Thoughts on Live Broadcast TV Musicals

Hallo, Leute! So, for today, I’m talking about what I think about live TV broadcasted musicals which have become really popular over the last ten years. People’s opinion on these TV musicals vary from positive to negative and I thought that I’d just throw in my two cents!

I, personally, have only seen three live broadcast TV musicals and those were GREASE, HAIRSPRAY, and THE SOUND OF MUSIC. Personally, I enjoyed all of these and found them all entertaining. For GREASE and HAIRSPRAY, these TV broadcasts were my first exposure to the musicals and so, perhaps that is why I found them as enjoyable as I did.

When I think of the benefits of TV broadcasting over making a movie of a musical, the first thing that comes to mind is casting. Maybe this has only been the case with the three that I saw, but in each of those broadcasts, casting was much better than I usually see with movie musicals. It seems that, with TV musicals, people are more willing to cast Broadway people instead of big name stars and I really appreciate that.

Another thing that comes to mind is the live feel that these things have. With movies, lots and lots of editing go into them (including voice editing, etc.) and I just really like the feel of having the musical performed live on a set. With GREASE and HAIRSPRAY, they had live audiences which also added to that live atmosphere feel. I really do feel like having all of the elements of live theatre (except for the fact that you’re watching it from your living room) is much more enjoyable than watching a movie that’s been edited and cut numerous times.

I definitely would not consider myself to be an expert on live TV musicals—I’ve only seen three, after all!—but I do think that they are a really good idea that I am glad has been being used quite frequently especially in more recent years. I will say that one reason why I still do favor movie musicals is that not many musicals that I really like have been produced in this TV format. THE SOUND OF MUSIC is the only musical that I really adore that’s been produced for live TV broadcast so far and I’m looking forward to seeing what new ones will be produced!

Anyways, that’s it for me today! What do you think about live TV musicals? Which ones have you seen? Danke und tschüss!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Live Broadcast TV Musicals

    1. I didn’t plan to watch Grease or Hairspray but my mom put the on so I decided that I’d give them a chance. I hadn’t seen either of those musicals before so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect but I found them enjoyable!

      Like

Leave a Reply

