Looking On The Bright Side of Things and Moving Past Disappontment

{My Photo}

Hallo, Leute!

It’s undeniable that sometimes things don’t go as planned. Sometimes we anticipate something going really well only for it to turn out really badly—or, at any rate, worse than expected. This is never an easy thing to deal with. It’s oftentimes met with some heavy pangs of disappointment and hurt.

Most of the times, though, things like this are out of our control and we really have to keep that in mind. And, as much as it is hard to believe in the moment, I do believe that everything does work out for the best. As a Christian, Romans 8:28 always reminds me of this: “All things work together for good to them that love God.”

Yesterday, I didn’t write a post because I was at a state-level competition that started at 9 o’clock in the morning and went until about 9 at night. I left in the morning with high hopes of doing well—in fact, I was really feeling that I might do extremely well. Unfortunately, though, that was not the case. I, in fact, did far worse than I thought that I would do. Far, far worse. At first, it was difficult for me to cope with. At first, it was hard for me to accept. It was hard, hoping for a better result and pouring in a whole day (and months of prep beforehand) into something that ended up coming… well… to nothing. I had been preparing for about six months before this state competition and I really did pour my all into it. I walked away from the competition, fighting off tears of disappointment. Not at the competition nor the outcome. But disappointment in myself.

However, I am glad to say that I was able to get over it fairly quickly. As of right now, I’m very content and happy with how things turned out (as much as I still do wish that I could have placed for nationals). On the drive home, I focused on the bright side of things. I focused on remembering that, for whatever reason, God knew it was best for me not to advance onto the national level. And, as much as that was initially hard to accept, I feel much, much better due to that. By the time I got home, I had come to terms with what happened and decided to make the best of things.

I suppose that what I’m trying to say is that I know that sometimes it can be really tough to accept defeat and/or disappointment in oneself. But in the end, it’s better to just let go of that disappointment and leave that in the past, moving forward, trying to be better.

Leave a Reply

