Underrated / Overlooked Musical Theatre Songs?

Hallo, leute! So, yesterday, I was listening to A TALE OF TWO CITIES for the first time in a really long time and I really, really, for the first time, really listened to “Let Her Be a Child” and I rediscovered what a beautiful song it is! So, today, I thought that I’d talk about the songs from musical theatre that are so very beautiful but oftentimes get overlooked!

###

· “Let Her Be a Child” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – I absolutely adore this song and I can’t believe that I paid it very little attention before. It’s such an amazing song and man, it gets me tearing up… it’s so perfect. I love it. I really, really love it.

· “Bring Him Home” from LES MISÉRABLES – While I wouldn’t say that “Bring Him Home” is the most underrated song on this list, I think that it oftentimes gets overlooked by fans. It’s such a powerful, moving song, so I’ve always thought that that was a shame.

· “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA – I feel like “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again” doesn’t get nearly enough credit. It’s a very emotional song and really, to me, shows the peak of the emotional force of the musical. I think that mostly amongst fans of the musical it gets attention, but the world as a whole doesn’t recognize it.

· “Elisabeth, mach auf” [Elisabeth, Open Up] from ELISABETH – I am guilty of overlooking this song initially, but now, I can barely imagine not loving this song as much as I do now. I can’t even believe that I overlooked it in the first place! This one’s another emotional piece and really seems to be the climax of Act I.

· “Boote in der Nacht” [Ships in the Night] from ELISABETH – This song is one that I feel people don’t talk about nearly enough. It’s a really important song and I think that it really speaks to why Sisi was so unhappy in life and in her marriage. It’s also in this scene that I feel like it is easiest to connect to Franz Joseph, but maybe that’s just me.

· “No One Mourns the Wicked” from WICKED – For an opening song, I feel like “No One Mourns the Wicked” is shockingly overlooked. It’s the song that really lays the footwork for everything else that follows so I think that it’s greatly important. I also think that it’s one of the best songs from the musical!

· “Nie Gesehen” [Never Seen] from TANZ DER VAMPIRE – When I first joined the fandom for this musical, I was surprised that more people weren’t talking about what a great song “Nie Gesehen” is. It’s such a great song and I absolutely adore it!

· “Einladung zum Ball” from TANZ DER VAMPIRE – I’d say that the scene itself isn’t overlooked nearly as much as the song. The scene’s a pretty famous one. After all, it’s quite a beautiful scene and it’s only right that it gets its due recognition. But the song itself is oftentimes overlooked, I think! And to me, that’s kinda sad because this was the song that really got me into this musical!

· “A Change in Me” from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST – “A Change in Me” was the first song from the stage version of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST that I really took notice of when I first watched it. However, I must say that it’s pretty understandable why this song so often gets overlooked. After all, it’s not on the Broadway cast recording. Nonetheless, it’s a beautiful song!

· “I’m A Part of That” from THE LAST FIVE YEARS – In the midst of all of the many things going on in THE LAST FIVE YEARS, I feel like “I’m A Part of That” oftentimes gets lost. And that’s such a shame because it’s such an amazing song that really speaks to much of Cathy’s predicament.

· “So viele Fische ins Meer” [So Many Fish in the Sea] from SCHIKANEDER – When most people think of SCHIKANEDER, I think that the first song that probably comes to mind is “Träum Groß” [Dream Big]. And that’s completely understandable! It’s a great song! However, I think that this song definitely deserves more recognition!

· “Finale / I Can’t Recall [Reprise]” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – This finale definitely doesn’t get enough credit! It’s an absolutely amazing song and I definitely wish that more people recognized how beautiful it is!

###

And that’s it for me! I hope that you all have a really great weekend! What songs do you think are underrated and/or get overlooked? Vielen dank und tschüss!

13 thoughts on “Underrated / Overlooked Musical Theatre Songs?

      1. Last time I saw Wicked, I was with my school. Our seats were the very last three rows. So I was able to notice each time the dragon operated and breathed smoke so that was a wonderful sight to see. But during “Defying Gravity”, at one point the dragon’s claw blocked Elphaba when she was flying so good thing.

        The changes in “I’m Not That Girl” and “No Good Deed” this 4th time are not the only reasons why the vulnerable level increased. I was watching it with my school, which added so much more meaning to the musical since my school has changed me for the better. I think that affected “For Good” and the entire show itself

        Like

      2. Whats crazy is after each time I see Wicked, I always am thinking I don’t know how much more can be discovered through it. But each time, something new gets added to the pile

        Like

Leave a Reply

