by any means, an easy book to get through. It’s not. Oh, it most certainly is not. However, it is a book that is well worth reading. I would recommend taking your time with this one and taking breaks at times as it can be very difficult and frustrating at times. But the characters and the storyline are phenomenal and I couldn’t recommend it more.

4. THE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael Ende – So, this one is amazing and it’s a really, really quick read. It’s a book that I’ve loved since childhood and one that even my friend who loathes reading read and quite enjoyed! The characters are fun and the story is amazing. Honestly, each time I read this book, it just seems to get better and better!

5. THE PILGRIM’S PROGRESS by John Bunyan – This book’s usual target audience is Christians but I truly think that anyone who has interest in spiritual journeys can really enjoy this one! My family likes to read this one a lot for our family devotions and it’s definitely a good read.

6. BURIAL RITES by Hannah Kent – This one’s a historical fiction book about Agnes Magnúsdóttir, the person to be sentenced to capital punishment in Iceland, being convicted of murder. However, evidence that Agnes was the one who committed the murder were relatively low and this book calls that into question. Once I started reading this book, I simply couldn’t put it down.

7. FAHRENHEIT 451 by Ray Bradbury – Ray Bradbury is a modern American classic author. While I’ll admit that I was hesitant to read Fahrenheit 451 for years, I was so glad that I ended up reading it. It deals with the stupidity of people as they turn to virtual reality and lose human connection and appreciation for literature and really, it’s a great book!

8. GODDESS OF YESTERDAY by Caroline Cooney – Okay, so if you liked Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan, I highly recommend this book. It doesn’t deal with demigods but rather deals with the story of Helen of Troy and the Trojan War. And well, if you like Greek Mythology, this one will be a great one for you to try!

9. THE LORD OF THE RINGS + THE HOBBIT by J.R.R. Tolkien – Many people will tell you that Tolkien over-writes and over-describes, but I think that the planning and thought that Tolkien put into the writing of these books is absolutely amazing. It’s definitely a must-read if you like fantasy! However, if you’re a Tolkien fan, you also should read The Children of Hurin by Tolkien. It’s probably my favorite Tolkien work.

10. LITTLE WOMEN by Louisa May Alcott – And I’ll be ending this list on a classic! Little Women was my first favorite classic and I do think that it was the first book that I truly shed tears whilst reading. It’s an absolutely amazing book and I highly recommend it!

###

I might have to do another one of these posts sometime as there are so many more favorite books that I want to talk about! What are some of your favorite books? What books should I read? Danke schön und tschüss!

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Books??

  1. I love the Lord of the Rings series. Les Misérables might have to be my favorite book and it can be an intimidating book. I don’t think I would have read this book if I didn’t already fall in love with the musical

    Like

      1. I keep on wanting to watch the Lord of the Rings movies, but keep on telling myself that they are way too long.

        My knowledge of Les Mis was beneficial to reading the book. I was able to understand the plot and characters without being super confused. I was able to mark up major characters and write in songs. Next time I read that book, will not attempt to finish it in one break

        Like

Leave a Reply

