The Subjects Book (and Musical) Tag!

Guten Morgen, Leute! Happy weekend everyone! Since it’s Saturday, it’s time for another tag! For this week, I decided that I’d do the tag that has been called The Subjects Book Tag which was originally created by rachelreviewsall on YouTube! Because musical theatre is also a pretty big deal on my blog, I also, as always, will be answering the questions with musicals as well as books! Okay, los geht’s!

1. Maths – Crime Novel (and Musical) 

This is kinda tough because I don’t read many crime novels. But, the first book that comes to mind is Jackaby by William Ritter. I think that these books are just a lot of fun. I mean, what’s not to love about detectives searching out creatures like werewolves and dragons that are wreaking havoc on the city? The characters are a lot of fun too and I read these books each in one sitting. Seriously, these books are a lot of fun and overall pretty easy to read and get through!

I’m trying to think of a musical that has a strong crime theme but I’m finding that to be a pretty difficult task…. As much as a kot of musicals have crime themes, not many of them seem to be about crime. I know that Sondheim’s ASSASSINS could probably fit here but it doesn’t seem right to put it on my list as I’ve never watched nor listened to ASSASSINS. But I think that for this one, I’ll go with THE MYSTERY OF EDWIN DROOD. This musical was based off of Charles Dickens’s novel of the same name that never got completed. Due to the fact that Dickens never finished his novel, the mystery of Edwin Drood has never actually been solved and mant possible culprits and suspects exist. The musical uses this as a really strong unique point as they have the audience choose who the true murderer is and thus, the show has many possible endings!

2. Science – Science Fiction/ Fantasy Novel (and Musical)

Since I don’t read much science fiction, I think I’ll go with a fantasy pick for this one. And I’m going to go with The Children of Húrin by J.R.R. Tolkien. This book is my absolute favorite Tolkien work and could quite possibly be my favorite fantasy book that I’ve read up until this point.

And then, for musicals, I have to go with WICKED! It’s just an absolutely awesome musical and the costumes, sets–everything–definitely add to the whole fantasy atmosphere of the show!

3. English Lit – Classic Novel (and Musical)

Gonna go with The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde for this one! It’s probably my favorite classic and I just love it! 

For musicals, instead of putting down a favorite classical, golden age musical, I thought that I’d put LES MISÉRABLES as my answer for this question. It’s an absolutely amazing classical story that has been made into a musical. 

4. Art – Beautiful Cover

Hmmm… for this one, I think that I’m going to go with All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doer. I’ve always just really loved the color scheme used to create this cover and I think it has a really stunning cover!

As for musicals, I’m going to go with the CINDERELLA revival’s CD cover. I absolutely love the colors and I think that some of the artistic choices they made in the creation of it were really great!

5. Languages – Translated Novel

I’m going to pick The Neverending Story by Michael Ende! It was translated from German, its original title being Die unendliche Geschichte! This was one of my favorite books when I was a kid and remains a favorite of mine today! This book really introduced me to reading longer books and fantasy in general so it’s really special to me!

On the musical side of things, I’m going to go with SCHIKANEDER! It is a German language musical that premiered in Vienna last year and it’s about Emanuel Schikaneder, the guy who, most notably, wrote the libretto for Mozart’s opera, DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE, better known as THE MAGIC FLUTE. Last I heard, they were working on an English translation for a Broadway run and I’m super psyched!

6. History – Historical Fiction

Ooh… this is tough! Historical fiction is my favorite genre and so I’m struggling to pick just one! But I think that I’m going to use The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer! I’m going to be rereading this one in July and I’m super excited because it’s such a fun, cute story and I love it so much!

For musicals this is a pretty big no-brainer choice for me! I’m going with ELISABETH. This musical is an absolutely stunning musical about the life of Elisabeth (Sisi), empress of Austria. Its characters are impossible to forget, its songs are amazing, the costumes are gorgeous, and the story is touching and unforgettable.

7. Geography – Novel not set in UK/ USA

Definitely going to go with A Place of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel. This book is an awesome historical fiction book about the French Revolution and some of its most influencial leaders such as Georges Danton and Maximilien Robespierre. But my favorite thing about this book is that it also has Camille Desmoulins as an important character. Camille is one of my favorite historical figures and yet he gets next to no credit for his contributions to the revolution and ending the Reign of Terror. 

There are a lot of good musicals that I could use here but I think that I’m going to use THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA for this one! PHANTOM is an absolutely beautiful show and one that has been really crucial in my development as a musical fan!

###

And that’s it for me today! What are your answers for these questions? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

10 thoughts on “The Subjects Book (and Musical) Tag!

  1. For #2, I would have to agree with Wicked. It is the only fantasy musical I can think of. In terms of fantasy book, that is very hard to think of a book that I could pick between. However “A Clearing in the Forest” could work due to it being the most recent fantasy novel I have read.

    #3, classical story, honestly would have to go with Les Misérables with that one because it my favorite of all the classic novels I have read. For musical, since I already put Les Misérables down for book, I will pick a Golden Age musical. That would be “Sound of Music” because it is my favorite musical that belong in that time period of musicals

    Like

    1. Wicked is definitely one of the only fantasy musicals that I can think of. I hadn’t really realized that fantasy in musicals isn’t done all that often before thinking about that question!
      The Sound of Music is a really good pick! I highly considered putting it down for that question but decoded to go for Les Miz instead. The Sound of Music is definitely one of my favorite golden age musicals!

      Like

      1. I think Wicked was the perfect musical for my first musical on Broadway. It has everything that a musical could possibly have. The spectacle, the dance, the strong emotional connection, romance, positive and negative emotions found within the songs, etc. Just the right one for a girl who was 12 and who always loved fantasy.

        Sound of Music has always been such a special musical. I now love it more than ever because the emotional impact has strengthened due to what happened with Edelweiss and just being older. It still makes me feel like a kid again and I think that is quite important

        Like

      2. Both have defiantly played key role. Any musical I grew up with which goes all the way to Wicked, all formed a foundation of musicals. The meaningful musicals are the ones that seem to shape musicals the best

        Like

      3. I still look for the exact same things from those days. I still look for some comic aspect, a strong emotional connection, the score of both positive and negative emotions (those main emotions were excitement, love, joy, and sad), and dance and spectacle. That sounds very similar to the world of today.

        Like

      4. Oh and complexity and romance are two other things I look for. But I do take certain things into consideration when I see musicals. For instance, I do not mind if a show isn’t big on spectacle or dance even though those two are part of my vision

        Like

      5. Yeah. Prior to Les Miz, most of the musicals I watched had spectacle and dance at least to some extent but with Les Miz I began to realize that those two things just don’t always fit in with the story of certain musicals sometimes.

        Like

Leave a Reply

