Would Percy Weasley Have Been a Good Slytherin? | Harry Potter Theory

Guten Tag, Leute! While rereading The Chamber of Secrets, it came across my mind that Percy Weasley doesn’t really seem to fit the traditional Gryffindor description.

First and foremost, I guess that if the Sorting Hat put Percy in Gryffindor, there must have been a good reason. But that reason isn’t really shown. In fact, to me, Percy Weasley seems to be much more Slytherin-ish in so many ways. And, believe me, I mean that in the best way possible!

Why?

Well, Percy is described by Ron as being ambitious and, throughout the series, we see Percy exhibit his ambition and his pride when he achieves something. Both of these things are pretty typical of Slytherins. 

So… why Gryffindor? Why not Slytherin?

It’s tough to say. We know that siblings and relatives can be sorted into different houses (i.e. The Patil twins, Sirius Black, Albus Potter). So, while all of the Weasley children are sorted into Gryffindor, it wouldn’t have been impossible for one of them to be sorted into any of the other houses. However, one thing that the Sorting Hat says in the movie version of The Sorcerer’s Stone when Ron’s being sorted is somewhat… interesting. He says something along the lines of “Weasley! I know just what to do with you!” before sorting Ron into Gryffindor. Along with that, some students make comment on how they’d have thought that Padma and Parvati Patil would have been sorted into the same Houses. While it’s clear that blood relation doesn’t have everything to do with the sorting, I think that it does have some impact. After all, most families seem to, for the most part, conform to one house (i.e. The Malfoys, the Weasleys, the Potters, etc.).

We also know that the Sorting Hat does listen to the request of the person being sorted (or at least takes their opinion into account) as was the case with Harry. Perhaps, like with Harry, the Sorting Hat had to debate with itself when sorting Percy. It wouldn’t be entirely off if the Sorting Hat was having difficulties with choosing between Slytherin and Gryffindor. After all, they are actually fairly similar Houses if you think about it.

So why was Percy Weasley sorted into Gryffindor when Slytherin seems to be such a perfect fit? My guess is this:

The Sorting Hat probably had difficulty with deciding where to put Percy, unable to decide between putting him in Gryffindor or Slytherin. He probably could sense Percy’s strong ambition and his strong desire to want to make his family proud. On the other hand, though, Percy’s siblings, Bill and Charlie, as well as his parents had been sorted into Gryffindor and prospered there. Percy, however, believing that his parents would be disappointed if he was sorted into Slytherin, pleaded and begged to be put into Gryffindor instead. And so the Sorting Hat relented and put him in Gryffindor. 

We don’t really have all that much information on Percy Weasley’s sorting but I feel like this could be a very possible description. 

I rather like the idea of Percy being a Slytherin and I rather think that J.K. Rowling missed a great opportunity for an awesome Slytherin story here. Slytherin isn’t a House for “bad” people but rather is a House where the ambitious are welcome and I really think that Percy could have thrived as a Slytherin. While Slytherin isn’t a “bad” House, in the Harry Potter series (and I’m talking about the original series not the play or the Fantastic Beasts franchise) there aren’t really any Slytherin characters who are portrayed as being good people and I think that it would have been awesome to have a “good” Slytherin character in the form of Percy Weasley.

###

What do you guys think about this little theory? What Hogwarts House are you in? Danke und tschüss!

12 thoughts on “Would Percy Weasley Have Been a Good Slytherin? | Harry Potter Theory

  1. I have no idea what Hogwarts house I am. Percy is one of those characters that I don’t even know that well. Of the Weasleys, I love Ron the most mainly because I love the trio so much that I am always looking forward to what their next adventure is

    Like

      1. The same might me true for me. We see him grow the most it seems. We do see a lot of Fred and George as well. But everything that happens for sure is centered around the trio

        Like

      2. Yep, definitely! Fred and George were great characters too! Rereading’s kinda reminded me of the fact that they were pretty present in the books when I really had little to no recollection of them being so present!

        Like

      3. Fred and George are funny. Now I want to reread the book, but I feel like I need to finish some other books first: I just started reading the fifth book in the Land of Stories series, which is actually the seventh book I started reading this summer. The last of the series, that book is coming out this month. I have those other classics to read. Now, I feel I either might need a complete rewatching, which will be faster to get to, but now tempted for a reread, but that means asking my sister

        Like

      4. For me, this summer’s been pretty bad for reading. I haven’t really been able to find anything I really like. So I was glad to have a chance to reread the Harry Potter books because I felt like they’d get me out of my writing slump! I’m rewatching the movies as I reread and that’s been a lot of fun!

        Like

      5. So far, the books I have read have been “Oliver Twist”, “A Clearing in the Forest”, “One Hundred Story Home”, “Five Little Pigs” “Beyond the Kingdoms”, “Same Kind of Different as Me”: those are the finished ones and now started reading “An Author’s Odyssey”

        Like

      6. Those sound like some really great books! Most of the books I’ve read this summer have been good but I just haven’t enjoyed them all that much because I’ve kinda felt not-in-the-mood for a lot of the books I’ve read. After I finish rereading the Harry Potter books I’m hoping to reread the Percy Jackson books as well!

        Like

      7. “Five Little Pigs” was a mystery by Agatha Christie and the Detective was taking care of a mystery that occurred sixteen years after the murder and that seemed odd for a mystery.

        “Beyond the Kingdoms” and “Author’s Odyssey” are both from Land of Stories.

        The genres of these books belong to nonfiction, fantasy, mystery, and classic

        Like

      8. I think for me, a lot of my reading slump is attributed to the fact that I’ve been trying to read outside of my comfort zone because the minute I reverted back to genres that I know I love, I seemed to enjoy the books a lot more

        Like

      9. I have never read this many books in one summer. Then again, I choose an easy classic to read, well still challenging, but easier, not so long where I still would be reading the book now. Oliver Twist if it was much longer now, I either might still be reading it or just finished it last month

        Like

      10. The thing I love about Oliver Twist is that, while it is a good-sized classic, Dickens creates a relatively easy book to get through. I’ve always loved that Dickens’ stories are easy to read in comparison to other classics

        Like

Leave a Reply

