Why I Love Musical Theatre

Hallo, Leute! Hope you’re all doing well today! For today, I thought that I’d do a little post on why I love musicals!

###

I love musicals because of what they bring to the world of literature and art. I love musical theatre because it’s helped me to become a better storyteller, a better writer. Musical theatre has taught me so much about emotions, storytelling, and character development that I might never have picked up on otherwise.

Musicals have contributed greatly to my upbringing and how I see the world. It’s because of musicals like CINDERELLA and BEAUTY AND THE BEAST that the world always seems exciting and full of adventure, even if fairy godmothers don’t exist and neither do enchanted objects. Musicals like OLIVER!, STARLIGHT EXPRESS, and WICKED taught me from a young age that life’s not always easy and that, in fact, it’s often filled with a lot of adversity and hate.

Musicals like PHANTOM, PIPPIN, and SCHIKANEDER made me realize how beautiful theatre really is. The sets, the costumes, the overall elegance. The flamboyance of theatre is something that some people don’t like. I, on the other hand, absolutely adore it.

LES MISÉRABLES, ELISABETH, SCHIKANEDER, and JEKYLL & HYDE have showed me how life really is: full of struggle, but filled with light at the same time. You just need to know where to look for it. It was musicals like SCHIKANEDER that made me realize that ambition’s not a bad thing as long as you don’t let it get to your head too much. It was ELISABETH that made me realize that life’s hard and sometimes you feel like everything’s wrong in the world and that there’s just no point but that, in the end, there’s always something to fight for. LES MISÉRABLES and JEKYLL & HYDE have shown me that, in life, it’s not always as simple as “good people” and “bad people”. Life’s more complex than that.

It was A TALE OF TWO CITIES that really taught me what true love is. True love doesn’t make you be happy all of the time. True love isn’t about heroes and heroines. True love is being able to love someone more than you love yourself. It’s about putting their happiness before your own.

SCHIKANEDER, LES MIZ, and ELISABETH taught me that good people make bad decisions sometimes but that they can change for the better.

Musical theatre is many things to me, but most of all I think that musical theatre has taught me what life is. The good, the bad, the easy, the hard, the pain, the joy… it’s all there in musical theatre. And that’s why I love it so much. That’s why I love musicals after all of this time.

###

Why do you love musical theatre?

6 thoughts on “Why I Love Musical Theatre

  1. I love musicals for several reasons. I love how musicals tell a story through song, dance, and spectacle. I love how the emotions are told through the songs. Having emotions told through the songs make the emotions worth feeling. If you feel connected emotionally to the songs in a musical, you learn to love the emotions as well.

    There are five main emotions in my opinion, which are excitement, love, joy, sad, and heartbreak. Those five usually are in some of the best musicals ever. Those emotions are key to a complex plot and characters. There are so many reasons why I love musicals. The emotional connection to the material when it comes to song, dance, and spectacle is the core of musicals and all three are things that make musicals unique

    Like

      1. The songs are the biggest reason why I love musicals more than plays. I feel so bored watching plays and find it harder to connect to the character and the negative emotions feel tend to feel more boring.

        In the musical world, the songs allow you to emotionally connect to the material even easier. You can start to love both positive and negative emotions. The positive emotions naturally feel good and due to the negative emotions hurting, it needs some support to actually love feeling those emotions in the first place.

        The emotional connection is key to both the positive and negative emotions.

        Like

      2. The songs say so much about the characters. They are the ones where the emotions love to be expressed. The best scores tend to be a score that expresses both positive and negative emotions going on because it makes those plots more realistic.

        Like

  2. I love musicals because I find that through the music and lyrics they somehow find exactly the right way to say things and send a powerful message. Like in Come From Away there’s one line in the song Me and the Sky, which is “1986 the first female American captain in history” and that line just had the whole audience up on its feet in the middle of the song.

    I also find musicals incredibly entertaining and they’re usually such a good mix of a great story and so much talent and it makes me feel all the emotions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

