A TALE OF TWO CITIES | Musical Review

Hallo, Leute! One of my favorite books from classical literature is A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I love the characters, I love the story, I love the setting. I first listened to the CD recording of the musical a little over a year now and fell in love with all of the songs. Just recently however, I bought the concert DVD off of Amazon and watched it for the first time. So today, I thought that I’d bring you a little review!

The concert DVD has an amazing cast. Everyone in the cast has phenomenal singing voices and there is really no complaint to be had there. The acting is generally good and I found that the acting fit the characters and the theme of the story pretty well.

While it is a concert DVD, unlike the LES MIZ concert DVDs, there are no microphones to which the actors step up and sing. They’re on a stage and they sing, act, and go through all of the blocking. However, what does make it more of a concert is that the whole story isn’t played out. The scenes between songs aren’t really there but you get filled in on what’s going on through a narrator. At first this seems somewhat strange and a little off-putting even, but towards the end there’s something that happens that, in my opinion, makes it all worth it. (Since I’m trying to keep this spoiler-free, I’ll leave that to you to discover for yourselves!)

The songs in this musical are phenomenal. The first time I heard them, I was awestruck. Honestly. The songs are gorgeous and they portray emotion so very well. I hadn’t really thought that Sydney Carton’s emotions could be portrayed accurately but man, the musical nailed it. By the time the finale rolled around, everyone who was watching with me was crying. That’s how well the songs portray emotion.

While A TALE OF TWO CITIES can definitely be described as a tragedy, the way the finale works really does tie up the story nicely so that it’s not too depressing but rather satisfying for both the characters and the audience. While my whole family was crying by the end of it, I’d say that A TALE OF TWO CITIES is, above all else, a story about love and people’s capacity to love and change. 

All-in-all, I’d have to give this concert DVD a 5/5 stars and I highly recommend it!

7 thoughts on “A TALE OF TWO CITIES | Musical Review

    1. I think that with A Tale of Two Cities, it can be hard to pinpoint why a person might like the story. But I think that I liked it mostly because of Sydney Carton and his change throughout the story. I found his storyline really emotionally touching and I think that’s why I liked the story

      Like

      1. I was getting mixed up between when the story was in London or when it was in Paris. I honestly need to revisit the story again and read it again. I just need to know why I loved it and the same goes for Great Expectations

        Like

      2. I could distinguish between the two once the stomping of the Bastille happened. So if I read it again, it would be nice to distinguish between the two even sooner and hopefully pinpoint who is the main character because I honestly couldn’t figure it out thanks to the two city thing

        Like

      3. If I could figure out who the main character was when I first read the book, it would have been much easier to follow along. The easiest Dickens book I read has to be Oliver Twist with perhaps Tale of Two Cities being the hardest

        Like

Leave a Reply

