The Rapid Fire Book Tag!

Guten Morgen, Leute! For today, I’m doing the “Rapid Fire Book Tag” which was originally created by GirlReading on YouTube! The questions looked like a lot of fun and seemed to be something that I could do pretty easily so that’s what I’ll be doing for today! Los geht’s!

E-Book or Physical Book?

Physical books all the way! I mean, ebooks are nice but I forget about them all of the time and never really end up finishing them unless they’re books that I can read within a few hours or, at a maximum, a few days!

Paperback or Hardback?

Funnily enough, my mom and I were having a debate about this the other day. There are pros and cons to both, but personally, I’m a paperback person! They’re just so much easier to handle and hold (and they don’t hurt as much when I drop them on my face!)! I will say, though, that hardbacks are better for long-term and display and such so some of my books I will buy a hardback version of. Overall, though, paperback is cheaper and they’re just nicer to hold!

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

In-store. There’s something that I just love about browsing shelves and there’s just not that sort of magic online.

Trilogies or Series?
For me, it really depends on how long the series is. I tend not to read series that extend over six to seven books unless I’m really committed to the characters and their stories. So for this one, I’m going to go with trilogies. I feel like three books is a pretty good number of books for a story to span over.

Heroes or Villains?

Typically… heroes. I tend to like heroes more but the villains are oftentimes more intriguing and are the characters that I always find myself really contemplating. But I am more of a hero person.

A book you want everyone to read?

Yikes… this one’s pretty tough… but I think that I’ll go with either The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde or The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. Both are really good books and I feel like their books that pretty much anyone can enjoy!

Recommend an underrated book?

Pretty much anything by Georgette Heyer! For someone who practically created a genre, she gets so little recognition and it’s kinda depressing! But if I had to pick just one of her books, it probably would have to be either The Convenient Marriage or Friday’s Child.

The last book you finished?

The last book I finished would be Hamlet by William Shakespeare.

The Last Book You Bought?

The last time I bought books, I bought several so, I’ll just list the ones that I bought: Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski, Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson, Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn, and The Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen.

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

I actually don’t really use bookmarks… I just memorize the page I’m on or look it up on Goodreads as I frequently update over there when I’m reading. However, the weirdest thing that I’ve used as a bookmark might be a battery. It just happened to be the closest thing nearby when my mom called for me to do something and I didn’t have time to glance at the page I was on so… the battery just had to do!

Used Books: Yes or No?

Absolutely yes! I buy most of my books used. I don’t mind used books at all as long as they’re in good condition.

Top Three Favorite Genres?

Historical fiction, fantasy, and contemporary!

Borrow or Buy?

Buy! I hate the feeling of borrowing a book from the library, falling in love with it, and then having to return it.

Characters or Plot?

As a writer, this kinda disappoints me but… characters. I feel like if you have a bad plot but the characters are good enough, you’ve got a good chance of keeping your audience with you. For me, one of the leading reasons for me to DNF a book is if I really dislike the characters and, when I rate books, characters themselves can count for a whole star.

Long or Short Books?

I prefer books on the longer side of the spectrum. However, I shorter book every once in a while is always welcome!

Long or Short Chapters?

Funnily enough, I was just contemplating this yesterday. The other day I was reading Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (which I rather ended up disliking) and the chapters just seemed to be too long. Yesterday, I started reading Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski and the chapters just seemed too short! So I’m kinda in the middle for this one!

Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows, Fire By Night by Lyn Austen, and Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer.

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Books written by Georgette Heyer always manage to make me laugh. Another author that makes me laugh is Oscar Wilde. I distinctly remember crying after reading Burial Rites by Hannah Kent and I cried at the end of the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy by Michelle Zink.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Our world, but in a historical setting (and maybe with some fantastical elements)!

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Yes, but I can really only listen to contemporaries on audiobook. I don’t know what it is, but it is very, very easy for me to lose track of what’s going on in an audiobook if it’s fantasy or something that involves a lot of worldbuilding.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Unfortunately, I do. But I think that we’ve all done it every once in a while, right? It’s kinda just human nature. But I do think that the cover is there for a reason: it’s job is to lure you in so… I guess that that’s also kinda just the book cover doing its job!

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

I’m kinda neutral on this whole thing. A lot of people are really nitpicky when it comes to adaptations but I’m not really one of those people. However, I think that I prefer movies to TV adaptations.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

The example I always cite for this is The Wizard of Oz. I’ve always preferred the movie version of The Wizard of Oz to the book. Not even quite sure as to why.

Series or Standalone’s?

Series! Standalones are great and all, but I’m always left feeling like there should be more!

###

Okay, that’s it for me! What are some of your answers to these questions? Hope you all have a great weekend! Danke und tschüss! 

14 thoughts on “The Rapid Fire Book Tag!

  1. 1. Physical Book
    2. Paperbook-easier to handle
    5. Heroes are so much better than villains
    8. A Clearing in the Forest- took only three days to read
    9. Last book I bought was Nicholas Nickleby and will not read that until next summer
    12. Well top three genres might have to be well classics, fantasy, mystery
    13. I would rather buy books than borrow because there is something more rewarding to have a book of your own
    14. Characters or Plot-honestly depends on the book
    15. For me, well short books are easier during semesters and long books are better over breaks. Don’t which one I prefer
    16. I tend to prefer short chapters, but if a book is an easy read, it is easier to want to continue even when chapters are long
    20. Well, I prefer fiction over nonfiction-hard to explain why that is
    21. No on audiobooks because I would rather have the book in my hand to read than read electronically
    25. I don’t prefer series over stand alone or stand alone over series

    Like

    1. I agree with all of your answers! I haven’t read Nicholas Nickleby yet but it’s been on my reading list for a while now! It’s one of the classics that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while but never have actually picked up yet!

      Like

      1. I also bought Five Little Pigs by Agatha Christie the same day as Nicholas Nickleby. I am eventually hoping to get Hunchback of Notre Dame over Amazon to read over December

        Like

      2. It took some time until I decided that I wanted to read the book because I didn’t know if I wanted to read another book where some author would interrupt the plot with annoying boring and long history lessons

        Like

      3. sounds annoying. But when I read Les Misérables, I wasn’t fully bothered by fifty or so pages of reading about the bishop since I knew his importance to the storyline.

        Since I am not really familiar with Hunchback of Notre Dame, it will be more irritating to wait for the story to begin

        Like

      4. I think that, like with Les Miz, it took about 50 pages for Hunchback of Notre Dame to really gain momentum. I could be wrong though; it’s been a while since I read it! But if I’m remembering correctly, there weren’t nearly as much interruptions throughout the story.

        Like

Leave a Reply

