Spending Time With Family and Friends

Hallo, Leute! Wie geht’s? Hope you’re all having a good weekend! Today, after church we had a mother’s appreciation potluck and so, for the first time since Easter, I was able to spend a lot of time with friends and family. I talked a lot with my grandma about the state of the Seattle Mariners (unfortunately things aren’t looking so good), talked to my aunt and my cousin about college and the classes I’m taking in fall quarter, and discussed the book of Job (chapters 1-3) with my uncle and two of my cousins.

I suppose that one of the main reasons for my writing this post is that nowadays, people don’t often get to spend as much time with family and friends as perhaps people did 50 years ago. Maybe it’s just a cultural/lifestyle change that’s happened. For me, with school and such I don’t get to spend as much time with family as I did in the past and how studying often leads me to see less of my friends as well. While it is important to get work done for school, days like today remind me that it’s important to spend time with the people that you care about! And so, this summer, I’m hoping to spend more time with friends and family than I am generally accustomed to! It’s just going to be a sort of summer goal for me!

What sorts of things do you hope to get done this summer? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

3 thoughts on “Spending Time With Family and Friends

  1. During the school year, I consider my club my family and the entire campus my extended family in a way. I always miss my family back home, but when I am home, it can feel odd at times since I spend so much time away from them growing independently. But in Charlotte, I feel less like a college student and more like a child due to feeling less immature and in some ways treated like a child

    Like

    1. Definitely. That makes sense. Sometimes after being away from people for a while can make the whole situation feel a little odd when you come back together again. After so much time has lapsed, it’s understandable for things to feel a little out-of-place ot lopsided. That happens with me sometimes, especially when meeting up with friends I haven’t seen in a while. Maybe it’s because when I last saw them I was slightly different than I am now and so it feels a little bit off

      Like

Leave a Reply

