Beauty and the Beast Book (and Musical) Tag!

Guten Morgen, Leute! Since it’s Saturday, it’s time for a tag! For today, I thought that I’d do the Beauty and the Beast Book Tag. It was originally created by BooksandJams on YouTube! I will be doing this tag for books as well as musicals. So, los ghet’s!

1. Belle: She just wants more than this provincial life. Tell about a book (and musical) that takes you to another place.

In terms of books, I’m going to have to go with The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Those books really do just transport you to another world as it were and it’s amazing! From the space ships to the cities, there’s really nowhere that Marissa Meyer can’t make a person feel they’ve been transported to!

For musicals, though, I’m going to go with WICKED, I think. Everything about WICKED really just makes a person feel as if they’re in Oz and I think that’s an amazing feeling. However, I feel like THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA would be a good one for this question as well. The moment the overture starts up, you just feel completely immersed in the world of the Paris opera house!

2. Beast: He can be a bit scary, but inside he’s a softie. Choose a book (and musical) whose cover doesn’t match the story.

When it comes to books, I’m going to go with the covers of the books of The Borgia Chronicles by Kate Quinn. The covers for these books just don’t fit the story at all! The stories are pretty dark and twisted but the covers look like the cover of some sort of lighthearted historical romance. If the covers are making you feel uncertain about picking up The Borgia Chronicles, I implore you not to let that throw you off! The story really is very intriguing.

As for musicals, I’ve always thought that the posters for ELISABETH are kinda… off. I don’t know. I’ve yet to see a CD cover for an ELISABETH recording that I think really fits. However, like I said with The Borgia Chronicles, the cover really doesn’t do the story justice.

3. Maurice: Belle’s eccentric but lovable father. Choose a book (and musical) that is out of your comfort zone, but you ended up loving it.

So, I’m going to go with My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows, and Cynthia Hand. I’m usually not into such silly books but man, My Lady Jane completely blew me away and I ended up loving it!

And for musicals, I’m going to go with LES MISÉRABLES. At the time, I wasn’t too acquainted with the idea of tragic musicals but LES MIZ completely changed that for me. While I didn’t love LES MIZ immediately, it is now one of my favorite musicals of all time.  

4. Mrs. Potts: Nurturing and motherly character. Choose a character who takes care of others like a mother might.

Going to go with Basil from The Picture of Dorian Gray from Oscar Wilde. I feel like Basil’s always there to look out for his friends and that he really does act as a sort of parent to Dorian.

Then, I’m going to go with Elphie from WICKED. She looks after Nessa and after her friends and the animals as a mother might and I think that’s one of the best aspects of her character!

5. Chip: Adorable and makes us smile. Choose your favorite childhood book (and musical).  

Hmm… for this one, I’m going to go with The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. This was always my favorite book as a kid and man, it’s a lot of fun. I really need to reread it!

Since this is the Beauty and the Beast Book Tag, would it be weird if I picked BEAUTY AND THE BEAST as my favorite childhood musical? Maybe. But all the same, BEAUTY AND THE BEAST was one of the most prevalent musicals in my childhood. Another musical that could go here though, would be OLIVER!. Both of these musicals continue to be favorites of mine.

6. Gaston: Smarmy and arrogant. Choose a character who’s over the top with his (or her) arrogance.

I think that I’m going to go with Jace from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. When I think of arrogant characters, Jace is right at the top of that list, I think. Of course, for the most part, Jace is charmingly arrogant but he still is a little bit obnoxiously arrogant and full of himself sometimes. Oh, but as I’m tying this up, I’m also thinking of Anthony “Sherry” Verelst from Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer! Sherry is another example of a character who is arrogant but it does grow on you with time and it becomes almost endearing after a while.

Then, as for musical characters I’m going to go with Emanuel Schikaneder from SCHIKANEDER. Kinda like the two I mentioned from books, Emanuel remains a likeable guy although he can be arrogant.

7. Lumiere: Smooth-talking, swoon worthy cassanova. Choose a character with these characteristics.

Ooh… I’m going to have to go with Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. I mean, isn’t he the epitome of “smooth-talking and swoon worthy?” 

And as for musicals… I’m going to go with the princes from INTO THE WOODS. I’m not sure that they’re exactly “swoon worthy” but they definitely are smooth-talking!

###

And, that’s it for me! What would your answers to these questions be? Vielen Dank und tschüss! 

6 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Book (and Musical) Tag!

  1. Wicked has a special uniqueness of transporting you to OZ. Names of characters, kind of dance and spectacle, costumes, songs, set, just everything feels OZian

    My favorite childhood musical was Annie. That was before I was 12 before Wicked entered my life. I was less aware that a musical could have an emotional nature. I think I loved Annie and still do was because of Annie’s optimism.

    Les Mis might be a musical that is out of my comfort zone. Only was out because it goes out of my vision for musical even though it shares some things I do want. Tragedies were always out of my comfort zone so that was a reason why I was so surprised by Les Mis being tragic. I was already used to happy and comic musicals and never once knew

    Like

    1. Absolutely agree with everything you said about Wicked. Wicked does have that unique sense of otherworldliness to it and I think that that’s one of my favorite things about it!
      I remember Annie being one of the first musicals I was introduced to as a kid as well. I also really loved Annie’s optimism.
      With Les Miz, I kinda knew that I was in for a more serious story due to the title but I had no idea it was going to end so tragically. However, due to Les Miz and the understanding I now have of tragic endings and how they can also be hopeful as well, I am able to better appreciate other tragic stories.

      Like

      1. The reason why I didn’t know Les Misérables was going to be a serious story because I knew the title was Les Mis. But good thing I only knew it was Les Mis or else I wouldn’t have gone to the movie. It is odd watching a movie after Fantine’s death in such shock and confusion and having no clue if you liked it or not.

        In a lot of ways my second chance in a way was like the very first time. I could calm down and see so much more. I realized Les Mis had something special about it.

        I am still not a big fan of tragedies. But I can love some stories that are tragic. Les Mis is one of them because of its underlying spirituality and its brilliant songs, characters, and plot

        Like

      2. Definitely. Les Miz is very special in that way. Les Miz is a musical that truly has changed the way I view a lot of things. Its themes are very strong and make for a very good, touching, emotional story that is tragic yet still filled with hope, love, and spiritual peace as well.

        Like

      3. That tale of hope, love, compassion, forgiveness, sacrifice, humanity and redemption are very strong themes. It is the spirituality of the piece that I really emotionally connect to. I honestly do connect to the storylines as well and the songs, but its underlying spirituality is what keeps me going in the midst of tragedy

        Like

Leave a Reply

