Picking An Idea And Sticking With It?

Guten Tag, Leute! 

As a writer, I know that it can be really difficult to actually sit down and get your ideas down on paper. One of the biggest struggles for me is to see a project through to its end. Oftentimes, I’ll start up on a new manuscript, commit to it for a few days and then a new idea will pop up and I’ll end up abandoning the old idea. Due to this, I have many, many started, yet never finished manuscripts lying around on my flash drive. Of course, I intend to get these manuscripts finished… eventually. The tough thing is to choose which one I want to sit down and dedicate months of work to. Anf even tougher than that is actually doing it.

For me, goals have always been helpful when I’m really wanting to get something done. Goals give me something to work towards. Goals give me an end result that I keep in mind practically all of the time. The best part of making goals? That they can be literally anything you want them to be. They can be large, hefty goals, or smaller yet still equally important goals. The important thing is that you push yourself but keep the goal realistic. And to go at your own pace. 

NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo have alwys been lifesavers for me when it comes to making goals. The 50,000 word goal that NaNoWriMo provides every November always pushes me to make really good progress with my manuscript. Plus, during NaNoWriMo, there are tons of other writers out there facing the highs and lows of National Novel Writing Month and so many of them are willing to offer their support.

For me, NaNoWriMo is the perfect way to commit to an idea and get stuff done. Believe me, if I managed to get Clemency: This is No Nation of Gods written in a month, then you can do it too! NaNoWriMo isn’t something that everyone will want to do. But I do recommend trying it at least once!

Best of luck with your writing endeavors! Danke und tschüss!

7 thoughts on “Picking An Idea And Sticking With It?

  1. I have not gotten that far on writing anything when it comes to a book. I have this one incredible idea, “Fairy Frogs”, which I had for about four years and I have taken notes on this idea so I don’t forget. I have not figured out how do you tell each of the characters apart especially if there are going to be pictures in the series. I kind of sort of started writing. This is an idea that once I actually start, I don’t think I am planning to let it go, but hopefully stick with it

    Like

      1. I remember back in elementary school, I would tell stories to my parents so I always had a wild imagination. Constantly, I am being asked when are you going to write your stories down? I love my “Fairy Frogs” idea-the Fairy Frogs are artistic, compassionate, and clever while many toads are rather rude, non-compassionate, and uncaring. These frogs live in the Cattail Forest while the toads live under a highway.

        Sparkle, Aires, Misty, Darcy, Felipe, Celeste are frogs. Sarge, Marge and Norg are some of the toads. The names are based off of their personalities. The frogs their names are more enchanting and magical and pleasant while the toads have more unpleasant sounding names

        Like

  2. Books are so difficult for me. I spent a few months writing poetry, and I even tried writing short prose, but now I’m back at attempting to write a book. The process is slow and difficult. I never thought of making goals for my writing, which sounds silly, because goal-making is so simple and effective. Thank you for the post!

    Like

    1. I completely understand what you mean! Until about last year, I had a lot of trouble with writing books. I never seemed to be able to stick with one project and was kind of convinced that I wasn’t capable of writing a full-length novel. Participanting in NaNoWriMo last year, though, proved me wrong! Wishing you all the best with your writing journey!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are so many times where I want to give up, or where I feel like I’m not meant to be a writer. Then, with each completed sentence, I feel a small sense of accomplishment and joy. I hadn’t heard about NaNoWriMo until recently, and now it keeps coming up. I’ll have to check it out! Thank you – I wish you the best with your journey as well!

        Like

  3. Same, for me it’s really hard bringing all my ideas together in a cohesive way. A lot of themes that I like to work with dont exactly mesh, for instance, right now I’m working a story that incoorporates old books, the vlovbal warming environmental crisis, and some metaphysical elements like chakras and tarot. its hard for me to bring them together in a way that connects logically AND doesnt leave readers going “… uh, WHAT?” hahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

