The Preciousness of a Moment

Hallo, Leute!

“Some things are more precious because they don’t last long.” ― Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

As you all probably have figured out right now, I love Oscar Wilde and I love his novel The Picture of Dorian Gray. And a lot of that is attributed to how real and true-to-life so much of his writing is. The quote above is the perfect exhibition of that.

In life, I think that we’ve all had moments where we think “Man, that was over too soon… it didn’t last nearly long enough!” I know that I’ve had many of those moments myself. As a person who loves live theatre, I definitely find myself thinking that shows are over too soon. After my trip to New York last Spring, I remember wishing that the shows that I had seen had never ended or that I’d never had to come back from New York at all. I spent long nights just remembering the two days I spent in New York.

I’ve had many great experiences throughout the course of my life and I often look back on certain days of my life and thinking that I wish that those days could have lasted forever. And yet, I always find myself remembering that those moments are often so special because they lasted only for a little while and that, as Oscar Wilde pointed out, made them somehow more precious. After all, if those moments had went on forever and ever, I’d probably start to take them for granted. For example, with my trip to New York, I might not think of it as such a special time if it had been a month long trip.

As much as there are so many moments in life that I wish could have just gone on and lasted forever, I think that in the end I’m glad that they were so short and so special. And after all, there’s always time to make new memories and acquire new precious moments.

What’s one moment/day/event that you wish could have lasted forever? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

3 thoughts on “The Preciousness of a Moment

  1. Good question. This did happened during my trip to England. The main place we actually stayed in was in Bristol. But after leaving London for Bristol, I honestly wished I could of stayed for London longer than the four and a half days I was there, but at least I got to see a guard and got to see Les Mis: the two main things I wanted to get to do in London someday and yes I know seeing a guard might seem crazy, but it was what the child in me wanted to do in London

    Like

Leave a Reply

