Anika Köhler | Short Story

Guten Morgen, Leute! For today’s Short Story Thursday, I thought that I’d share with you all a piece that I wrote in September of 2016. It’s really, really short but hopefully you’ll find it interesting!

###

Anika Köhler

Anika Köhler sits in her room, contemplating all the things that might have been.

“What about goblins? What about fairies?” Anika wondered aloud to no one but herself. It’s lonely when you have nothing but empty walls that will hearken to your call.

In dreams, she dances among the fairies and speaks with the goblins. And then, when morning comes, she’s just plain Anika Köhler, sitting in her bedroom, talking to herself. Just little Anika Köhler who believes she can never amount to anything but soars in her dreams.

The moon smiles down on Anika each night and blows new hope into her sleeping heart. The moon sees much and can comfort some, but when little Anika Köhler is gone, the moon must simply smile and go on, wondering whatever on earth happened to that little Anika Köhler.

Perhaps she joined the fairies too soon.  

###

Hope that this was interesting for you all to read! What was your favorite childhood pastime and what was your favorite childhood fairytale? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

16 thoughts on “Anika Köhler | Short Story

    1. Fantasy was always a favorite during my childhood! My first chapter book was The Neverending Story and through that book I really learned to love fantasy! But I also really liked Hans Christian Anderson and Brothers Grimm fairytales!

      Like

      1. Cannot believe my love for Fantasy dates back in elementary school. I love the Chronicles of Narnia Series and the Harry Potter Series. In high school, I believe it was, I discovered the Sisters Grimm series and read the Avalon series as well

        Like

      2. Yep! I recently went out and bought a bunch of the book series that I loved as a kid and plan to read them this summer! Those are going to be the Percy Jackson books and the Harry Potter books! It’s been such a long time since I’ve read either series so it should be fun to revisit them!

        Like

      3. I loved Percy Jackson as well.

        Crazy story. When I first saw the 1st Harry Potter, I was too scared to watch it so I tied a blanket around my neck and super Meg ended up watching it instead of me. There are wonderful memories surrounding around those films since I grew up watching those movies

        Like

      4. Aww, that’s a cute story! I don’t really remember the movie versions of the Harry Potter books so I definitely need to rewatch those as well! I do remember being pretty scared watching some of those movies as a kid!

        Like

      5. Now that I think of it, I have some similarities with Hermoninie (still can’t seem to spell that name right). I am smart, determined, and love to learn. I am so glad they survived all of the books because things would feel off if that wasn’t the case. They are best friends and the books revolve around them it seems because every adventure Harry is in, Ron and Hermonie always seem to be a part of

        Like

      6. Yes, definitely! Oh my goodness, I’m so glad they all survived the series! Apparently J.K. Rowling thought about killing Ron off in one of the books but decided not to and I’m so glad that she didn’t kill him off!

        Like

      7. Hard to believe that she thought to kill of Ron. When an author decides that some character is going to die, I always wonder how do they decide who gets to die in the first place

        Like

      8. Yeah, definitely! That definitely crosses my mind sometimes. I especially find it interesting to think about how an auhor might decide if a character should or shouldn’t die, especially if it’s a character who is considered in the main cast of characters. However, when I wrote my own book, I found myself knowing which characters were going to die from the moment I started creating them. But I can only imagine that the process might be quite different when writing a series

        Like

      9. In a series, certain characters have to stay alive throughout the entire series. Harry Potter had to because it is his series after all and his stories wouldn’t have really unfolded if his best friends were not in the other books as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

