My (Top Ten) Favorite Musical Songs?

Hallo, Leute! Today, I’ve taken upon myself a fairly difficult task: narrowing down my favorite musical songs down to ten. First, I’d like to say that mostly, these are the songs that I just think about, sing, and/or just flat out love the most at the moment. This list is ever-changing and is really just what I have in mind right now. Alright! Los geht’s!

1. “Der Schleier fällt” from ELISABETH – This song is just magnificent all around. For me, it’s a perfect bittersweet finale and I just love it! The lyrics are absolutely beautiful. I’m constantly singing and humming this to myself.

Mark Seibert as der Tod (Death) and Annemieke Van Dam as Sisi performing “Der Schleier fällt”

2. “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” from LES MISÉRABLES – This song was one that I didn’t initially think much of but now love. The emotion carried in this song is absolutely phenomenal and I love everything about it. I believe that this is a song from LES MIZ that 100% deserves more credit.

3. “Träum groß” from SCHIKANEDER – I absolutely adore how lighthearted yet determined this song is. It was this song that got me rooting for Emanuel even though he is a very flawed person. 

Mark Seibert as Emanuel Schikaneder and Milica Jovanović as Eleonore Schikaneder

4. “I Can’t Recall” from A TALE OF TWO CITIES – This musical is loaded with beautiful songs but this one is (probably) my favorite. Sydney Carton’s emotions here are portrayed so well. Everything about it just… works.

5. “Too Much in Love To Care” from SUNSET BOULEVARD – It’s no secret that I love a good love story. This song from SUNSET BOULEVARD is easily my favorite love song from musical theatre!

6. “For Good” from WICKED – This song has always been one that’s close to my heart. It’s just such a beautiful song and makes me cry every time. 

WICKED poster with Willemijn Verkaik as Elphaba

7. “If I Can’t Love Her” + the reprise from BEAUTY AND THE BEAST – One thing that I’ve always loved about the stage show of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is this song. It’s such a powerful, wonderful song and I love it so much!

8. “Elisabeth, mach auf” from ELISABETH – This song is awesome because of how amazing the emotions are. So many characters are feeling so many things and I absolutely love it!

Annemieke Van Dam as Sisi performing “Elisabeth, mach auf”

9. “Corner of the Sky” from PIPPIN – This song is absolutely amazing. I just love it so much! Really, I do! It’s such a fun, beautiful song that really just introduces you to Pippin in the best possible way.

10. “I Love the Way” from SOMETHING ROTTEN! – This song just makes me grin ear-to-ear because it’s such an adorable love song. It’s just plain cute and I adore it for that! 

Nick Cariani as Nigel and Kate Reinders as Portia

###

So, that’s it for me! What are some of your all-time favorite songs from musicals? Danke schön und tschüss!

One thought on “My (Top Ten) Favorite Musical Songs?

  1. Boy, naming favorite musical songs can take a while and wouldn’t even be able to narrow down a top ten at all. My Wicked musical that automatically comes to mind is “For Good”, but “Popular” is my favorite song from the musical in a special way because it was my favorite song from the musical when I first saw the musical on Broadway so there is some truth in saying that and other favorites from Wicked are “Dancing through Life”, “What is this Feeling”, “I’m Not That Girl” “As Long as Your’e Mine” “One Short Day”, and “Defying Gravity”.

    As for Les Mis, boy there are so many favorites: “On My Own”, “I Dreamed a Dream”, “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables'” (yes I thinks it deserves and Marius as well), “Bring Hime Home”,”Do You Hear the People Sing” and so on and even the smaller not so well-known songs like “A Little Fall of Rain” and “Drink With Me” are favorites”

    In Annie, the song “Tomorrow” is the most meaningful and I also love (“NYC” and “Let’s Go to the Movies”), “Hard Knock Life” and “I Think I’m Gonna Like It Here”, “Your’e Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile”.

    As for Rent, my favorite song is “Seasons of Rent”, which taught me the preciousness of life. I also love songs like “I Should Tell You”, “Will I”, “Without You”, and “One Song Glory”.

    Then favorite songs in South Pacific belong to songs like “Some Enchanted Evening”, “Younger Than Springtime”, “I’m Gonna Wash That Man Right Outta My Hair”, and “There is Nothing Like a Dame”.

    Then in Newsies, favorite songs include “Seize the Day”, “Something to Believe In”, “The World Will Know”, and “Carrying the Banner”.

    In the musical, Sound of Music, some of my favorite songs are “Do Re Mi”, “My Favorite Things”, “Climb Every Mountain”, “Edelweiss” and “Sound of Music”.

    Found in Beauty and the Beast, favorite songs happen to come from “Something There”, “Belle”, “Gaston”, “Be Our Guest”, and “Beauty and the Beast”

    In the case of Pippin, favorite songs happen to be songs like “Corner of the Sky”, “No Time At All”, and “Magic to Do”.

    So all I am saying is that the list could go on and on

    Like

Leave a Reply

