Writing My First Play?

Hallo, Leute! I write novels and short stories on a pretty regular basis–it’s what I’m used to!–but writing plays? That’s something I never even thought about doing before! However, this week, I did it! It’s super short–only 2 1/4 pages–but, for whatever reason, I feel pretty proud of myself! 

To be honest, the toughest part of writing the play was well… the formatting. It was something completely new to me and so I had to do a little bit of research on how to go about it! But, after awhile, I got the hang of it and it moved pretty smoothly.

Since my intention was for the play to be really, really short, I had a tough time coming up with an idea. I changed ideas so frequently that I began to wonder if what was meant to be a short and sweet project would wind up taking months to put together. In the end, though, I came up with a fun little idea.

I decided to call the play THE “MY DOG ATE MY HOMEWORK” CONSPIRACY. Maybe you can guess what it’s about from the title?? 

So, while writing my first play was definitely a difficult journey, I had a lot of fun with it! Is it my best work? I don’t think so. But it did test well with an audience this morning and I had a lot of fun with it! And I think that that’s what counts.

Tomorrow, I’m hoping to post my play tomorrow for Short Story Thursday! 

Have you ever written a play? Do you think that it would be something you’re interested in? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

4 thoughts on “Writing My First Play?

  1. I do not think I have written a play, but have written some fiction books for school before (one I think was in middle school and the others were in 1st and 2nd grade). I want to write books, but honestly do not know how to even get started

    Like

    1. Yeah, getting started is honestly the hardest part! For me, it took making a goal to write 50,000 words in a month and since then the writing of books kinda comes naturally! But definitely, the getting started is the tough part. For years I knew I wanted to write a book but didn’t really know if I could do it.

      Like

      1. Brainstorming is one of the most important parts though! One of my biggest problems is that I like to charge straight into an idea. I get and idea and then I run with it without much planning. So I think that the fact that you’ve got the planning going is a great thing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

