Musicals That Have Moved Me to Tears

Hallo, Leute! So, for today, I thought that I’d talk about the musicals that have strong emotional importance to me. These are the musicals that have the ability to move me to tears in some way, whether that be for joy or for sadness. I’m going to try and pick five and just talk about ‘em for a little while! Los geht’s!

*There will be spoilers in this post, so if you don’t want to be spoiled, proceed with caution!

ELISABETH

ELISABETH is leading this list off because it makes me cry for many different reasons: sadness, hopelessness, hopefulness, and empowerment. Sadness is found in those songs like “Rudolf, wo bist du / Totenklage” [Rudolf, Where Are You / Death Sentence] and “Boote in der Nacht” [Boats in the Night]. Hopelessness is found in songs like “Elisabeth, mach auf” [Elisabeth, Open Up] and “Rudolf wo bist du / Totenklage” [Rudolf, Where Are You / Death Sentence]. Hopefulness is found in “Elisabeth mach auf” [Elisabeth, Open Up], “Ich gehör nur mir” [I Belong to Me], “Schwarzer Prinz” [Dark Prince] and “Der Schleier fällt” [The Veil Descends]. Empowerment is found in “Ich gehör nur mir” [I Belong to Me] and the reprise of that song.

This musical has the ability to make me cry all throughout its story. It brings humanity and life to a historical figure who has been forgotten by many people. It’s a story about family, love, and life. It’s just an amazing musical that never ceases to move me.

LES MISÉRABLES

I do believe that my perception of emotions within musicals has changed because of LES MIZ. It’s shown me a different side to tragedy that I never even thought to look into. I’d always thought that tragedy was well… tragedy and that was that. LES MIZ showed me that that’s not always true. LES MIZ showed me that hope can live within tragedy.

The first time I watched LES MISÉRABLES, I was left kinda stumped. I didn’t know what I thought and I didn’t know if I liked it or not. However, the next time I watched LES MISÉRABLES, I realized how much I loved it and how truly special it is. It’s a musical that shows humanity at its best and its worst and I think that that is one of the reasons why it is so moving and so touching.

WICKED

I think that the emotional power of WICKED holds is found mostly in the friendship between Elphaba and Glinda as well as Elphie’s ambition. I remember the first time I listened to WICKED and I thought that it was a happy-go-lucky, happy musical with no sadness in it. But, as I’ve gotten older, while I do still consider it a happy musical, I do now see the sadness in it. The characters in WICKED are absolutely wonderful and I think that the character-oriented nature of WICKED really just adds to the emotional power of the musical.

SCHIKANEDER

With SCHIKANEDER, we find something that’s somewhat unique to me in my musical experience. SCHIKANEDER is a musical that moves me to tears because it just seems to understand me in a way. I listen to the music and it just seems to speak. I listen to the lyrics and I feel Emanuel’s ambitions flowing through the words and I see the similarities between us. I see how much he believed and fought for his dreams and it just inspires me so much that I can’t help but shed a few tears.

SCROOGE

Like with SCHIKANEDER, when I watch SCROOGE, I find myself crying not because I’m sad but because I’m overwhelmed by happiness and inspiration. Whenever I watch SCROOGE, I find myself so happy at the end when Scrooge is dancing through the streets with everyone else. I can’t help but burst out in tears at the end of “Thank You Very Much (Reprise)” when Scrooge says “Merry Christmas” a few times to everyone in London. It just makes me so happy!

###

So, that’s it for me! What musicals have moved you to tears? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

6 thoughts on “Musicals That Have Moved Me to Tears

  1. Everything you said about Les Mis is spot. When I first discovered tragedy, I thought tragedy was just sadness and that was that and was why I said no to the world and why I never wanted it in my life. The first round of Les Mis, felt the same way as in shocked, confused, and unsure if I liked and the second round, knew there was something special.

    Like

      1. Before Les Mis, I looked at emotions in a simpler way. Discovering heartbreak literally transformed the way I view emotions. I love feeling the negative emotions more than how I viewed it growing up. I understand tough emotions better in the musical world ever since Les Mis

        Like

Leave a Reply

