Sometimes It’s Better to Leave Well Enough Alone | LOVE NEVER DIES

Guten Morgen, Leute! Okay, get ready for this because this is going to be one massive rant about one of my least favorite things on the planet: LOVE NEVER DIES. Yeah. So… I guess it goes without saying that if you really love LND, you probably don’t want to read this post! You’ve been warned!

I don’t know what it is, but this week I can’t seem to stop thinking about all of the things about THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA that I hate. And at the very tippy-top of my list sits LOVE NEVER DIES. Yep. What is LND? Well… it’s the sequel to PHANTOM, but predominantly in my mind it’s the conglomeration of all of the things I hate about PHANTOM. Yeah. 

There was a time in which I liked LND. There was a time in which I thought that the Phantom was an interesting, swoon-worthy guy. That was all until I woke up one day and decided that I was completely wrong.

Now, if you like LND, that’s awesome! As far as I’m concerned, it’s a great thing that people like it. It’s just not for me. If you like the Phantom, that’s cool! I’m just stating my own opinions. And well, to be honest, I love hearing different opinions! My family says that that’s because I’m argumentative and that I like a good debate. I won’t say they’re wrong. So, if at any point you disagree, feel free to let me know!

Anyways…

So, yeah. LND makes me want to bash my head into a wall. In general, there’s just nothing good about it (in my opinion). Okay… well, maybe the costumes are pretty. Some of the songs, I like. Characters? Nope. Story? Nope.

Perhaps most notably, I feel nothing but apathy for the characters and their situations for most of the show. And, well, as the show progresses, I just feel anger welling up. And yet, I watch it. I torture myself and watch it. Why? Because I love to hate it (and my best friend loves it). My general apathetic attitude to the characters is pretty alarming, actually. Even if I hate a story or hate characters, I usually still will cry. And the thing is, I don’t hate these characters. Except I kinda do.

What?! I hate the characters?

Okay. Hate’s a really strong word. But man, I really, really dislike these characters a lot. They might as well not even be the characters they were in PHANTOM. Because they really aren’t. 

So what happened with LND? Well… the way I see it, well enough just couldn’t be left alone and a masterpiece was ruined.

Okay, that’s a tad harsh, sure. If you saw my post from yesterday, you know that PHANTOM ranks #10 (or lower) on my list of favorite musicals. Funny thing is, for a long time it was in the top 3. So how on earth did it fall so low?

I blame LND. I really do. Okay, and I blame myself. I blame myself for not being able to separate LND from PHANTOM. Because, due to LND, I will forever consider PHANTOM and LND to be connected. And that is forever dragging PHANTOM down further on my list. 

I’ve considered never watching PHANTOM again, never listening to it again, and never talking about it again but I can’t quite bring myself to do that. But why would I consider putting a PHANTOM-ban on myself? Because it seriously makes me angry. Because it stresses me out. Because even when I try to enjoy it, LND lurks over my enjoyment of PHANTOM.

But… it turns out that I love PHANTOM too much to let LND completely ruin PHANTOM for me. So… I hold onto every good thing about it that I can find and try not to let the LND mess ruin it for me.

Sometimes it’s better to leave well enough alone.

###

Okay, I’m done. Not going to rant anymore. Going to regulate my breathing and calm down. 

Anyways, guys! What’s your opinion on LND? Do you want to read more rant-style posts from me? Vielen Dank und tschüss!

5 thoughts on “Sometimes It’s Better to Leave Well Enough Alone | LOVE NEVER DIES

  1. I heard of this musical, but the Original is perfect just the way it is so why have a sequel. Phantom of the Opera used to be up there with Wicked and Les Mis so what made it slip down. Well new musicals entered and seeing Les Mis in London had an effect on that

    Like

    1. I really have no idea why anyone thought that a sequel was a good idea for Phantom. Sequels are great if they add to the story and characters well. This sequel really just diminishes the original and has made my love for the original decrease.

      Like

      1. Yep! I wouldn’t recommend the sequel at all. It’s pretty clear that its target audience is people who love the Phantom and Christine together. It pretty much just desecrates everything that I love so much about the original. I think that the fact that even people who hate Raoul in the original feel like the way Raoul was treated in the sequel was unfair is pretty telling of how sloppy and destructive this sequel was to Phantom.

        Like

      2. If the Original was so perfect, why ruin it with a sequel? I never have found a romantic connection between Christine and the Phantom. I only have found it between Raoul and Christine. Yes, my favorite song is “Music of the Night”, but I do really love the gorgeous “All I Ask of You” as well. The Original is so hauntingly beautiful and I love the nature of the love triangle

        Like

Leave a Reply

