IRL (In Real Life) Book (and Musical) Tag!

Hallo, Leute! Since I’m on my way back from my camping trip I don’t really have the time to think up an elaborate post so I figured I’d do the IRL Book Tag today because I’d seen it all over Booktube recently and it looked like fun. I also will be answering the questions with musical theatre characters as well! Los geht’s!

1. Most likely to stand up for the little guy?

For this one, I’m going to go with Marcus “Rule” Drelincourt from The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer! Marcus has a tendency of looking out for well… everyone. He helps Edward Heron out and helps Pelham grapple with his debts! So I definitely feel like he’d stand up for and help the little guy.

For a musical theatre character I’m going to say Elphaba from WICKED and Enjolras from LES MISÉRABLES! Both are very justice-oriented and have their missions to bring freedom to their respective worlds. For Elphaba, that’s freedom for the animals of Oz and for Enjolras it’s freedom for the people of France (especially the downtrodden).

2. Most romantically oblivious?

Hmm… this one’s kinda tough! But for books I’m going to go with Clary from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. Clary is pretty oblivious to other people’s feelings towards her (though she’s good at deciphering people’s feelings for other people) but I feel like that’s a pretty typical YA trope.

As for musicals… I guess that Enjolras would be a good choice but seeing as I’ve already used him, I’m going to go with Fiyero from WICKED. I feel like Fiyero is oblivious to his own romantic feelings for Elphaba for most of the musical!

3. Character I’d most likely run to for advice?

This is difficult because most characters from books arent people I’d necessarily trust to give me good advice. But if I have to choose, I’d go with Professor McGonagall from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling because she’s always seemed really wise!

For the musical half of this tag I’m going to go with Jean Valjean from LES MIZ. He’s the type of guy that you can totally count on to give you good advice.

4. Most likely to make YouTube videos?

I don’t know why but I can totally picture Dorian Gray from Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray having a YouTube channel. I just really can for some reason!

Then, from musicals I can picture Luchini from ELISABETH having a very ranty YouTube channel! 

5. Character I’d most likely hang out with?

Well… I definitely think that I’d be able to get along with Jane from My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows! I feel like we have a lot in common and that we’d get along really well!

From musical theatre, I can most picture myself hanging out with Eleonore Schikaneder from SCHIKANEDER. She really knows what she’s doing and I feel like we’d be able to get along! I also think that I could get along with Meg Giry from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA.

6. Most likely to apply for a reality show?

For this one, I’m definitely going to go with Hero and Anthony “Sherry” Verelst from Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer. I can’t picture them really applying for a reality show but I can totally picture them being in a reality show. Also, the Otis family from “The Canterville Ghost” by Oscar Wilde would definitely be a family I could picture having a reality show!

And well… I can picture Glinda from WICKED applying for a reality show. I really can.

7. Character you’d most likely find at a beach?

Probably Aelin from Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series. No real explanation needed, I think!

I’m going to go with Emanuel Schikaneder from SCHIKANEDER for the musical character pick. I just can picture him skipping out on working on his upcoming theatre production to spend some time at the beach.

8. Character I’d like to work for?

Going to have to say Justin Alastair from These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer just for comedic purposes! While he’s not known for being the nicest guy around, he definitely would be an interesting guy to work for!

As for musicals, I’m going to go ahead and say Madame Giry from THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA because she is very structured and knows what needs to be done.

9. Most likely to have a breakdown in public?

Definitely going to go with Jessamine Lovelace from The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare.

Then, I definitely feel like the Thenardiers from LES MIZ would totally have a breakdown in hopes that people would pity them.

10. HR’s worst nightmare?

Maybe Léonie from These Old Shades by Cassandra Clare. She’s a good girl but man, she can be tough to handle.

On the musical side of things, I’m going to go with Cornelius Hackl and Barnaby Tucker because well… y’know…!

###

What would your answers for this tag be? Danke und tschüss!

9 thoughts on “IRL (In Real Life) Book (and Musical) Tag!

  1. What an interesting post.
    1. Elphaba is a good one of that post. She does stand up for the animals.

    2. romantically oblivious. Fiyero: hmmm, the first hints of him maybe having a crush on Elphaba start in the lion cub scene and he does not seem to know he even loves her until “Thank Goodness”. That is the first time he knows he loves Elphaba to begin with, but doesn’t confess them to Elphaba until “As Long As Your’e Mine”.

    3. Character to run to for advice: no clue

    6. Glinda in a reality show sounds fun. More like act I Glinda. How she acts in Popular does sound reality show natured.

    Like

      1. So ture about “Popular”. “Popular” reminds me of my experience in New York because the one thing I do remember about seeing Wicked on Broadway was that “Popular” was my favorite song at the time. Boy, that is Glinda’s funniest scene in all of Wicked

        Like

      2. “Popular” is such a special scene because it is literally the scene that marks the beginning of Elphaba and Glinda’s friendship so there is meaning behind that scene

        Like

Leave a Reply

