Writer Rambles…

Guten Morgen, Leute! For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved writing. I think that I might’ve fallen in love with the idea of writing stories down on my first day of Kindergarten when I wrote a very short picture book on Dinosaurs and what I imagined their daily lives to have been like. Of course, it wasn’t an especially sophisticated piece, nor was it especially good (seriously, there are a lot of spelling errors!) but it was enough to set me down this path of writing almost all day, every day.

In middle school, due to the fact that I was taking advanced mathematics courses, I ended up taking a creative writing class in order to fill in the gap in my schedule. And while I had always found writing to be enjoyable and something that I was pretty good at, it was in this creative writing class in which I really, really fell in love with writing. In that class, I fell in love with the idea of short stories and that was pretty much all I wrote in those years of middle school. It was in that time that I realized that my dad was always there to back me up on my writing journey and, it was in that seventh grade year that my dad pretty much became the editor for my short stories and novels.

Unfortunately, after my seventh grade year of school, I did not get to take a creative writing class until sophomore year of high school. I was delighted to be taking the class again but I’d found my writing had completely changed in the years that had lapsed between seventh grade and tenth grade. I had somewhat lost my knack for short stories and, where I had been an underwriter, I had become an over-writer. While I had somewhat lost my knack for short stories and my passion for writing them, I found that taking that class somewhat restored that in me as we primarily were writing short stories in that class. However, when November rolled around that year, my teacher introduced me and my classmates to NaNoWriMo and, while we were not required to participate, it was an alternative for our end-of-semester portfolio and so I decided to take up the challenge. 50,000 words in a month seemed well… daunting to me when I originally signed up for the challenge but I had a few friends going into it with me and I felt that if we were going to do it together, I’d be a lot more comfortable with the whole thing. As it turned out, by the end of week two I had my 50,000 words and I finished that November having finished my novel at just over 100,000 words. It was in this year that I really realized that I can write novels and that I like doing it. I really do believe that that November was a life-changing month for me.

Since I’ve brought up the topic of NaNoWriMo, I suppose that I’ll talk a little about why I believe that NaNoWriMo is such a great idea and why I encourage people to try it at least once if they enjoy writing. For me, NaNoWriMo was essentially a dream come true. My mom was always telling me to spend less time on writing and focus more on subjects like math and science that I was not as fond of and habitually spent less time on. But NaNoWriMo gave me a sort of excuse to write excessively for a month. Of course, I still had to keep up with my studies for other classes but with NaNoWriMo there for me as a readily-available and 100% valid excuse to keep writing, my writing time increased a lot. But why do I encourage writers to give NaNoWriMo a chance? Well… first and foremost because it’s free and even if it doesn’t work out for you, no harm’s been done! Secondly because it can prompt you towards setting goals for yourself and really striving to reach them! And thirdly, because NaNoWriMo, for many people, shows them that they can write novels and longer pieces. That’s what NaNoWriMo did for me and it’s the primary reason why I love NaNoWriMo so much. NaNoWriMo showed me that I can write novels and that I really, really enjoy it. Of course, NaNoWriMo is not necessarily for everyone. Some people will really thrive off of the experience, and others will find it to be stressful and a waste of time. But I do highly recommend trying it at least once.

This post has largely been just me rambling about writing stuff that I’ve had on my mind but I think that I’d like to end this on how important it is in writing, to just not give up. Yeah, yeah, yeah… I know… it’s pretty typical, straightforward advice that every writer’s heard a million times but believe me, it’s good advice and it’s advice that never is outdated and that stands true for everyone. If you want to write, write! And don’t listen to those people who try to get you down—believe me, there will be people like that—but rather keep trudging on and writing! Most writers are pretty self-conscious about their writing and due to that, it can be easy to go months and months without writing, feeling that your writing is no good. But believe me: you have to keep writing. The only way to improve your writing is to write! And the only way to get writing done? Yes, that’s right: it’s to write. So don’t give up. Don’t give up on your dreams. Because, there really is always a way and you just have to keep working at it.

Anyways, that’s it for me today! Hopefully you found this helpful or interesting or well… something along those lines! But, before I end this post: what made you love writing? I hope that you all have a good weekend! Vielen Dank und tschüss!

6 thoughts on “Writer Rambles…

  1. I have always enjoyed writing I believe. I have been a storyteller in elementary school. Eventually dad was telling me to write these stories down eventually. I still have not even written a book or anything. I did write some books that were just for class. I have always enjoyed keeping journals when on vacations and stuff like that. But the worst kind of writing is papers for school because those drive me nuts especially if I am writing about something that I have no interest in.

    Like

    1. Absolutely! I’ve always loved writing and, while I don’t mind writing papers, I do prefer for it to be on something I care about. But as much as I generally like papers, I am always glad when I don’t have to write a paper after all. But writing stories is completely different and something I thoroughly enjoy!

      Like

      1. My Senior Exit paper was on volunteering as a matter of fact trying to explain why it should be requited to graduate. Last year when I took Sociological Theory, I had to wrote a 21 page paper applying a social theory to today so in a way coming up with our theory, so I wrote a paper about the struggle of being homeless and being an American at the same time.

        I feel like I really should start writing my stories down. But haven’t managed to sit down and just start writing them

        Like

      2. Yeah, that is one of the hardest parts of writing: actually getting the words down on paper. It took a while for me to actually start writing things down but ever since I’ve started doing that, I haven’t been able to stop!

        Like

      3. I absolutely agree with that. For a paper, I definitely think it’s best to run with an idea and not think about it too much. A little editing will probably be in order but I think that’s really great advice

        Like

Leave a Reply

