WIP Tag | “Sixty Days Free” (Well… Kinda)

Guten Morgen, Leute! It’s been a little while since I’ve talked about my writing over here and well… it’s been kind of fitting seeing as I’ve not done much writing as of late either. But that’s all done now and I’m starting to rework something I started a little while ago. Hopefully it turns out alright! I love the WIP Tag because it just helps me figure some things out for mysslf as well! Los geht’s!

1. What is the working title of your book?

And thus the tough questions begin! Guys, I had a title for this manuscript but now that I’m rewriting it immensely, the old title doesn’t really work anymore! It was supposed to be called Sixty Days Free but seeing as that doesn’t really fit anymore, I’m going to need to think up something new!

2. Where did the idea for your book come from?

Well… I don’t really even remember anymore! I was sitting in my history class and the idea sort of just hit me, y’know?

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Originally it was meant to be a bit more of a fantasy story but I’m finding that the story seems less cheesy if I write it as a historical fiction/realistic historical fiction. 

4. Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

Ah, so many tough questions! My main character, Sebastian is a pretty tough guy to cast because he’s snarky, sarcastic, and comes off as kind of mean at times. But he’s not. And the actor would really have to nail that part on the head otherwise Sebastian would come off all wrong! I think that I could, perhaps, see someone like Laurie Davidson possibly pulling off Sebastian. 

As for my other main character, Serenity (Serie), I could see Ellen Page doing a good job with the role!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of the book?

Okie dokie… here it goes!

Sebastian loathes the world of show and façades that he lives in where having an opinion is considered the worst thing he can possibly do, and yet, for his family and his name, he must carry on, acting in the name of civility and duty–that is, until Serenity Vance, a little ballet dancer takes it upon herself to help him find his freedom and what it means to live.

6. Do you plan to self-publish or to have the book represented by an agency?

This is something I think about all of the time. I’m willing to self-publish and I think it’s a really lovely route to take but I definitely would like to see if I could get a publisher to pick it up!

7. How long did it take to write the first draft?

Approximately a month. This second draft/rewrite will probably take a lot longer though!

8. What other books would you compare yours to?

Something by Georgette Heyer, probably! I don’t know… the settings kinda seem a little similar! However, contrary to most Heyer heroes, Sebastian loathes his title so… it’s not a perfect comparison!

9. Who or what inspired you to write the book? 

So many things and people have inspired me! But most prominently in my mind is the song “Façade” from JEKYLL & HYDE. 

10. What else about your book might pique reader’s interests?

If you like romantic subplots/arcs, there’s definitely some of that in my manuscrip. Also, if you like snarky, sarcastic characters, you might find yourself liking it quite a bit!

###

Do you have any works in progress (doesn’t have to be writing related!)? Danke und tschüss!

One thought on “WIP Tag | “Sixty Days Free” (Well… Kinda)

  1. Hmmm……well, I do have a book series in mind that I want to write that I have been thinking of for a couple of years now. I have written down notes about the Fairy Frogs, which was inspired by a walk on a Charlotte Greenway. Off to the left on a broadwalk was cattails and they reminded me of a cattail forest, which inspired the Fairy Frogs and they live in The Cattail Forest

    Like

Leave a Reply

