THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN Non-Spoiler Movie Review!

Guten Morgen, Leute! So, for today, I thought that I’d bring you a little movie review! I guess that my history with this movie starts circa 2012 when my uncle introduced it to me and I immediately fell in love with it. I suppose that it’s the sort of movie that you either love or hate. And well, I loved it—it was exactly the sort of thing that I typically enjoy. I mean, what’s not to love about what is essentially a superhero movie except all of the characters are from classical literature? I suppose that by now you either know precisely which movie I’m talking about or are left wondering “Well, what is it?” Well, that would be THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN (sometimes referred to as LXG). The cast is the following:

· Sean Connery as Allan Quatermain (from H. Rider Haggard’s novel King Solomon’s Mines)

· Naseeruddin Shah as Captain Nemo (from Jules Verne’s novel Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea)

· Peta Wilson as Mina Harker (from Bram Stoker’s Dracula)

· Tony Curran as Rodney Skinner/The Invisible Man (from H.G. Wells’s The Invisible Man)

· Stuart Townsend as Dorian Gray (from Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray)

· Shane West as Tom Sawyer (from Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)

· Jason Flemyng as Dr. Henry Jekyll / Mr. Edward Hyde (from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde)

So, as you can see, we’ve got quite the cast of characters in this movie. In fact, some of my favorites appear in the movie such as Dorian Gray and Dr. Jekyll. I think that that was wherein the appeal originally was found when I first watched LXG. Before watching this movie, I would highly suggest having read at least one to two of the books from which some of these characters come as I think that that could definitely enhance a person’s experience with the movie. Watching this movie also got me interested in reading the other books which I hadn’t yet read at that point!

LXG is a movie adapted from a comic book series. I can’t say that I’ve ever read the comics—I haven’t—but I’ve heard that they’re quite good.

So, what’s LXG about? The best way I can think of to explain LXG is by saying this: LXG is very much like Marvel’s THE AVENGERS except it takes place somewhere around the Victorian era in England and stars classical literature characters. So if you like superhero-type movies and classics are your thing then I definitely think that you might enjoy LXG.

While THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN is not a completely perfect movie, in my opinion it gets pretty drop-dead close to being a flawless movie if you can put aside the fact that there are some plot holes. All-in-all, though, I really love this movie and I highly recommend it. It’s been one of my favorites for years now and everyone that I know who has watched it has liked it.

Have you ever watched THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN? If you have, what did you think of it? If not, do you think that it’ll be something you’re interested in?

Oh, and a bonus question: who’s your favorite classical literature character?

Vielen Dank und tschüss! 

4 thoughts on “THE LEAGUE OF EXTRAORDINARY GENTLEMEN Non-Spoiler Movie Review!

  1. Don’t know if I can think of my favorite classic literature character. I have read for fun and finished four classic novels and right now still in the middle of my fifth. In Oliver Twist, I am so in fond of Oliver. When I read Great Expectations, my favorite character was Pip. I loved both Don Quixote and Sancho Panza int he book, Don Quixote. In Tale of Two Cities, don’t remember who I loved. In Les Misérables, that is a toughie of favorite literary characters

    Like

    1. Oliver definitely is a great character! I definitely remember him being one of my favorite characters from the the book! With A Tale of Two Cities, I think that Sydney Carton would have to be my favorite because of the emotional journey his character goes on. Then, with Les Miz it definitely is a difficult pick for a favorite character but the first one that always comes to mind is Éponine!

      Like

      1. In Les Mis, Eponine defiantly is my favorite female character. But still hard to pick when it comes to the males. Of all Les Mis characters, I love Young Cosette, Fantine, Eponine, Jean Valjean, Enjolras, Gavroche, and all the students

        Like

      2. Yep, definitely! Les Miz is filled with so many great characters that I never tire of! But for male characters, I’d probably have to pick Enjolras if I could only pick one. Just because I have the most memories with his character and I feel like he’s made a big impact on my life

        Like

Leave a Reply

